Torts

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) hosts and facilitates the creation of CALI Lessons, a library of over 950 interactive legal tutorials written by law professors and geared towards law students. CALI is a 501(c)(3) non-profit consortium of law schools, law libraries and related organizations. Almost every United States law school is a member of CALI and they make up the bulk of our membership.

A survey of the law of torts. This course deals with liability for personal injuries and injuries to property. Considerable attention is paid to the law of negligence.

This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but none offers the systematic approach to problem solving found in this book combined with concise analytical summaries of the leading issues in law.

A concise and authoritative text on major areas of tort law typically included in Advanced Torts courses and casebooks. It includes defamation, invasion of privacy torts, malicious prosecution, wrongful death, actions for injuries to family relationships, and most of the numerous and increasingly important economic torts.

Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area.

This product is a study aid that helps law students prepare to take their torts exam. Students gain a more thorough understanding of torts and a better understanding of how to take exams by taking the sample objective exams and reviewing the corresponding answers and analysis.

These electronic flashcards present objective questions on legal topics covered in your law school courses. Helpful explanations accompany correct answers, providing a great way to test your knowledge in black letter law for class and exam preparation.

The perfect accompaniment to any torts casebook, this text covers all the major cases and issues in a standard torts course. The text addresses cases and analyzes their implications, presenting the law of torts within a curricular context and covering the materials that law students are likely to encounter in a variety of courses. This straightforward, readable text addresses both rules and policy, and presents topics in a way that helps students effectively grapple with issues. Since each chapter stands on its own, the book is ideal as a classroom text, as well as for self-directed reading by students.

The subjects discussed in this outline are intentional torts, negligence, strict liability, products liability, nuisance, survival of tort actions, wrongful death, and immunity. Also included are release and contribution, indemnity, workers' compensation, no-fault auto insurance, defamation, invasion of privacy, misrepresentation, injurious falsehood, interference with economic relations, and unjustifiable litigation. This edition has been updated with the latest provisions of the ongoing Restatement Third of Torts.

This title covers several facets of tort law from a global perspective, including the tort law of other countries, as compared to U.S. law; U.S. statutes with an international tort law aspect (such as the Alien Tort Statute, the Anti-Terrorism Act, and the Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act); and international tort treaties, such as the Warsaw Convention. The materials will add depth to your students’ views of the U.S. tort system and the larger legal world. While intended as a supplement in torts courses, the book is also suitable for a stand-alone course.

This single-volume hornbook provides a comprehensive overview of tort and injury law. The book covers all of the major topics in tort law. Topics include liability for physical injuries, as well as emotional, dignitary, and economic harms. This newly-updated edition includes citations to hundreds of cases and statutes decided over the last decade, as well as references to the Restatement (Third) of Torts.

This audio lecture includes information on intentional torts, defenses to intentional torts, plaintiff’s dignitary interests, negligence, defenses to negligence, strict liability, products liability, and vicarious liability.

Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.

Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.

This edition provides a wealth of new material drawn from summaries of and quotations from scholarly books and articles and case law. The subjects of this new material are rich in their range of topics. They include:•The “precautionary principle”•Summaries on tort rationales that range from references to Kantian philosophy and a riff on Harry Potter•The relation of tort law to public law•Varied materials on consent•The duty question, including a summary of a recent Supreme Court case and scholarship in the area•Material on privacy ranging from Prosser’s classification system to LGBT plaintiffs•The roles of race and gender in calculations of damages•A criticism of “tort reform” efforts•Case law on the “baseball rule” with respect to spectator injuries.•Matters of topical ‘headline” interest include smartphones as distractions and certain aspects of publication of photos on the Internet.•Celebrities mentioned in items under different categories are Joan Rivers, Jesse Ventura, and Jim Boeheim.

This book contains a complete analysis of the law of torts for law students, in an accessible format for quick study and review. It is designed for use in class and when preparing for exams.

