UNT Dallas College of Law - Library Blog

Collection Spotlight: Black History Month 2024

In honor of Black History Month (celebrated in the United States during the month of February), today we will be discussing books about African-American legal issues, lawyers, nonfiction, and fictional literature. All the books listed below are available in the UNT Dallas College of Law print collection.

Quest for Justice by Darwin Payne; W. Marvin Dulaney (Introduction by)

Call Number: KF373.B355 P39 2009

ISBN: 9780870745522

Publication Date: 2009-05-28

Darwin Payne portrays the life of a prominent African American attorney in Dallas and his difficulties in establishing a practice in a white-dominated profession, and at the same time gives an intimate portrait of the legal and social obstacles confronting all African Americans throughout much of the twentieth century. Payne provides a behind-the-scenes examination of the civil rights movement in Texas, particularly in Dallas, since Bedford was a participant or close observer in the cause in this part of the country. Louis Bedford, who became the first African American judge in Dallas, knew and joined forces with many prominent Black attorneys such as Thurgood Marshall and W.J. Durham.

 

 

Black on Both Sides: A Racial History of Trans Identity by C. Riley Snorton

Call Number: HQ77.95.U6 S66 2017

ISBN: 9781517901738

Publication Date: 2017-12-05

C. Riley Snorton identifies multiple intersections between blackness and transness from the mid-nineteenth century to present-day anti-black and anti-trans legislation and violence. Drawing on a deep and varied archive of materials-early sexological texts, fugitive slave narratives, Afro-modernist literature, sensationalist journalism, Hollywood films-Snorton attends to how slavery and the production of racialized gender provided the foundations for an understanding of gender as mutable. In tracing the twinned genealogies of blackness and transness, Snorton follows multiple trajectories, from the medical experiments conducted on enslaved black women by J. Marion Sims, the father of American gynecology,to the negation of blackness that makes transnormativity possible. Revealing instances of personal sovereignty among blacks living in the antebellum North that were mapped in terms of cross dressing and canonical black literary works that express black mens access to the female within, he concludes with a reading of the fate of Phillip DeVine, who was murdered alongside Brandon Teena in 1993, a fact omitted from the film Boys Don't Cry out of narrative convenience.

 

 

You Don't Look Like a Lawyer: Black Women and Systemic Gendered Racism by Tsedale M. Melaku

Call Number: KF299.A35 M45 2019

ISBN: 9781538107928

Publication Date: 2019-04-18

You Don't Look Like a Lawyer: Black Women and Systemic Gendered Racism highlights how race and gender create barriers to recruitment, professional development, and advancement to partnership for black women in elite corporate law firms. Utilizing narratives of black female lawyers, this book offers a blend of accessible theory to benefit any reader willing to learn about the underlying challenges that lead to their high attrition rates. Drawing from narratives of black female lawyers, their experiences center around gendered racism and are embedded within institutional practices at the hands of predominantly white men. In particular, the book covers topics such as appearance, white narratives of affirmative action, differences and similarities with white women and black men, exclusion from social and professional networking opportunities and lack of mentors, sponsors and substantive training. This book highlights the often-hidden mechanisms elite law firms utilize to perpetuate and maintain a dominant white male system. Weaving the narratives with a critical race analysis and accessible writing, the reader is exposed to this exclusive elite environment, demonstrating the rawness and reality of black women’s experiences in white spaces.

 

 

Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison; Reynolds Price (Introduction by)

Call Number: PS3563.O8749 S6 1995

ISBN: 0679445048

Publication Date: 1995-11-14

The acclaimed Nobel Prize winner Toni Morrison transfigures the coming-of-age story with this brilliantly imagined novel. Milkman Dead was born shortly after a neighborhood eccentric hurled himself off a rooftop in a vain attempt at flight. For the rest of his life he, too, will be trying to fly. As Morrison follows Milkman from his rustbelt city to the place of his family’s origins, she introduces an entire cast of strivers and seeresses, liars and assassins, the inhabitants of a fully realized Black world.

