Constitutional Law

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) hosts and facilitates the creation of CALI Lessons, a library of over 950 interactive legal tutorials written by law professors and geared towards law students. CALI is a 501(c)(3) non-profit consortium of law schools, law libraries and related organizations. Almost every United States law school is a member of CALI and they make up the bulk of our membership.

This course provides an overview of the scope and limitations of governmental authority under the U.S. Constitution.

This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams.

Black Letter outlines are designed to help law students recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in law school courses. Black Letter outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject areas.

This authoritative text provides a framework for understanding individual liberty and governmental power and the institutional role played by the Supreme Court of the United States. Coverage in this new improved edition includes all the major topics of the subject: judicial review: commerce clause and state powers: federalism: separation of powers: congressional and executive powers: and individual civil rights and civil liberties. Includes diagrams that aid understanding of the fundamentals of our system of government. Extremely accessible and comprehensive — this is a paperback course in American Constitutional Law.

This treatise provides a detailed, up-to-date, and comprehensive analysis of American constitutional law. It examines the issues that are studied and litigated today and discusses the origins of judicial review and federal jurisdiction, the sources of national authority, the growth of federal commerce and fiscal powers, and the limits on state laws that burden interstate commerce. It analyzes individual liberties and due process, including freedom of speech and religion, federal powers to enforce the Bill of Rights, and limitations on the jurisdiction of federal courts. Finally, it examines the separation of powers, including the restrictions on the foreign affairs power.

This 10th edition of Constitutional Law in a Nutshell summarizes constitutional law from Marbury v. Madison (1803), to the present. The goal has been to discuss the Supreme Court's cases in enough detail to be helpful but not to be verbose in doing so. In this edition we feature thirty new cases.

Dorf’s Constitutional Law Stories provides a student with an understanding of 15 leading U.S. constitutional law cases. It focuses on how lawyers, judges, and socioeconomic factors shaped the litigation, and why the cases have attained landmark status. This book is suitable for adoption as a supplement in an introductory constitutional law course or as a text for an advanced seminar.

Skills training and Constitutional Law are not always readily associated with one another. This book shows that it can be done! The goal of this book is to provide ten exercises to develop student skills in legal drafting, client counseling, advocacy, and negotiation in a Constitutional Law context. The problems are based on topics covered a basic Constitutional Law class and can be used with any doctrinal casebook. The assignments range from analytical emails and letters to clients to revising legislation and negotiating settlements over constitutional claims. The problems can be assigned individually or to groups, and each contains an optional legal ethics component.

The topics discussed in this law student study outline are the powers of federal government, including judicial power, powers of Congress, presidential power, foreign affairs power, and intergovernmental immunities. Also included are separation of powers, regulation of foreign commerce, and regulation of interstate commerce. It also covers taxation of interstate and foreign commerce, due process, equal protection, "state action" requirements, freedoms of speech, press, and association, and freedom of religion.

Landsberg and Jacobs’ Global Issues in Constitutional Law is designed to supplement constitutional law classes with international, comparative, and transnational law issues. This volume of West’s Global Issues series covers: Constitutionalism Judicial review Horizontal and vertical separation of powers Individual rights Equal protection Due process Freedom of speech and religion You can pick and choose among the topics and the selections within the topics, inserting them as comparisons or elucidations in core constitutional law courses. Carefully drafted note materials and a teacher's manual make the book self-contained and allow you introduce international, transnational, and comparative law issues without additional background reading.

High Court briefs are written to present the essential facts, issue, decision and rationale for each case in a clear, concise manner. While prepared briefs can never substitute for the insight gained by actually reading a case, these briefs will help readers to identify, understand, and absorb the core “take away” knowledge from each case. Moreover, these briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis, which provides extra tips and contextual background about each case, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed throughout the casebook. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases. Finally, to enhance the reader’s recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays an entertaining visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.

This audio lecture covers topics such as Marbury v. Madison and judicial review, the Commerce Clause and federal legislative power, the rise and fall and rise of substantive due process, equal protection, and the First Amendment, including freedom of speech and the press, the free exercise of religion, and the establishment of religion.

TSchroeder and Bradley's Presidential Power Stories tells the story of a dozen notable presidential power disputes in our nation’s history. Ranging from the Neutrality Controversy of 1793 to the Supreme Court’s decision in Hamdan v. Rumsfeld in 2006, the chapters present a diversity of presidential powers issues as well as a dispute's historical and legal background. Each chapter examines: A dispute’s historical and legal background Broader conceptual issues about the role of the president in our constitutional democracy

The authors, recognized authorities for over a third of a century, provide succinct and authoritative coverage of the major principles in modern American constitutional law. This book is a shortened version based on the authors' hornbook (popular with students) and their six-volume treatise (popular with judges, practitioners, and scholars). It analyzes the constitutional issues studied today, and discusses the origins of judicial review and federal jurisdiction, federal commerce and spending powers, state powers in light of the dormant Commerce Clause, the war power, freedom of speech and religion, equal protection, due process, and other important individual rights and liberties. This book is completely up to date and includes all major Supreme Court cases through February, 2016, including the ground breaking First Amendment decisions of the Roberts' Court.

: Designed to make the study of constitutional law simple, clear, and convenient, this text provides an overview of constitutional law plus a judicial review, including its limitations. Provides constitutional basis for the exercise of federal judicial power, national legislative power, sources and limitations of congressional power, and the separation of powers. Explores the relationship between branches of federal government, state power to regulate commerce, and constitutional limitations. Examines civil rights, retroactive legislation, procedural and substantive due process, equal protection, and freedom of speech and religion. Also addresses cruel and unusual punishment.

This efficient book takes the complex subject matter of Constitutional Law and makes it easier to understand and digest. World-renowned Villanova Law Dean and Professor Mark Alexander carefully explains the key concepts involved in Con Law and also brings it home with straightforward explanations of why you are reading and discussing the cases you are assigned every day. The subject matter runs the gamut from Marbury v. Madison and the structural side of the course to Due Process and Equal Protection. In addition, he provides exam-taking tips, and general words of guidance on how to make it through law school, and beyond, to a rewarding legal career.

Sum & Substance Audio CD Series allows you to assimilate the essentials of the course at your convenience - listen while working, commuting, exercising or just relaxing. The information and ideas you struggled with previously are now brought to life simply and succinctly. The CD provides Quick Reference Indexing, allowing you to quickly locate every topic in the entire recording. Also provided are exam tips to maximize your performance and Lifetime guarantee. These CD’s are time saving, convenient and effective.

United States Constitutional Law guides law students, political science students, and engaged citizens through the complexities of U.S. Supreme Court doctrine—and its relationship to constitutional politics—in key areas ranging from federalism and presidential power to equal protection and substantive due process. Rather than approach constitutional law as a static structure or imagine the Supreme Court as acting in isolation from society, the book elaborates and clarifies key constitutional doctrines while also drawing on scholarship in law and political science that relates the doctrines to large social changes such as industrialization, social movements such as civil rights and second-wave feminism, and institutional tensions between governmental actors. Combining legal analysis with historical narrative and sensitivity to political context, the book provides deeper understanding of how constitutional law arises, functions, and changes in a complex, often-divided society.