UNT Dallas College of Law - Library Blog

Chatting with ChatGPT

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, or perhaps a law school casebook, you have undoubtedly heard of ChatGPT, an artificial intelligence chatbot developed by OpenAI that, in its own words, “uses deep learning techniques to generate human-like responses to text inputs in a conversational manner.” Merely by signing on to chat.openai.com and typing questions, you will receive uncannily (disturbingly?) conversational answers to a wide variety of queries. Intrigued by ChatGPT’s potential, and inspired by a looming blog deadline, I sat down  (i.e. sat before my computer screen) with CG to ask it some law-school related questions.

Why should someone go to law school?

CG: There are several reasons why someone might choose to go to law school, including:

• To practice law: A law degree is typically required to become a licensed attorney and practice law.
• To gain legal knowledge and skills: Law school provides an education in the legal system, legal reasoning, and critical thinking skills that can be useful in a variety of careers.
• To advance their career: A law degree can open up new career opportunities and provide a competitive advantage in fields such as business, government, and politics.
• To effect social change: Many law students go to law school with the goal of using their legal knowledge and skills to make a positive impact on society.
• To challenge themselves: Law school can be a challenging and rewarding experience, both intellectually and personally.

Ultimately, the decision to go to law school should be based on careful consideration of an individual's personal and professional goals, as well as their skills and interests.

Why should someone not go to law school?

CG: While law school can be a rewarding experience for some people and lead to a successful career in the legal field, it is not for everyone. Here are some reasons why someone may not want to go to law school:

• Cost: Law school can be expensive, and the cost of tuition, fees, books, and living expenses can be a significant financial burden for many students.
• Competition: The legal field is highly competitive, and law school can be a challenging and demanding experience, both academically and emotionally.
• Job prospects: The job market for lawyers has become increasingly competitive in recent years, and it can be difficult for new graduates to find employment, especially in certain areas of law.
• Lifestyle: The legal profession often involves long hours, tight deadlines, and high levels of stress. This can make it difficult to maintain a good work-life balance.
• Lack of interest: Not everyone is interested in the legal field or has a passion for the law. If you don't have a genuine interest in the subject matter or the legal profession, law school may not be the right choice for you.
• Alternative paths: There are many other paths that you can take to have a successful career, including business, politics, technology, or entrepreneurship.

These are just a few of the reasons why someone may not want to go to law school. It's important to consider your own goals, interests, and circumstances when deciding whether law school is the right choice for you.

What do you think of law students?

CG: As an  AI language model, I don't have personal opinions. But, I can tell you that law students are individuals pursuing a challenging and rewarding field of study. They work hard to gain a deep understanding of the law and how it impacts society, and they are committed to using their knowledge and skills to make a positive difference in the world. The study of law is diverse and can lead to a wide range of career paths, including practicing as a lawyer, working in the public sector, or pursuing a career in academia.

How can law students be successful in law school?

CG: Law students can be successful in law school by following these tips:

• Stay organized: Keep track of deadlines, assignments, and notes to stay on top of your coursework.
• Develop strong reading and analytical skills: Read case law and statutes critically and analyze legal arguments.
• Participate in class: Ask questions, engage in class discussions, and actively listen to your professors and classmates.
• Build relationships with classmates and professors: Collaborate on group projects and seek feedback on your work.
• Stay focused and avoid procrastination: Set aside dedicated time for studying and avoid distractions.
• Seek support when needed: Utilize resources such as tutors, office hours, and student organizations.
• Maintain a healthy work-life balance: Take breaks, prioritize self-care, and don't neglect your mental and physical health.

By following these tips, law students can develop the skills and habits needed to be successful in law school and beyond.

Would you be a good lawyer?

CG: As an AI language model, I have been trained on a large corpus of text and can generate text based on patterns I've learned from that data. However, being a good lawyer requires more than just knowledge of the law. It also requires interpersonal and communication skills, critical thinking and problem-solving abilities, and the ability to effectively advocate on behalf of clients. As an AI language model, I do not have personal emotions or experiences, so I wouldn't be able to provide the empathy, insight, and personal connection that is often important in the practice of law.

Law students read a lot of books. What books do you think law students should read?

CG: As a law student, you should read a variety of books to gain a broad understanding of the legal system, its history, and development, as well as various areas of law. Here are            some recommended books for law students:

• "The Federalist Papers" by Alexander Hamilton, James Madison, and John Jay: This is a collection of essays that provide insights into the formation and early interpretation of the U.S. Constitution.
• Blackstone's Commentaries on the Laws of England by Sir William Blackstone: This is a classic work that provides a comprehensive overview of the common law system and remains an important reference for students of legal history and English law.
• A Casebook on Contract Law edited by Ewan McKendrick: This is a comprehensive collection of cases and materials on contract law and is an essential resource for students studying this area of law.
• The Common Law by Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.: This book provides a comprehensive overview of the common law system and its evolution, as well as insights into the role of judges in shaping the law.
• The Legal Environment of Business: A Critical Thinking Approach by Nancy K. Kubasek, Bartley A. Brennan, and M. Neil Browne: This book provides an overview of the legal system and its impact on business, including discussions of contracts, torts, intellectual property, and corporate law.
• Legal Ethics: A Comprehensive Guide edited by James E. Moliterno: This book provides a comprehensive overview of legal ethics, including discussions of professional responsibility, client confidentiality, and conflicts of interest.
• A Civil Action by Jonathan Harr: This is a non-fiction book that provides a dramatic and detailed account of a complex environmental tort case, and provides insights into the workings of the legal system.

These are just a few of the many books that law students can read to gain a deeper understanding of the law and its various aspects. Of course, the specific books that you should read will depend on your particular area of interest and the courses you are taking.

Those books sound weighty. What are some good legal fiction books?

CG: Legal fiction is a popular genre that combines elements of law, crime, and suspense to create gripping stories. Here are some highly recommended legal fiction books:

• To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee: This classic novel set in the 1930s South explores themes of racial injustice, prejudice, and the role of lawyers in seeking justice.
• Presumed Innocent by Scott Turow: This novel follows the trial of a high-ranking lawyer who is accused of killing his colleague and mistress.
• The Pelican Brief by John Grisham: This novel follows a law student who uncovers a conspiracy involving the murder of two Supreme Court Justices and must race against time to prove her innocence.
• The Rainmaker by John Grisham: This novel follows a struggling young lawyer who takes on the case of a family seeking justice for the death of their son in a hospital due to medical malpractice.
• The Client by John Grisham: This novel follows a young boy who is caught between the legal system and a dangerous criminal and the lawyer who must protect him.
• The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly: This novel follows a criminal defense lawyer who operates out of the back of his Lincoln Town Car and takes on a high-profile case that will test his skills and integrity.
• The Reversal by Michael Connelly: This novel features a criminal defense lawyer and a former prosecutor teaming up to re-open a case that was closed as a murder-suicide and uncover the truth behind the deaths.

These are just a few of the many legal fiction books that are available, and they provide a great way to explore the legal system, the legal profession, and the human dramas that often play out in the courtroom.

Wow, we have most of those books at the UNT Dallas law library.

CG: That's great to hear! Having access to these books at the UNT Dallas law library provides you with an excellent opportunity to gain a deeper understanding of the legal system and the legal profession through the lens of fiction. By reading these books, you can gain insights into the workings of the court system, the legal profession, and the complex moral and ethical dilemmas that lawyers and judges face. This can be a valuable supplement to your formal legal education and help you develop a broader perspective on the law and its role in society.

Are you funny?

CG: As a language model, I can generate text that some people might find humorous, but humor is subjective and what one person finds funny, another person might not. I can try to generate a response that's intended to be funny, but it may not always be successful. Would you like me to try to generate a joke for you?

Can you tell me a lawyer joke?

CG: Here's a lawyer joke for you:

Why don't sharks attack lawyers?

Professional courtesy.

Ba-dum bump.

ChatGPT, folks. It’s here to stay. Soon to be joined by its Google competitor, BARD. Stay tuned for an equally captivating chat with BARD, coming soon to this blog.

- Mary Ritter, MS-LS Candidate 2022