 

 

 

- Sydney Cain, MS-LS Candidate 2025

In an era dominated by digital information, law libraries are not exempt from the transformative effects of the Internet and technology. These bastions of legal knowledge, once characterized by towering bookshelves and dusty tomes, are rapidly adapting to better serve today's tech-savvy lawyers and law students. Here's a glimpse at how law libraries are evolving in the digital age.

1. Transition to Digital Collections

Arguably, the most significant shift has been the migration from physical to digital collections. Many law libraries are reducing their print collections and subscribing to digital databases like Westlaw and LexisNexis. These platforms offer vast collections of case law, statutes, regulations, and legal periodicals at the fingertips of users, enabling quicker and more comprehensive research.

2. Introduction of Advanced Search Tools

The integration of artificial intelligence (AI) and advanced search algorithms has revolutionized the way legal research is conducted. These tools, often built into modern legal databases, allow users to rapidly sift through thousands of documents to find pertinent information. Predictive search, keyword highlighting, and citation linking simplify the research process, offering a seamless experience.

3. Collaborative Digital Workspaces

Modern law libraries are not just about individual research. Many have integrated collaborative digital workspaces, providing tools and platforms for lawyers and students to work together, share notes, and discuss case law or statutes in real-time.

4. Virtual Workshops and Training

In response to the technological surge, law libraries are hosting more virtual workshops and training sessions. These sessions guide users through the plethora of digital resources available, ensuring they can effectively utilize the tools at their disposal.

5. Accessibility and Outreach

Digitalization has expanded the boundaries of law libraries. Today, users can access a plethora of legal resources from the comfort of their homes or offices. Recognizing this, many law libraries are focusing on enhancing online accessibility, with user-friendly websites, online chat support, and mobile apps.

6. Preservation of Historical and Rare Materials

While digital tools are essential for modern research, there's an undeniable value in preserving historical and rare legal materials. Many law libraries are digitizing these unique resources, ensuring they remain available for future generations while also protecting them from physical degradation.

7. Flexible Physical Spaces

Even in the digital age, the physical space of a library matters. As the need for shelf space diminishes, many law libraries are repurposing these areas to create more collaborative, flexible, and tech-enabled environments. These redesigned spaces facilitate group work, video conferencing, and other modern legal activities.

Conclusion

The transition to the digital age presents both opportunities and challenges for law libraries. While the reliance on print materials may be waning, the essence of a law library – as a hub of knowledge and research – remains intact. By embracing technology and adapting to the changing needs of their users, law libraries are ensuring they remain relevant and vital in today's legal landscape.

The State Fair of Texas beckons families with a promise of unforgettable moments. Here's your comprehensive guide to ensure a day packed with fun and safety.

Wholesome Entertainment Awaits

1. Soap Bubble Circus at Oak Farms Theater: Marvel at the world of bubbles, from tightrope-walking snowmen to explosive volcanoes. It’s all happening daily at the Creative Arts building.
2. Fringe Stage Extravaganza: Between October 11 and 22, expect water balloon duels, feats of might, and spellbinding archery displays.
3. Tanna Banana's Melodies: A harmonious blend of children’s stories and songs awaits near the Band Shell.
4. ¡Fiestas de Marionetas!: Relive the puppetry magic at the McDonald’s Amphitheatre. Remember, the 11 a.m. show offers sign language interpretation.
5. Country Roundup Puppet Show: Let the puppets enchant you at the Dr Pepper Midway Stage, right at the heart of the Midway.
6. Dinosaurs at the Lagoon: Step back in time with lifelike dinosaurs, fascinating tales from Dr. Diggie-Bones, and numerous selfie moments.
7. Little Hands on the Farm: Let your kids experience the essence of farm life, from planting seeds to the thrill of driving mini tractors, all at the Fair Park Coliseum.

And as the day winds down, the Starlight Parade at 7:15 p.m. offers a magical blend of floats, music, and pyrotechnics.

