Immigration Law

List of Intellectual Property Texts & Treatises from Westlaw.

Business Immigration Law: Forms and Filings is a comprehensive guide to choosing the correct nonimmigrant work authorization category and applying for it efficiently and without error. It provides examples and explanations not only of straightforward situations, but also of the variations that might affect student and business visitors, treaty traders and investors, NAFTA professionals, specialty occupation workers, temporary nonagricultural workers, and others.

Coverage includes discussion of every stage of the application process: obstacles and solutions to consider before filing; completed sample forms; support letters; supporting document checklists and filing instructions; guidance on applications for initial status, extension, amendment and change of status; the needs of dependent family members; and detailed guidance on post-9/11 visa requirements.

Business Immigration Law: Strategies for Employing Foreign Nationals guides you step—by—step through this intricate legal maze. An impressive array of specialists provides helpful and pragmatic advice on the nonimmigrant work authorization, including: specialty occupations (H-1Bs); intra-company transfers from abroad (L-1); and treaty traders and investors (E-1 and E-2). Coverage includes: tax issues; discrimination law problems raised by screening foreign nationals during hiring; how to avoid sanctions for I-9 violations; and the interaction between nonimmigrant and immigrant statuses. This book's appendices provide forms, guidelines, regulations and other helpful materials

Immigration Law and Business provides definitive guidance with detailed citations to applicable laws, regulations, and agency memoranda on all of the key aspects of U.S. immigration law crucial to business.

Immigration employment compliance and the tax aspects of immigration law are covered in detail. Cross-references to the hands-on Fragomen handbooks point readers to model forms, sample letters, and detailed, step-by-step tips. This treatise is a useful tool for business immigration practitioners, human resources professionals, and general practitioners who occasionally handle a business case

Written for both immigration and criminal law practitioners, Immigration Law and Crimes provides complete coverage of relevant law including statutory, judicial, and regulatory developments, emerging issues, practical guidance, and tactical considerations. It covers:

• Categories of criminal convictions having immigration consequences, including crimes of moral turpitude, drug-trafficking crimes, and aggravated felonies
• Procedure, strategies, and issues involved in the representation of the noncitizen accused
• Analysis of all aspects of conviction or other formal contact with the criminal justice system
• Postconviction remedies, including vacations of judgment, expungements, and pardons
• Implications of criminal convictions for legalization, asylum, voluntary departure, and naturalization
• Criminal convictions and waivers under the immigration statute

Supplemented throughout with proven defense strategies, procedural tactics, and astute professional insights, Immigration Law and Defense follows the progress of a typical immigration case. The text contains extensive references to judicial decisions and regulations, as well as parallel citations from the Immigration and Nationality Act to USCA. This text also:

• Provides a history of immigration legislation and the changing nature of immigration law
• Offers guidance on eligibility for permanent residence, adjustment of status, and inadmissibility
• Covers removal, including the crucial factors of alienage and grounds for removal
• Discusses administrative appeals, political asylum, withholding of removal, and relief for refugees
• Contains details on citizenship and naturalization
• Reviews federal judicial reviews, employer sanctions, and anti-discrimination provisions

Immigration Law and Procedure is a 21-Volume "Bible'' of immigration law that has been cited in over 450 federal court decisions in cases from across the U.S. circuit courts of appeals, federal district courts, and the U.S. Supreme Court. Authors Stanley Mailman and Stephen Yale-Loehr are nationally respected immigration specialists whose professional expertise has made Immigration Law & Procedure the flagship Immigration treatise. Their analysis and opinions on undecided points of law have carried considerable weight with the courts, including the U.S. Supreme Court.

Speed up family immigration applications with Immigration Law and the Family. This publication:

• Shows you how to fill out key USCIS and DOS forms for each category of family immigrant and forms for immigrant visa applications at U.S. consulates
• Discusses the principle of accompanying or "following to join" family members of immigrants and nonimmigrants
• Helps you document complicated family relationships where birth or marriage certificates are unavailable, or where the USCIS suspects a fraudulent relationship
• Gives detailed descriptions of stepchildren, legitimate and legitimated children, orphans, and adopted children
• Shows the best ways for maintaining priority dates, improving your client's position, or reducing the wait to immigrate
• Explains the role of the DOS and the handling of family-based visa petitions and immigrant visa applications for people who will immigrate from abroad

Completely revised, Immigration Law Service provides a practical and current approach to today's immigration-related issues. This title fully integrates changes brought about by the abolition of the INS and the shift of that agency's functions to various agencies in the Department of Homeland Security. This looseleaf binder set includes hands-on guidance for tackling virtually any immigration or naturalization situation, as well as the INA, relevant statutes, and agency guidance.

This publication contains expertly drafted motions, notices, and applications most often required in judicial and administrative federal immigration practice. Each sample filing includes the authors' supporting legal memorandum. Editable electronic copies of the motions and memoranda are available on the included CD-ROM. The print volume also includes "Practitioners' Notes," which explain the legal principles and the practical considerations applicable to the use of the particular motion, annotated directories of statutes, regulations, agency memoranda, and relevant agency and judicial decisions, and references to related treatises and other publications.

Immigration Trial Handbook is a step-by-step, practice-oriented guidebook that discusses the procedure, techniques, and strategies for representing noncitizens in removal proceedings at the administrative level. It contains:

• Practice tips
• Checklists
• Pitfall cautions
• Citations to relevant statutes and regulations
• Case authorities
• Practice rules
• Agency memoranda

Law of Asylum in the United States is an authoritative presentation of U.S. asylum law, long considered a must-have publication for practitioners, students, and teachers. It is frequently relied upon and cited by decision makers. Law of Asylum describes and interprets applicable U.S. laws, as well as numerous international sources, providing an up-to-date analysis of all aspects of asylum law.

This latest edition of The Law of Immigration serves as an introduction to the most recent changes in immigration law. It provides an overview of the history of immigration law, a discussion of the current laws, and an examination of the evolution of immigration laws post-9/11. The title addresses key issues such as the rights and obligations of the alien, entry and admission, exclusion, employment, naturalization and citizenship, asylum, deportation, and visas and limitations. The author outlines the process of becoming an American citizen through naturalization and the requirements that must be met. The structure of the Immigration Department and the Department of Homeland Security's role within the law is also explained.

Steel on Immigration Law presents in-depth analyses of the controlling law and required procedures in virtually every kind of case arising under immigration laws. Includes the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952, as amended and interpreted to date; the changes made by the Immigration Act of 1990; the Technical Corrections Amendments Act of 1994; the Immigration Reform and Control Act (IRCA); and the Immigration Marriage Fraud Amendment Act of 1986. The text provides comprehensive coverage of legislation and changes in the H-1B nonimmigrant temporary worker program.

Providing an in-depth examination of current naturalization procedures and forms, including recently enacted legislation, U.S. Citizenship and Naturalization Handbook offers step-by-step guidance from the filing of the application through admission to citizenship. It gives you thorough coverage on every issue that may arise, including the ways in which citizenship can vest automatically.