Criminal Law

Law students often find criminal law to be one of the most interesting, but also one of the most difficult courses. Even the fundamental elements of criminal liability can be hard to learn and even harder to apply on exams. The study of criminal law demands that students juggle a mix of common law principles, modern judicial decisions, statutory text, the Model Penal Code, and philosophies of justice to address the enduring dilemmas that comprise criminal law.

In Criminal Law: Model Problems and Outstanding Answers, Kathryn Christopher and Russell Christopher deftly guide students in applying criminal law. Their interesting and accessible fact patterns explore important principles surrounding homicide and rape, attempt and conspiracy, accomplice liability and defenses, and devote special attention to difficult doctrines like impossible attempt and felony murder. This book includes clear introductions to the major topics in criminal law, provides hypotheticals that students can expect to see on exams, and offers model answers to those hypotheticals. It then gives students the opportunity to evaluate their own work with a comprehensive self-analysis section. This book prepares students by challenging them to use the law they learn in class while also explaining the best way to express sophisticated answers on their exams.

Model Problems and Outstanding Answers is an innovative new series by Oxford University Press. Featuring topical introductions and clear fact patterns, each book contains exercises designed to help students develop methods to craft organized, relevant, and thoughtful responses to exam-style questions. These exercises show the student how to think like a lawyer. By guiding students to the most appropriate ways to apply their knowledge to new facts, the series offers meaningful and significant preparation for law school exams and bar-exam essays.

Publisher's Description.

Emanuel CrunchTime provides a comprehensive topic breakdown and critical information review all in one tool. The application flow charts can be used all semester long, but the capsule summaries are ideal for exam preparation. Each title offers capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, multiple choice-questions with answers, short-answer practice questions with answers, and essay questions with model answers.

Emanuel CrunchTime Series Features:

Flow charts illustrate major concepts
Capsule summary of major topics and issues
Essay questions with model answers
Multiple-choice questions with answers
Short-answer practice questions with answers, per publisher's description.

The most trusted name in law school outlines, Emanuel® Law Outlines support your class preparation, provide reference for your outline creation, and supply a comprehensive breakdown of topic matter for your entire study process. Created by Steve Emanuel while a law student at Harvard, these course outlines have been carefully revised and updated by Steve for over 30 years and have been relied on by generations of law students. Each book includes both capsule and detailed outline-format explanations and discussions of the critical issues, key topics, and cases you must know to master the course. Also included are exam questions with model answers, an alphabetical list of cases, and a table correlating the Emanuel®Law Outline to the leading casebooks.

Criminal Law employs the unique, time-tested E&E pedagogy that combines text with comprehensive examples, explanations, and questions to test students’ comprehension while providing practice in applying the law to fact patterns. The questions (in which there are a variety of issues in one fact situation) are similar to those on a law school or bar examination.

Explanations include analysis of both prosecution and defense―valuable exam-writing help for students. Current, interesting, and accessible, the text often incorporates popular culture, humor, and well-known cases that have not made the appellate courts or even gone to litigation Graphs, charts and other visual aids clearly demonstrate legal standards and concepts.

Updated to reflect recent developments in the news and case law, the Sixth Edition reviews “stand your ground” statutes, with discussion of the Trayvon Martin case. New challenges to and limitations of the “heat of passion” defense are assessed as well as its possible replacement by “loss of control” statutes. Many new Examples and Explanations relate to current issues: the duty of a football coach to report sexual abuse of a minor; police officers knowingly putting suspects in danger of being killed; bullying by soldiers causing suicide of a unit member in Afghanistan; the assassination attempt on President Obama by a drive-by shooter at the White House; date rape prosecution involving a victim claiming to be “too drunk” to consent; statutory rape liability of young adolescents engaging in consensual sex; larceny and theft of services issue; cyberbullying and homicide; motor vehicle homicide as a strict liability offense; and parental “discipline” gone awry, causing injury or death.

Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions.

Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application.

The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here’s why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom:

Mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application.
Explains both correct and incorrect answers; you learn why a solution does or does not work.
Provides straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick. Amazon Description

The Illustrated Guide to Criminal Law is a complete law school course that puts the laughter in manslaughter. You start with the absolute basics (what is crime?) and are soon deep in complex concepts like conspiracy, self-defense, and yes, entrapment -- all concepts are explained with clarity, humor, and passion.

Emanuel® Law in a Flash Card Features:

• Only product of its kind
• Test your knowledge of black letter law
• Apply the law to hypothetical examples
• Use individually or in group sessions
• Use them anywhere, anytime
• Great for exam prep

Understand better what you're learning in Criminal Law class and prepare effectively for exams by applying concepts as you learn them. This study guide includes over 180 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester. Additionally, it contains a set of 18 short-answer questions comprising a comprehensive practice exam. For each multiple-choice question, attorney Levine and professor Marcus provide an answer that indicates which of the four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. For these questions, Professor Marcus and Attorney Levine offer a thoughtful, complete, yet brief, model answer. Amazon Description

A proven resource for high performance, the Siegel's series keeps you focused on the only thing that matters the exam. The Siegel s series relies on a powerful Q&A format, featuring multiple-choice questions at varying levels of difficulty, as well as essay questions to give you practice issue-spotting and analyzing the law. Answers to multiple-choice questions explain why one choice is correct as well as why the other choices are wrong, to ensure complete understanding. An entire chapter is devoted to teaching you how to prepare effectively for essay exams. The chapter provides instruction, advice, and exam-taking tips that help you make the most of your study time. A wonderful resource for practice in answering the types of questions your professor will ask on your exam, the Siegel s Series will prove valuable in the days or weeks leading up to your final.
Features:

Exposing you to the types of questions your professor will ask on the exam, Siegel s will prove valuable in the days or weeks leading up to your final.
A great number of questions at the appropriate level of difficulty 20 to 30 essay Q&As and 90 to 100 multiple-choice Q&As provide opportunity for you to practice spotting issues as you apply your knowledge of the law.
Essay questions give you solid practice writing concise essay answers, and the model answers allow you to check your work. An entire chapter is devoted to preparing for essay exams.
In checking your answers to multiple-choice questions, you can figure out where you may have erred: Answers explain why one choice is correct and the other choices are wrong.
To help you learn to make the most of your study time, the introductory chapter gives instruction, advice, and tips for preparing for and taking essay exams .
The table of contents helps you prepare for exams by clearly outlining the topics tested in each Essay question. In addition, you can locate questions covering topics you re having difficulty with by checking the index.
Revised by law school professors, the Siegel's Series is updated on a regular basis. Amazon description