Tax Law

The Bloomberg BNA 2015 Federal Tax Guide is the essential desk reference for practitioners advising businesses and individuals on federal taxation and will be a vital resource in preparation of 2014 income tax returns as well as for tax planning. It is topically organized, providing details on exclusions, deductions, credits, property transactions, tax computation, retirement plans, and transfer taxes.

This exclusive Guide is a true desk reference publication — featuring succinct explanations of the law, quick reference charts and tables, and multiple indexes, allowing you to quickly access the tax information you need. Useful for both novices and experts, it is written in easy-to-understand language, and is supported by numerous examples and citations to underlying authority.

Only the 2015 Federal Tax Guide leverages Bloomberg BNA's award-winning Tax Management Portfolios, written by leading expert practitioners especially for practitioners, and material from the Bloomberg BNA Tax and Accounting Center, which offers expert analysis and practice tools from the world's leading tax and accounting authorities.

Federal Income Taxation: A Contemporary Approach uses several modern platforms to introduce students to the federal income taxation of individuals. After a general overview, the book takes two more passes through the system, each in increasing detail. This helps students see the overall structure early in their studies and gives context to new concepts as they are introduced. Helpful self-assessment questions allow students to measure their own comprehension and save valuable class time for more advanced discussions. Almost 100 detailed problems for class discussion require students to apply Code and Regulation provisions to real-life fact patterns. The book also includes links to several instructional videos with practice questions providing students with another opportunity to reinforce their understanding of the material. Like other titles in the Interactive Casebook series, the accompanying electronic version gives students immediate access to the full text of cited cases, statutes, articles, and other materials in the Westlaw database. It also contains hundreds of links to relevant videos, photos, articles, audio clips, and other sources that help make the subject come alive for students.

The book addresses various areas in which a researcher may be immersed - everything from the legislative history of a statute to underlying regulations to interpretive case law. Along the way the book considers various types of tax-related court opinions, a myriad of government-generated documents, and law review articles and journals. Considerable attention is given to both the authoritative weight of each document and how it can be located. Research in international tax, a complex and dynamic area, is discussed in great detail. Finally, the book provides strategies for organizing information into a written document, such as a response to an information document request or a brief to be filed with the Tax Court. Throughout the pages of Federal Tax Research, examples of real-life situations, practice notes, research tips, and snippets of court opinions add breadth and life to the technical information

3 volume set
Nonprofit Organizations: Law and Taxation provides detailed coverage of the effect of tax acts on nonprofit entities. The author discusses:
• Accounting methods for reporting financial activities
• Use of tax-exempt bonds for financing
• Consequences of a private foundation's status
• Tax consequences of donors
• The concept of unrelated business taxable income for hospitals, colleges, museums, and other nonprofit organizations
In addition, you'll find all necessary forms for obtaining tax-exempt status, and tax return forms for annual reporting purposes for several different types of exempt organizations.

Amazon Description: This book explores the taxation and exemption of churches and other religious institutions, both empirically and normatively. This exploration reveals that churches and other religious institutions are treated diversely by the federal and state tax systems. Sectarian institutions pay more tax than many believe. In important respects, the states differ among themselves in their respective approaches to the taxation of sectarian entities. Either taxing or exempting churches and other sectarian entities entangles church and state. The taxes to which churches are more frequently subject - federal Social Security and Medicare taxes, sales taxes, real estate conveyance taxes - fall on the less entangling end of the spectrum. The taxes from which religious institutions are exempt - general income taxes, value-based property taxes, unemployment taxes - are typically taxes with the greatest potential for church-state enforcement entanglement. It is unpersuasive to reflexively denounce the tax exemption of religious actors and institutions as a subsidy. Tax exemption can implement the secular, non-subsidizing goal of minimizing church-state enforcement entanglement and thus be regarded as part of a normative tax base.

Taxing the church or exempting the church involves often difficult trade-offs among competing and legitimate values. On balance, our federal system of decentralized legislation reasonably make these legal and tax policy trade-offs, though there is room for improvement in particular settings such as the protection of internal church communications and the expansion of the churches' sales tax liabilities.