In this updated and refreshed version of his concise book Professor Schechter, an award-winning teacher and prominent national bar lecturer, has balanced brevity and humor with a clear, crisp, and accessible review of basic Torts doctrine. His comprehensive survey includes not only thorough coverage of core topics such as negligence and strict products liability, but an overview of economic and dignitary torts, damages issues, and vicarious liability as well. This best-selling, highly rated Torts book has proven hugely popular with students. As the series title promises, the author has kept it short, and the book will make students happy.

The Step-by-Step Guide to Torts is an interactive workbook designed to effectively prepare students to pass exams. The most heavily tested legal rules are presented in a format that mirrors the way they arise as issues in typical testing fact patterns. Rule statements are set out in easy-to-memorize statements, with a breakdown of the element components and logical steps to take to apply new facts to each legal element.

While commuting or exercising learn about battery; assault; false imprisonment; intentional infliction of emotional distress; defense of self, others, property; recapture of chattel, trespass to land, trespass to chattel, conversion, public/private necessity, consent; negligence: duty, breach, proximate cause, joint tortfeasers; damages: nominal, punitive, and compensatory; surviving personal injury actions; wrongful death, wrongful birth/life, strict liability, affirmative defense to negligence with economic advantage, nuisance, misuse of judicial process, products liability, defamation and related torts, invasions of privacy. Information useful to preparing and pressing your case.

While commuting or exercising, learn about battery; assault; false imprisonment; intentional infliction of emotional distress; defense of self, others, and property; recapture of chattel, trespass to land, trespass to chattel, conversion, public/private necessity, and consent; negligence: duty, breach, proximate cause, and joint tortfeasers; damages: nominal, punitive, and compensatory; surviving personal injury actions; wrongful death and wrongful birth/life; strict liability; affirmative defense to negligence with economic advantage; nuisance; misuse of judicial process; products liability; defamation and related torts; and invasions of privacy. This information is useful to preparing and pressing your case.

The day has arrived and your name rings out in class. This is it. The cold call. What might your professor ask? Did you understand the case? Did you miss anything important? Are you prepared?

BARBRI & West Academic’s Cold Call Companion provides you with resources to critically analyze and brief a case, distill the main points of law, prepare for the kinds of questions professors may ask in class, and so much more. Included in each Cold Call Companion are:
Animated case brief videos that bring the facts to life;
A written case brief;
Advice for prepping for class discussion;
Contextual materials to offer additional color and background;
Test Yourself questions; and
Carefully curated sets of additional study materials to expand your knowledge of important concepts.

Confidently prepare for and engage in classroom discussion, and easily navigate to the best and more relevant study aids – right when you need them! Cold Call Companion is your essential prep for class.

A clear, concise, current, and authoritative explanation of all of the most important U.S. tort law doctrines, including those covered in first-year torts courses in law schools. Coverage includes tort law origins and objectives; causation; strict liability; negligence liability and defenses; intentional tort liability and defenses; special liability rules (premises liability, products liability, employers, etc.); damages; tort and contract; immunities; wrongful death and survival; defamation; privacy; misrepresentation.

Ideally suited as a supplement in a first-year torts course or as a text for an advanced seminar, Torts Stories provides an enriched understanding of ten leading torts cases, focusing on how the litigation was shaped by lawyers, judges and socioeconomic factors, and why the cases have attained landmark status. The publication provides students with an understanding of ten leading torts cases: United States v. Carroll Towing Co., the Hand Formula's Home Port; MacPherson v. Buick Motor Co., Simplifying the Facts while Reshaping the Law; Rowland v. Christian, Hallmark of an Expansionary Era; Tarasoff v. Regents of the University of California, The Therapist's Dilemma; The Wagon Mound Cases, Foreseeability, Causation, and Mrs. Palsgraf; Hymowitz v. Eli Lilly and Co., Markets of Mothers; Murphy v. Steeplechase Amusement Co., While the Timorous Stay at Home, the Adventurous Ride the Flopper; Rylands v. Fletcher, Tort Law's Conscience