Intellectual Property

Lexis has I/P materials subdivided into Copyright, Patents, and Trademarks (see links below).

List of Intellectual Property Texts & Treatises from Westlaw.

From Publisher: Multivolume set provides a comprehensive analysis of the law of unfair competition as it relates to trademarks (registrability and infringement), passing-off, trade secrets, misappropriations, price discrimination, predatory pricing, and monopolies. Coverage also includes suggestions for protection against unfair competition, and acquisition, transfer, and abandonment. Other topics include government and business competition, interference with a competitor’s contractual rights and bargaining possibilities, interference by trade boycott and marketing restrictions, unlawful exploitation of competitor’s effort, confusing similarity, patent misuse, and covenants not to compete.

From Publisher: Donald S. Chisum's 53-volume masterwork gives you authoritative analysis of all issues pertaining to patent law, including doctrines, rules and case law relating to patentability, validity and infringement. Whether you're applying for a patent, appealing a patent application denial or litigating patent infringement, Chisum on Patents puts authority on your side. Chisum on Patents is also the most cited treatise in patent law today - cited more than 800 times by the U.S. federal courts and twice as much as the nearest competitor since it was released in October 1978.

From Publisher:Gilson on Trademarks, the definitive trademark law treatise, features:
• Comprehensive and current treatment of trademark law in the United States, with clear explanations of basic principles and expert discussion of complex issues
• Detailed analysis of infringement, trade dress, right of publicity, false advertising, counterfeiting,dilution and trademark law remedies with extensive case citation

From Publisher: Horwitz on Patent Litigation discusses all stages of patent litigation; contains sample jury instructions; issues checklist and litigation forms. It also offers tactical strategies for infringement suits and provides convenient checklists of black letter law for many issues arising in litigation, including claim construction, infringement, validity, doctrine of equivalents and prosecution history estoppel. Also included are the complete local patent rules for all districts with rules, and a comparison of the district rules for strategic planning. This product stays current with developments resulting from the Leahy-Smith American Invents Act. In particular, the interplay of litigation and new post-grant proceedings is discussed from both the technical and tactical perspective.

From Publisher: Intellectual Property Litigation Guide: Patents and Trade Secrets covers procedural and evidentiary issues that arise in patent and trade secret disputes and litigation. The author provides an in-depth discussion and, when possible, includes the latest cases, statutes, and rules – information otherwise available only through extensive computer database searching. The text contains:
• Topical article digest lists and synopses of law review articles
• Comprehensive analysis of recent patent, trademark, and copyright law developments
• Sound criticism and projections for future directions
• An introductory survey that provides a context for topics covered

From Publisher: McCarthy on Trademarks and Unfair Competition provides the authoritative information and analysis needed to successfully represent clients in formulating, registering, licensing, protecting, and litigating trademarks and related rights.

From Publisher: Milgrim on Licensing is a comprehensive guide to licensing transactions in every substantive area of intellectual property. It provides practical advice and guidance on drafting individual clauses as well as complete agreements. It devotes one entire volume to sample forms. The strategy behind using particular language when drafting an agreement is discussed, and the discussion of individual clauses contains citations for many key points. It examines complex or hybrid licenses that cover more than one aspect of IP in the same license. It also examines the role of bankruptcy when licensing agreements are involved.

Milgrim on Trade Secrets is the most frequently cited treatise in trade secrets law. Written by two recognized experts with practical experience in all aspects of trade secrets protection and litigation, it is cited as "the authority" in over 200 trade secret cases, including 11 state and federal cases in the past two years alone.

From Publisher: Moy's Walker on Patents, 4th offers a comprehensive and analytical treatment of the history of patent law, the patent system's organization and process, patentability issues, and statutory law and caselaw on other patent law issues.

From Publisher: In-depth, comprehensive analysis of modern U.S. copyright law affecting printed works, plays and motion pictures, music, artistic property, software and digital content delivered over the Internet.

Trade Secrets Law is written to provide a comprehensive and up-to-date source for the dynamic and growing body of trade secret law. State and federal laws dealing with trade secrets and confidential information are identified, organized, reviewed, and analyzed in a manner that will aid the busy practitioner or court in addressing the legal issues that arise in this very active field.

Preface