Safety First

Safety remains a top priority. Secure your kids with Safe Kids wristbands, available at any information booth. These wristbands, coupled with the Safe Kids Corral in the Guest Relations Midway Complex, ensure that if you ever get separated, reunification is swift and hassle-free.

Satisfy Those Taste Buds for Free

Delight your palate without spending a dime! While you're welcome to bring your snacks (plastic utensils only, please), the Go Texan Pavilion in Nimitz Circle offers mouth-watering freebies daily. From Dr Pepper floats with Blue Bell ice cream to brownie sundaes, there's something for every palate.

Smart Savings on Fair Thrills

Make your fair adventure economical by visiting on Tuesdays for ride discounts or relishing culinary delights at reduced prices on Thursdays.

Pack your day with these activities, and the State Fair of Texas is sure to provide memories that last a lifetime. Safe travels and have fun!

Law libraries, like their counterparts, have changed dramatically over time. From the early collections of scrolls in ancient civilizations to today's vast digital archives, the progression is remarkable. Let's delve into the evolution of these libraries.

Ancient Times: Scrolls and Stone

In ancient Mesopotamia, Egypt and Greece, legal codes like Hammurabi's were inscribed on stones or written on papyrus scrolls. Institutions like the Library of Alexandria, while not solely focused on law, held some of the earliest legal records.

Middle Ages: Handwritten Records

As the ancient world declined, monastic libraries in Europe emerged. Monks handwrote legal documents, preserving both Roman law and the laws of early European kingdoms. These manuscripts, though produced slowly, showed dedication to keeping legal knowledge alive.

Printing Press Era: Widening Access

The 15th century marked a change with Johannes Gutenberg's invention: the printing press. Books, including legal ones, were now more accessible. Legal texts became standardized and more widespread. Libraries grew their collections and law-specific libraries started to appear.

Modern Times: Organization and Specialization

Come the 19th and 20th centuries, law libraries associated with universities or courts sprang up. The growth of legal materials led to the need for organized cataloging. The Library of Congress Classification, for example, played a key role in arranging legal content.

Digital Age: A New Frontier

The late 20th and early 21st centuries ushered in the digital era. Computers and the internet gave birth to databases like Westlaw and LexisNexis. Volumes of legal resources, from case laws to statutes, were now available online. The digital format also meant faster searches and updates.

What's Next: AI and Virtual Reality

With advances in artificial intelligence and virtual reality, the future for law libraries seems boundless. We could see AI platforms predicting legal results or virtual reality environments where law is studied in 3D.

In Summary

Law libraries have evolved from simple scrolls to intricate digital systems. As technology grows, so will the ways we study and understand the law.

Welcome to UNT Dallas College of Law: 5 Library-Related Study Tips for New Students

Congratulations and a warm welcome to all the new students joining the UNT Dallas College of Law family! As you embark on this exciting journey toward becoming legal professionals, we want to ensure that your academic experience is both enriching and successful. One key resource that will undoubtedly become your sanctuary of knowledge and learning is the college library. Here are five invaluable library-related study tips to help you navigate your academic pursuits:

1. Library Orientation: Make sure to attend your designated library orientation session on Thursday, August 17, 2023. We will be providing a full meal (breakfast for full-time day students and dinner for part-time evening students). Dean Edward Hart, Assistant Dean for Law Library and Professor of Practice, will introduce the library’s staff and familiarize you with the library's layout, resources, and services. 
2. Resources Mastery: Your legal research course will be taught by our library faculty: Dean Hart, Professor Caton, and Professor Eaton. All of whom have graduated from law school and have an additional graduate degree in Library Science. They are here to help and guide you through the wealth of information available, from books and journals to online databases. Our library offers a plethora of online databases that contain legal literature, case law, and scholarly articles. Your legal research professor will teach you how to effectively search and navigate these resources to save time and find the most relevant material for your research.
3. Effective Note-Taking: When studying in the library, develop effective note-taking habits. Jot down key points, concepts, and references. Create digital or physical notebooks to organize your thoughts, making it easier to revisit and review important information later.
4. Group Study Zones: Collaborative learning is a powerful tool. Our library provides group study zones where you can work with peers, engage in discussions, and collectively tackle challenging legal concepts. Remember, teaching others is often a great way to reinforce your understanding.
5. Time Management: The library can be a haven for productivity, but it's essential to manage your time wisely. Set clear goals for each study session, allocate time for research, reading, note-taking, and breaks. This balance will help you stay focused and avoid burnout.

