Commercial Law

BUSINESS BASICS FOR LAW STUDENTS, Fourth Edition, explains the mechanics, concepts, and legal context of business topics in exceptionally clear and accessible language. The book demystifies business principles through: the combined skills of distinguished authors who draw on their teaching and writing experience to build student confidence & straightforward explanations of daunting topics (accounting, financial statements, taxes, mortgages, etc.) tailored to students without a business background & generous use of examples to convey ideas and applications & a helpful list of new terms in the appendix, conveniently keyed to the pages where they are used and explained & frequent use of visual aids, such as tax forms, financial quotes as they appear in the newspaper, tables, and graphs & an accessible design featuring lists of topics keyed to headings at the beginning of each chapter, key terms and concepts bolded for easy identification, and frequent use of lists to clearly enumerate points and examples.

Publisher's description

Features:

•Mirrors textbooks used at business schools

•Connects the unfamiliar (business concepts) with the familiar (case law) Use of numerous graphical elements
Engaging hypotheticals

•Completely up-to-date, with material on important, recent events such as the financial crisis of 2008-2009, the collapse of investment banks, the Bernie Madoff fraud case, and Enron

•Can be used as a required or recommended supplement in doctrinal business law courses such as business associations, securities regulations, corporate finance, taxation, banking law, financial regulation, and business planning

Publisher's description

This reader examines the foundational principles of commercial law, including the choice between default rules and mandatory rules, between liability and property rules, between rules and standards, and between legislative and judge-made law. It explores these themes across a range of commercial law topics: sales law, payment systems, letters of credit and secured transactions.

Publisher's description

A concise, clear, effective review of Secured Transactions topics organized around the theme of multiple-choice questions. The basic format follows the same structure established by the first title in the series, Joseph Glannon’s The Glannon Guide to Civil Procedure. The book includes brief explanatory text about the topic under discussion, followed by one or two multiple-choice questions. After each question, the author explains how the correct choice was chosen. Thus the student reviews course content and also learns how to analyze exam questions.

Publisher's description

COURSE BOOK: Straightforward, back-to-basics approach, engaging problems: Problems and Cases on Secured Transactions is exactly the right casebook to introduce students to the intricacies of UCC Article 9 and modern secured financing. With an artful combination of textual material, detailed citations to the UCC, engaging problems and questions, and well-edited cases, James Brook demonstrates to students that this material need not be impenetrable but can be not only completely comprehensible but enjoyable as well.

Publisher's description

This study guide uses nearly 200 multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your knowledge of Article 9 and its occasional intersection with other sources of law such as the Federal Tax Lien Act and the Bankruptcy Code. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer.

From business and commercial dealings to personal and real estate transactions, Texas Transaction Guide: Legal Forms contains all the information you need to successfully represent your client through any transactional process. Depend on step-by-step guidance, practice notes, research guides, legal backgrounds, practice guides and insightful commentary in your transaction law practice. Inside you'll find several subjects covered including Commercial Transactions.

Publisher's description

This Understanding treatise provides a comprehensive treatment of the subject matter covered by Articles 3, 4 & 4A of the Uniform Commercial Code and by relevant provisions of the Truth in Lending Act, and Fair Credit Billing Act, the Electronic Fund Transfer Act, and Regulations E, J, Z, and CC. A primary focus is directed toward the law of negotiable instruments and of bank deposits and collections. The author also address the existing legal regimes that govern payments made in all forms, including checks and other drafts, cash, credit card, automated clearinghouses, automated teller machines, debit cards, and wholesale fund transfer.

Publisher's description

This Understanding treatise provides students with an analysis of the underlying rationales of Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code, the federal Bankruptcy Code as it relates to Article 9, and other relevant state and federal legislation. Familiarity with these rationales is critical for a true understanding of the law of secured transactions. The organization of this text is largely based upon the traditional five-part approach to the law of secured transactions:

• Scope of the article;
• Attachment of security interests;
• Perfection of security interests;
• Priorities among competing claimants (including extensive treatment of the effects of bankruptcy on security interests); and
• Enforcement of security interests.

Publisher's description

This Understanding treatise offers a concise, yet comprehensive survey and analysis of the legal principles that affect the law governing sales and leases of goods. Clearly written and logically organized, this book presents an integrated treatment of Articles 2 and 2A of the Uniform Commercial Code. The primary focus of Understanding Sales and Leases of Goods is on sales, with material addressing lease transactions woven into the text at appropriate points. Beyond the treatment in the text, footnotes provide additional examples and internal cross-references making the book easy to use.

Publisher's description

This concise, readable Understanding treatise provides an overview of International Business and Financial Transactions. Based on the author's many years of legal experience, teaching, and studying in countries throughout the world, it provides both law students and practitioners with a practical summary of relevant topics.

Publisher's description

Contains General Comments explaining the form and its application. Includes coverage of all the recent major revisions of the Texas Business and Commerce Code including leases, commercial paper, bank deposits and collections, bulk sales, investment securities, and secured transactions.

Publisher's description

From Amazon: The proven Glannon Guide is a user-friendly study aid to use throughout the semester as a great supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Topics are broken down into manageable pieces and are explained in a conversational tone. Chapters are interspersed with hypotheticals like those posed in the classroom that include analysis of answers to ensure thorough understanding. Additionally, The Closer questions pose sophisticated hypotheticals at the end of each chapter to present cumulative review of earlier topics. More like classroom experiences, the Glannon Guide provides you with straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes the material stick.
The user-friendly Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture.