HeinOnline LibGuides

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations (sometimes called administrative law) published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the federal government of the United States. HeinOnline’s coverage of the CFR is comprehensive, containing all volumes dating back to inception (1938).

HeinOnline’s Federal Register Library contains the Federal Register from inception (1936-present), the Code of Federal Regulations, the Official U.S. Bulletin, the Administrative Procedure Act, Code of Emergency Federal Regulations, the U.S. Government Manual, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (continued from 2009 as the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents).

HeinOnline’s version of the United States Code provides users with a single source for the entire archive along with current content.
Comprehensive coverage from inception
Browse by Title or Edition
Quickly find a document with the custom citation locator
Content is easy to both browse and search
Powerful search engine enables users to locate topic-specific content quickly and easily

HeinOnline’s U.S. Federal Legislative History Library contains more than 2,400 titles from a number of sources, including the Government Printing Office, Arnold and Porter, Covington and Burling, Kirkland and Ellis, and more. William S. Hein & Co., Inc. also has contracted with legal experts to compile and publish legislative histories on major public laws in-house.

These compilations are composed of the text of the final public law, House and Senate bill variations, Congressional hearings, House and Senate reports, and more. Research legislative intent behind major public laws and follow the progression of a bill from its introduction to its passage. Gain insight and clarification into ambiguous statutory language with this valuable type of resource.

All titles are indexed to the document level and are fully searchable. In addition to legislative history content, this database includes the database version of the award-winning Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories. Utilize this database to determine whether a legislative history has been compiled on a public law and also to locate related documents, such as books or scholarly articles. All material available in HeinOnline is linked and accessible from this database. From the database homepage, users can also browse a legislative reference checklist or access external resources on compiling federal legislative histories and other various legislative research guides.