Professional Responsibility

More than ever, new and aspiring lawyers must both internalize those professional values and qualities that build resilience in an era of seismic professional change, and be exposed early and broadly to the lawyer skill sets and habits that engender professional success. This essential resource addresses a widely observed gap in legal education and professionalism materials on professional development in a practice-focused context. Paul A. Haskins, Editor. ABA Standing Committee on Professionalism.

Publisher's description

This book provides practical insights to help lawyers and their public sector clients choose the most ethical course of conduct. The compilation of essays, articles and research provides a clear and concise overview of many of the complexities of public sector ethics, including post-employment restrictions on government employees, whistle-blowing, pro bono work, regulation of honoraria, royalties and travel reimbursements, financial disclosure filing requirements, gift giving, conflicts of interest, and issues in enforcement of local ethics law.

Publisher's description

The practical implications of acting ethically are brought to light through powerful simulations and exercises, leading students through two case files, one civil and one criminal, in which they are subject to disciplinary hearings.

Publisher's description

The proven Glannon Guide is a user-friendly study aid to use throughout the semester as a great supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Topics are broken down into manageable pieces and are explained in a conversational tone. Chapters are interspersed with hypotheticals like those posed in the classroom that include analysis of answers to ensure thorough understanding. Additionally, The Closer questions pose sophisticated hypotheticals at the end of each chapter to present cumulative review of earlier topics. More like classroom experiences, the Glannon Guide provides you with straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes the material stick.
Publisher's Description

Handbook of Texas Lawyer and Judicial Ethics helps determine what constitutes ethical behavior. It provides you with analysis of the full text of the Texas Disciplinary Rules of Professional Conduct, the Texas Rules of Disciplinary Procedure, and the Code of Judicial Conduct. The handbook discusses each disciplinary rule separately, its background, and principal Texas cases and ethics opinions interpreting or commenting on it.

Publisher's description

Lawyers Crossing Lines is a collection of true stories about lawyers from all segments of the legal profession who transgressed ethical boundaries. Most of them ended up being sanctioned by their state Bar, sued for malpractice, prosecuted, or some combination of all three. All of the cases are rich in detail, many are bizarre, and in a few the attorney's conduct is so outrageous as to stretch the reader’s credulity. Each tale is followed by comments and questions designed to explore the issues in greater depth.

Publisher's description

Lawyering from the Heart features interviews with twenty-two talented law school graduates who stayed true to their dreams of using their education for the benefit of society. They embarked on careers as public interest lawyers. Informative, motivating, and inspiring, their stories show the satisfaction and rewards they found by living their values and following their passion. Authored by committed public interest lawyer and law professor Deborah Kenn, Lawyering from the Heart features a candid and inspiring look at the quality of life of public interest lawyers.

Publisher's description

Providing full coverage of all the model rules, standards, and statutes pertaining to the law governing lawyers, this supplement, with its companion website, is an ideal reference source for any course on professional responsibility or legal ethics.

Amazon Description: Providing full coverage of all the model rules, standards, and statues pertaining to the law governing lawyers, this supplement, with its companion website, is an ideal reference source for any course on professional responsibility or legal ethics.

The Law Governing Lawyers: Model Rules, Standards, Statutes, and State Lawyer Rules of Professional Conduct, 2018-2019

This product helps you to gain an essential edge in your legal career. It explains the vital skills needed to make the most of law school, build and sustain a professional network, and succeed in your job search. In addition, you’ll learn how to transition from law school to law practice with ease, make the most of business functions, and impress your employer. It also offers tips from experts in the field.

Publisher's description

Selected Standards on Professional Responsibility discusses one of the most rapidly changing fields in American law. Covering national, as well as New York and California, standards on professional responsibility, this volume collects the most up-to-date and important standards that govern judicial and legal ethics, including:
ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct
California Rules of Professional Conduct
New York Rules of Professional Conduct
ABA Model Code of Professional Responsibility
ABA Canons of Professional Ethics
ABA Model Code of Judicial Conduct
California Code of Judicial Ethics
Relevant Federal Statutes and Rules Applicable to Lawyers
Students, faculty, the practicing bar, and judges will find this book to be an essential examination of professional responsibility issues they confront daily.