In Property Taxes Texas experts provide commentary on hundreds of forms for real property tax and all other state taxes. Forms and commentary cover:

• Corporations
• Franchises of business and insurance corporations
• Mortgages
• Stock transfers
• Gasoline and motor fuel
• Petroleum businesses
• Highway use
• Personal income
• Unincorporated businesses
• Estates
• Sales
• Uncompensated use

This clearly written Understanding treatise is designed to supplement any corporate tax casebook, providing a step-by-step explanation of the fundamentals of corporate tax law. After an initial introductory chapter, six chapters cover events in the life cycle of a corporation, including capitalization of a corporation with debt or equity. The next seven chapters cover S corporations; corporate reorganizations (in four chapters); carryover of tax attributes; and anti-abuse and special provisions, such as the corporate AMT. The final two chapters discuss the important policy issues of corporate integration and corporate tax shelters. The chapter on corporate tax shelters is new to this edition of the book. Understanding Corporate Taxation includes discussion of relevant cases, checklists, diagrams of transactions, and numerous examples.

From Amazon: "Understanding Federal Income Taxation consists of forty-four chapters with each chapter addressing a basic topic in individual income taxation, e.g., the taxation of personal injury awards, the interest deduction, installment sales. Because the provisions of the Internal Revenue Code are necessarily at the heart of tax study, a part or all of the Code section(s) pertinent to the specific topic are included in each chapter. Likewise, the chapters contain summaries of leading cases and relevant administrative rulings as well as numerous examples explaining the application of the law. Like the prior edition published in 2013, this new Fifth Edition of Understanding Federal Income Taxation is a valuable resource for students studying the tax law for the first time and for general practitioners handling transactions with individual income tax concerns. The Fifth Edition incorporates recent developments in the Internal Revenue Code and addresses important recent income tax cases as well as revised regulations and other new administrative materials. Many of these tax law changes are illustrated in new and revised examples included in the Fifth Edition."

Based on his treatise Tax Planning for Partners, Partnerships, and LLCs, the author offers a comprehensive analysis of one of the most complex and confusing areas of the Internal Revenue Code. Using examples and computational illustrations, this Understanding treatise is designed for ease of use by law students. In addition to clear, to-the-point explanations of law, Understanding Partnership and LLC Taxation includes practice and planning notes plus extensive citation to relevant cases, statutes, and regulations, thereby making it also an excellent quick reference for practitioners. Among the topics covered are the tax consequences of:
• Determining the business form to adopt;
• Allocating income or loss among partners or LLC members;
• Distributing property to a partner or LLC member;
• Using family partnerships and LLCs; and
• Selling or liquidating a partnership or LLC interest.

This book is designed primarily for use by law students taking a course on the taxation of business entities, or separate courses on partnership taxation and corporate taxation. The book is broken into parts on partnership taxation, C corporation taxation, and S corporation taxation. Each chapter contains a basic overview and a detailed analysis; this allows for an understanding of the big picture before diving into the details, and the basic overview alone may be sufficient for some topics that may be covered lightly in a business entity taxation course. For each type of business tax entity, the book covers its life cycle - formation, operations, and liquidation - along with reorganizations and divisions for corporations. The book is replete with descriptions and analyses of the relevant Internal Revenue Code and Treasury Regulations provisions, summaries of leading cases and IRS rulings, and plenty of examples that apply the law to hypothetical situations. Understanding Taxation of Business Entities is designed primarily for law students, but it is also intended to be useful to practitioners, including generalists who need a relatively brief summary of a business entity tax topic, beginning lawyers who intend to specialize in partnership and corporate taxation and / or are working on an LL.M. in taxation, and experienced lawyers who wish to expand their practices into business entity taxation. The book similarly would be useful to accountants who are pursuing a master of science in taxation, as well as accountants practicing in the area of business entity taxation.