Torts

Lexis+ links to treatises, guides, and jurisprudence on Torts Law.

List of Torts Texts & Treatises on Westlaw

This abridgement of the American Law Institute's Restatement of Torts (2nd and 3rd), which has been cited by the courts almost 80,000 times, is intended primarily for use in law school torts courses as collateral support for the main casebook. The central ingredient of this compilation, assembled and edited by Dan B. Dobbs Professor of Law Ellen Bublick of the University of Arizona, is the Restatement of Torts, 3d - Liability for Physical and Emotional Harm, completed in 2011. Strong content contribution comes also from Torts 3d Products Liability (1998) and from Torts 3d - Apportionment of Liability (2000).

Authoritative, comprehensive, up-to-date discussion and analysis of the legal principles and rules governing tort law. The authors address changes in tort law and offer thousands of citations to cases decided or writings. The text covers a range of current issues, such as:

• False imprisonment
• The standard care for children
• The standard of care for physician assistants and possible shifts in the medical standard of care
• Comparative fault
• Assumption of risk in sports
• Intentional interference with persons and property as civil rights torts
• Statutory compliance
• Statutes of limitations on childhood sexual abuse claims
• Prenatal and birth-related

This four-volume second edition provides encyclopedic reference on all aspects of tort law, regardless of topic. Authors' comments on problems in the administration of tort law give readers both pro and con arguments for effecting changes in the law.

This text offers comprehensive coverage of new interpretations, precedents, problems, and opportunities of tort litigation. More than just a discussion of traditional tort law concepts, this text explores the emerging areas within liability and litigation. An ideal starting point when the practicing attorney wants to determine if a cause of action exists; get quick, reliable answers to questions on tort law, the development of liability, and the techniques of litigation; and use proven trial techniques and defenses. Explains both traditional tort concepts—such as nuisance, master-servant relationships, and negligence—and current law, including medical malpractice, professional malpractice, and products liability.

Negotiating and Settling Tort Cases serves as a comprehensive guide to effective settlement techniques in the context of personal injury litigation. It helps you determine a settlement amount, choose the most appropriate form of settlement, and work with clients, mediators, and others to get the best settlement. It also helps attorneys maximize recoveries in personal injury cases with tips on how to address Medicare liens and set-asides, and other healthcare liens.

This work, widely relied upon and often cited by the courts, offers comprehensive and concise coverage of the law of torts, with scholarly and analytical discussion of particular rules. The appendices contain Reporter's Notes, citations to court decisions, as well as cross references to key numbers and ALR annotations.

Texas Personal Injury Handbook provides insurance professionals, legal assistants, attorneys, and others in the field of personal injury litigation, an accessible and authoritative ''one-stop'' handbook on personal injury cases. Case law, statutes, and policies concerning a variety of different subjects have been assembled into one source, focusing exclusively on Texas law.

The Handbook can be used in a number of different ways. Insurance professionals may use the Handbook in evaluating personal injury claims, and determining coverage. It also may be used as a portable basic reference book by attorneys and paralegals engaged in the prosecution or defense of personal injury actions.

Additionally, corporate counsel and others who may potentially be involved in evaluating personal injury claims of employees or third parties will also find the Texas Personal Injury Handbook to be an easy-to-use, compact reference.

This resource gives you Texas tort law and procedure, including practical advice from experts. It provides a quick, detailed reference to important points of law, practice tips, examples, checklists, and forms, which combine to provide practitioners with a foundation for success in their cases. An enhanced index with more depth of coverage allows you to more easily locate information fast.

West's Texas Practice Series is a set of volumes that provides comprehensive coverage of many areas of Texas law, and is written by a variety of different practitioners. While there is no single volume exclusively devoted to torts, the subject matter is touched upon in several volumes such as Medical Malpractice and Texas Elements of an Action.

First published in 1987, Texas Torts and Remedies has been cited more than 80 times in Texas courtrooms. Its complete and detailed treatment of the substantive Texas law of torts, as well as remedies for tortious injury, has made it an invaluable resource to both personal injury specialists and general practitioners who handle the occasional personal injury case. Updated twice a year, the set tracks recent developments in areas such as government liability, products liability, and workers' compensation.

Texas Torts and Remedies is a great resource to use as your starting point to research the elements of a particular tort. The first volume covers the basic principles and provides cross-references to other chapters that contain in-depth coverage. For an attorney searching for information on an unfamiliar tort, this is timesaving and invaluable. Cross-references and detailed information help you build your case, and the case law analysis provides valuable insight for both the plaintiff and defense attorney. Such thorough information from torts experts Jim Sales and J. Hadley Edgar makes Texas Torts and Remedies the "turn to" guide for personal injury practitioners in Texas.