This text is directed toward the learning outcomes students need and want in a basic professional responsibility course: mastering the doctrine regarding the regulation of law practice (including express instruction on reading rules and researching the law of professional responsibility); forming a vision of themselves as an attorney and a career plan that fits that vision; learning to identify the risks of discipline, liability, or business and reputational loss; and acquiring skills to practice law in a way that reduces those risks. The book provides clear learning outcomes for each unit, learning tools such as self-tests, checklists and graphics. Each chapter includes practice problems, including exercises designed to integrate skills such as reflection, research, counseling, and drafting. An appendix provides students advice on preparing for the multistate professional responsibility exam, with practice multiple-choice problems.

Publisher's description

Appropriate for students in any Professional Responsibility course, this study aid is structured around concepts, so it doesn’t feel like a march through the Model Rules of Professional Conduct. Not only does it have the proven pedagogy of the E & E series, it is also comprehensive and well balanced.

• Comprehensive, covers entire law governing lawyers
• Thoroughly revised to enhance clarity
• Revised to take account of changes to the Model Rules made by the ABA’s Ethics 20/20 Commission
• Includes agency, fiduciary duty, tort, contract, constitutional, and corporate and securities PR
• Up to date and accessible; presents balanced approach to controversial issues

Amazon Description: Understand better what you're learning in Professional Responsibility class and prepare effectively for exams by applying concepts as you learn them. This study guide includes 160 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 48 questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam."
For each multiple-choice question, Professor Longan provides a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. For these questions, Professor Longan provides a thoughtful, comprehensive, yet brief model answer.

Sharing expert insights on how and why the profession of law is changing in fundamental ways and how it will impact lawyers, the authors of this thought-provoking 20-chapter book will advance and sharpen the dialogue within the bar about accelerating disruption of the legal services marketplace, and how best to adapt. The collected wisdom and legal expertise in this book will help individual lawyers, law firms, law students, and bar associations better visualize and plan for their own futures in the law. The Relevant Lawyer: Reimagining the Future of the Legal Profession represents the vision and commitment of the ABA Standing Committee on Professionalism, deriving from and supporting their vital purpose of preserving, protecting, and advancing the highest ideals of the legal profession.

Publisher's description

Appropriate for students in any Professional Responsibility course, this study aid is structured around concepts, so it doesn’t feel like a march through the Model Rules of Professional Conduct. Not only does it have the proven pedagogy of the E & E series, it is also comprehensive and well balanced.

• Comprehensive, covers entire law governing lawyers
• Thoroughly revised to enhance clarity
• Revised to take account of changes to the Model Rules made by the ABA’s Ethics 20/20 Commission
• Includes agency, fiduciary duty, tort, contract, constitutional, and corporate and securities PR
• Up to date and accessible; presents balanced approach to controversial issues

Publisher's description

Moving women into the executive suite is not just a job for women. If you (or a man you know) need help understanding how and why men can sponsor high-performing women into leadership roles while avoiding the potential pitfalls, Ida Abbott's new book shows the way.

Publisher's description

This helpful 526-page desk reference brings together in one convenient volume materials concerning legal ethics applicable to law practice in Texas. Texas Lawyers’ Professional Ethics will be an invaluable addition to any legal library and an aid to any lawyer faced with ethical considerations in the day-to-day practice of law.

Publisher's Description

This Understanding treatise presents a systematic position on lawyers' ethics. The authors argue that lawyers' ethics is rooted in the Bill of Rights and in the autonomy and the dignity of the individual. This traditionalist, client-centered view of the lawyer’s role in an adversary system corresponds to the ethical standards that are held by a large proportion of the practicing bar.

From this perspective, the authors of Understanding Lawyers' Ethics analyze the fundamental issues of lawyers' ethics, and particularly the ABA's Model Rules and Model Code. Even if students do not share the authors' viewpoint, they can benefit from this presentation because it challenges them to appreciate the underlying reasons for the position presented. This treatise is designed to facilitate a real understanding of legal rules as distinguished from a superficial familiarity with them by challenging the reader to test their understanding of the legal rules against the reader's own moral standards and reasoned judgment.

Publisher's description