Oil and Gas

Amazon Description: The Blackbook is an oil and gas citation and legal research guide intended to supplement The Bluebook and The Greenbook Texas Rules of Form. As a citation guide, The Blackbook demystifies oil- and gas-related citations by setting forth decisive citation form for industry-specific sources-many not addressed in The Bluebook or The Greenbook-and providing condensed guidelines for these citations. As a research manual, The Blackbook provides a sketch of legal research tools by outlining useful information sources, defining key terms and industry acronyms, describing the unique procedural rules of the Railroad Commission of Texas, and listing the largest oil and gas companies operating around the world. The Blackbook was created for the professional unfamiliar with the oil and gas industry-whether a law student, first year-associate, or seasoned attorney new to oil and gas law. As technological innovations and expanding markets increase the amount of energy work domestically and abroad, attorneys lacking experience with oil and gas law may find themselves with clients in need of oil- and gas-focused legal work. It is the Journal's hope that when practitioners unfamiliar with the subject find themselves in an energy-related matter, they will reach for The Blackbook. The Blackbook is not a comprehensive citation and research manual intended to supplant other resources or to be used without reference to the law. Rather, The Blackbook is an intuitive, abridged, and condensed guide designed to provide practitioners with an accessible and bare bones outline of oil and gas law. Through clarity, brevity, and practicality, The Blackbook seeks to arm practitioners with the resources and information necessary to navigate the energy industry.

This new edition of the popular textbook on the law of oil and gas focuses first on ownership of the resource. Keeping the same basic coverage, the authors changed the order of the chapters, moving discussion of the oil and gas lease forward and delaying discussion of state and federal conservation law and practice until after coverage of titles and conveyances. The authors have also included the following new coverage and changes:

More detailed discussion of geophysics, petroleum geology of both conventional and unconventional reservoirs, petroleum engineering, drilling, completion and production technology, including 3-D seismic, horizontal drilling, and hydraulic fracturing;
Coverage of the effect of these new methods of production on traditional oil and gas law private agreements;
Further integration of implied covenant issues with express lease issues and conservation with pooling and unitization;
Discussion of more contracts and transfers by oil and gas lessees, including credit agreements, farmouts, participations agreement, master service agreements and joint operation agreements;
New principal cases and editing of older materials and notes; and
Inclusion of environmental law materials in a separate chapter, per publisher's description.

Since it was first published in 1977, Texas Litigation Guide has become an indispensable resource for Texas litigators. Dorsaneo, Texas Litigation Guide gives you the value of superior content and coverage. The guide is cited frequently by Texas courts and updated four times per year, while the competing publication from West is updated only once per year. This step-by-step guide also offers a comprehensive collection of litigation forms--from letters and notices to discovery requests, motions, petitions and appellate forms--to save you hours of time preparing pleadings, motions, petitions, and other forms.
• Concise, yet authoritative, analysis of Texas law, cited regularly by Texas courts
• Step-by-step procedural and drafting guides
• Hundreds of forms covering virtually any document needed for litigation in Texas courts

For Oil and Gas Leases, see ch. 283.

Amazon Description: The principal function of this forms manual is to illustrate the exceptional importance of specific language to all contract-based transactions. Unintended ambiguities or carelessness in wording may result in the loss of properties worth millions of dollars. Additionally, differences in state law, regional custom, the identity and interests of the client, and the peculiarities of the specific transaction require a lawyer to choose carefully which form to use as the basis of the transaction. For this reason, there are often included several forms for the same transaction.

Amazon Description: The principal function of this forms manual is to illustrate the exceptional importance of specific language to all contract-based transactions. Unintended ambiguities or carelessness in wording may result in the loss of properties worth millions of dollars. Additionally, differences in state law, regional custom, the identity and interests of the client, and the peculiarities of the specific transaction require a lawyer to choose carefully which form to use as the basis of the transaction. For this reason, there are often included several forms for the same transaction.

This text provides authoritative coverage of the legal rules that govern the development of privately owned mineral rights, which often also apply to government-owned resources. It covers topics such as the nature, protection, and conveyance of oil and gas rights, leasing, and taxation.

Amazon Description: The fifth edition of Primer on the Laws of Oil and Gas in Texas is a concise softcover treatise that provides students, landmen, and attorneys with an overview of the most important aspects of the law of oil and gas in Texas. Expert author Joseph Shade summarizes the basics of the law in a simple and uncluttered format that is both approachable and thorough. Inside you'll find valuable discussion and analysis of:

• Fracking
• Leasing
• Title and Coneyances
• Conservation and Pooling
• Defining Property Rights
• Contracts
Don't miss out on one of the most practical guides available to this area of law, invaluable to Texas practitioners and anyone else who needs a concise guide to Texas oil and gas law.

The Prize recounts the panoramic history of oil - and the struggle for wealth and power that has always surrounded oil. This struggle has shaken the world economy, dictated the outcome of wars, and transformed the destiny of men and nations. The Prize is as much a history of the twentieth century as of the oil industry itself. The canvas of history is enormous - from the drilling of the first well in Pennsylvania through two great world wars to the Iraqui invastion of Kuwait and Operation Desert Storm. Publishers Description

Oil and gas law in Texas rests on a solid legal tradition, but is also in a constant state of change. Texas Law of Oil and Gas provides critical background and analysis of well-settled legal principles and also alerts you to important and as-yet-unsettled issues, including claims of royalty owners to share in settlements of take-or-pay disputes. Annual updates ensure your library stays current and helps you stay ahead of the curve. Trust Texas Law of Oil and Gas every time you handle an oil and gas issue in Texas, from LexisNexis, the name you trust for all your legal research needs.

The new addition to the civil Texas Pattern Jury Charges series provides the charges you’ve come to rely on with other books in the series. Texas Pattern Jury Charges—Oil & Gas covers adverse possession, improper use of real property, issues between lessor and lessee, executive rights, and more.

The assistance that this excellent resource offers extends beyond providing definitions, instructions, and questions useful for drafting charges in your jury trials. Many practitioners find it very helpful in preparing findings of fact and conclusions of law in nonjury cases and in identifying issues and evidence requirements in oil and gas cases generally. Comments provide a ready reference to the source of each charge and instructions on when to use it.

Texas Pattern Jury Charges—Oil & Gas covers topics in the following areas:
Admonitory Instructions
Adverse Possession
Improper Use of Real Property
Lessor-Lessee Issues
Executive Rights
Contracts between Working Interest Owners
Defenses
Damages
Preservation of Charge Error

Publisher Description

Environmental Law provides an analytical discussion of relevant state and federal legislation and applicable caselaw. Written by more than 40 Texas experts on environmental law, this source offers considerable depth of coverage. Its practice-oriented design enables you to find answers systematically and efficiently.

It contains an overview of the requirements, liabilities, participants and jurisdictional issues of specific activities, plus practice-oriented insights.

Several chapters discuss oil and gas law, e.g. Ch. 25: Oil & Gas.

From business and commercial dealings to personal and real estate transactions, Texas Transaction Guide: Legal Forms contains all the information you need to successfully represent your client through any transactional process. Depend on step-by-step guidance, practice notes, research guides, legal backgrounds, practice guides and insightful commentary in your transaction law practice. Inside you'll find 5 units, covering:

• Business Entities
• Wills and Trusts
• Commercial Transactions
• Real Estate Tranactions
• Personal Transactions

For information on Oil and Gas Leases, see ch. 77.