Criminal Law

Westlaw's Criminal Law and Procedure page has cases, statutes and legislation, codes and regulations, and secondary sources and other materials.

Lexis Advance's Criminal Law and Procedure page has cases, statutes and legislation, codes and regulations, and secondary sources and other materials.

This wide-ranging treatise examines all the complex constitutional issues involved in criminal law. It provides substantive discussion, as well as procedural guidelines on tactics and strategy. The treatise analyzes all important Supreme Court, federal and state decisions interpreting Constitution provisions.

Procedures mandated by the constitution for police, the courts, the prosecution and the defense at each stage of the criminal process are thoroughly scrutinized, with discussions of:

• Prohibition of unreasonable searches and seizures, including "good faith" exceptions
• Protection against compulsive self-incrimination and compelled testimony
• Prohibition against excessive bail
• Obligations of due process and equal protection
• Right to counsel, right to a jury trial, and rights of appeal

Here is your one resource for complete coverage of criminal law, from pretrial to appeal. With 10 volumes of insight, guidance, and analysis, Criminal Defense Techniques contains all you need to effectively defend your client.
Comprehensive chapters on important areas of law. For those cases that require information unique to a special area of criminal law, you can refer to Criminal Defense Techniques for guidance on drafting the most effective strategy for your case. This valuable resource includes chapters specifically devoted to:

• Murder
• Drunk driving
• Obscenity
• Kidnapping
• Rape and other sex crimes
• Securities cases

Concise discussion of the basic principles of criminal procedure, substantive criminal law, and criminal trial strategy and tactics.
Logically organized according to the chronology of a criminal case
Thorough coverage of everything from arraignment and bail to sentencing
Numerous checklists provide a time-saving framework for analyzing all aspects of a case

Texas Criminal Lawyers' Handbook is the most comprehensive and respected criminal practice guide in Texas, providing everything you need to help you prepare for, and win, criminal trials. It covers more than 250 topics. The Handbook also gives you in-depth practice advice on constitutional rights, documentary evidence, scientific evidence, impeachment techniques, punishment, and more. Texas Criminal Lawyers' Handbook provides detailed and practice-oriented coverage of all aspects of a criminal case, from arrests to expunctions.

The smartly organized Texas Criminal Practice Guide is the reference attorneys turn to for analysis of criminal law in Texas. First published in 1979, the guide's six volumes are arranged by section to correspond with the progression of the Texas criminal justice system, making their detailed information easy to access, whether you're a new attorney or an experienced practitioner. Each volume contains a number of chapters divided into four parts:

Legal Background - procedural and substantive law treating the constitutional, statutory, and case law considerations in each area.
Practice Guide - checklists and procedural steps outlined in chronological order.
Forms - for applying the law and procedure.
Research Guide - to direct you toward other sources of useful information.

How-to guide for Texas practitioners concerning criminal practice and procedure. Answers questions that regularly confront attorneys practicing criminal law — from arrest through postconviction proceedings and appeal. Includes step-by-step analysis of criminal procedure, as well as easy to use forms, checklists, and practice tips. Contains citations to leading and most recent caselaw to give you the latest information available. Designed to include the most current forms and checklists you need to expertly handle this area of law. Includes extensive library cross-referencing to forms, digest topics, caselaw, codes, statutes, and other analytical products.

Criminal Law discusses virtually every substantive criminal issue in Texas in a detailed, analytical manner and practice-oriented writing style. It includes caselaw discussion and citation to authority, and comprehensive coverage of:

Burden of proof; Multiple prosecutions; Culpability; Parties' liability and corporate liability; Defenses; Justification excluding criminal responsibility; Punishment; Preparatory offenses; Homicide; False imprisonment and kidnapping; Sexual offenses; Assaultive offenses; Property offenses; Robbery; Burglary; Theft; Fraud offenses; Perjury and other falsification; Obstruction of governmental operations; Abuse of office; Offenses against public order; Offenses relating to prostitution; Offenses against public health and safety; Gambling; Organized crime; Driving while intoxicated; and Controlled substances.

Covers attempts by the Texas courts to apply federal constitutional case law developed by the U.S. Supreme Court. Authors examine developments in case law, such as State v. Studer (changing instruments), Batson v. Kentucky (jury selection and the constitutional limitations upon the use of preemptory challenges), plus the exclusionary remedy for improper law enforcement action and legislative developments expanding dispositional options.

Criminal Law discusses virtually every substantive criminal issue in Texas in a detailed, analytical manner and practice-oriented writing style. It includes caselaw discussion and citation to authority, and comprehensive coverage of:

The multivolume Wharton's Criminal Law examines and analyzes the phases of substantive criminal law in state and federal jurisdictions. This set includes:

• Specific definitions of dozens of existing and emerging types of crimes
• Discussion of the types of defenses
• Structural analysis of each basic principle of criminal law, including its roots, developments, and present status
• In-depth discussion of the American Law Institute's Model Penal Code

Instant access to primary and secondary sources relating to a case is provided.