Remember, the library is more than just a place to find books; it's a hub of knowledge and support tailored to your academic needs. Feel free to approach the librarians for assistance – they're here to guide you in your research endeavors and ensure your experience at UNT Dallas College of Law is both fulfilling and successful.

We're thrilled to have you as part of our community and can't wait to see the impact you'll make in the legal world. Best of luck in your studies, and may your time at UNT Dallas College of Law be filled with growth, discovery, and achievement!

Are you looking for something to take your mind off classes and final exams? Try reading a John Grisham legal thriller!

Grisham is an attorney himself and often consults experts on the topic he is writing about to improve accuracy. His legal thrillers will likely keep you on the edge of your seat, but they are also thought-provoking and address important issues in our legal system.

Here are two of my favorite John Grisham books:

A Time for Mercy

A Time for Mercy is about a small-town lawyer, Jake Brigance, who takes a criminal defense case for a sixteen-year-old boy, Drew Gamble, who shot and killed his mother’s abusive boyfriend. The book addresses the difficulties of charging and sentencing criminal defendants who are legally still children but on the brink of adulthood. The book also talks about capital punishment and its application to young people. But most importantly, the book highlights Jake Brigance’s efforts to show the judge and jury why Drew did what he did. Was Drew more akin to a murderer, or a protector? Please read the book and decide for yourself!

I hope you get to check out a John Grisham book soon. We have several here at the UNT Dallas College of Law Library! But be warned – these books are difficult to stop reading. 

Luke Skywalker is one of the most iconic characters in the Star Wars universe. His journey from humble farm boy to Jedi Knight and eventually legendary Jedi Master offers many lessons for law students, particularly when it comes to the art of oral arguments.

Here are some of the key lessons that law students can learn from Luke Skywalker:

Believe in Yourself

Luke Skywalker was initially hesitant to believe that he had the potential to become a Jedi. However, with the guidance of Obi-Wan Kenobi and his own determination, he eventually embraced his destiny and became one of the most powerful Jedi in the galaxy.

Law students must believe in themselves and their abilities. This is true particularly when it comes to oral arguments. It can be easy to become swallowed by self-doubt in the face of intimidating judges or difficult opponents, but having confidence in your arguments and abilities is key to success. It is crucial to emit confidence in every statement. Believe in all the work conducted before the oral argument and trust that your efforts will not let you down. Do or do not, there is no try.

Preparation is Key

Luke Skywalker underwent rigorous training with Jedi Master Yoda to hone his skills and prepare for his battles against the Empire. Skywalker spent so much time practicing with Yoda, that the clash against the Dark Lords was a mere byproduct of all the work he put in before. Similarly, law students must be prepared to put in the time and effort necessary to prepare for oral arguments.

This involves researching the relevant case law, anticipating potential objections or questions from the judge, and practicing their arguments on your own or with professors. The more prepared a student is, the more confident and effective they will be during oral arguments. Failing to prepare is preparing to fail.

Stay Focused

Luke Skywalker was able to remain focused and keep his cool during high-stakes battles against the Empire, even when faced with seemingly insurmountable odds. Law students must also remain focused and composed during oral arguments, particularly when faced with unexpected challenges or setbacks like tough questions from the judge.

Consider taking a deep breath before beginning, maintaining eye contact with the judge or audience, and staying calm and collected even in the face of difficult questions or objections. Remember, the judge is a human being too, just like you.

Use the Force

Luke Skywalker's mastery of the Force allowed him to achieve incredible feats, from deflecting blaster bolts to lifting X-Wing fighters out of swamps. While law students may not have access to the Force, they can still harness their own strengths and resources to achieve their goals.

A student who excels at storytelling may use vivid language and zealous imagery to capture the judge's attention and make a compelling case for their argument. Another student who is particularly skilled at research and analysis may rely on their ability to find obscure case law or make complex legal arguments. The point is that when it comes time for the oral argument, rely heavily (but not entirely) on your natural strengths, every law student has natural strengths that they can utilize to make a compelling argument.

Luke Skywalker offers many lessons for law students when it comes to oral arguments. By believing in yourself, preparing rigorously, staying focused, and harnessing strengths, law students can become effective advocates and succeed in their oral arguments and legal careers.

-Michael Alcala - Juris Doctorate Candidate, 2025

The library continues to be a resource for College of Law students even after graduation. As many 3Ls prepare to tackle the bar, it is helpful to consider what resources are available at the library for bar studying.

Supplements for the MPRE & MBE

While apart from the two-day bar exam, the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE) is a required exam to become fully licensed to practice. The library has supplements in the “professional responsibility” that cover Q&A, outlines, and examples & explanations.

Likewise, the library has supplements for the MBE in the “multistate” section of the supplements. There’s something for every type of learner including a supplement on strategies, different bar company resources, and informational guides.

The MPRE and MBE supplements are available to check out for up to 7 days. The supplements can be found in the supplements section of the book stacks.

Barbri Flashcards

Don’t have time to make your own flashcards - Did you know the library has flashcards you can check out? The library has study supplement flashcards for over 10 subjects. The Barbri Law Master study key flashcards are also available. All the flashcards are found behind the library desk and are 7-day checkouts.

Outlines

Are you a visual learner? Do you prefer studying from a consolidated one-sheet? The library has outlines per subject from JD Advising. The subjects include Criminal Law, Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Torts, Evidence, Property, and Contracts. The outlines are available to check out so you can study from the library or from the comfort of your home!

Study Rooms

Did you know the library is open during the summer? During the weeks leading up to the February and July bar exams, the library reserves specific study rooms for test takers. Is your favorite coffee shop too loud to study – come to the library! Need a guaranteed room – come to the library!

National Parks Week is a special time to celebrate the natural beauty of America's parks and the vital role they play in protecting our environment. Established in 1916 by the National Park Service Organic Act, the National Park Service oversees more than 400 national parks, monuments, and historic sites across the country, including Yellowstone, Yosemite, and the Grand Canyon. The Organic Act was signed into law by President Woodrow Wilson and is codified in Title 54 of the United States Code.

This year, National Parks Week is being celebrated from April 22nd through April 30th, and it is a great opportunity to visit your local park or plan a trip to one of the many national parks throughout the country. Whether you are a seasoned hiker or just looking for a peaceful summer vacation retreat in nature, there is something for everyone in our national parks.

In addition to their natural beauty, national parks are also home to a rich history and cultural heritage. Many parks have historical landmarks and exhibits that offer a glimpse into the country's past, including the Civil War battlefields, ancient cliff dwellings, and Native American ruins.

One of the unique features of our national parks is the vast array of wildlife that can be found there. From bears and wolves to elk and bison, visitors can witness these majestic creatures in their natural habitat. However, it is important to remember that these animals are wild and should be respected from a safe distance.

To help celebrate National Parks Week, many parks offer special events and activities for visitors. These can include guided hikes, ranger-led tours, and educational programs for children. Many parks also offer volunteer opportunities for those who want to give back and help preserve our natural treasures for future generations.

If you cannot make it to a national park during National Parks Week, do not worry. The parks are open year-round and offer a wide range of activities for visitors in every season. From skiing and snowshoeing in the winter to hiking and camping in the summer, there is always something to do in our national parks.

In conclusion, National Parks Week is a wonderful opportunity to celebrate our national parks and the natural beauty they provide. The nature and beauty of these parks are something that must be experienced at least once in a lifetime. So, pack a picnic, lace up your hiking boots, and get ready to experience the wonder of nature in our national parks.

-Javier Lopez, MS-LS Candidate 2023