Immigration Law

Beyond Deportation is the first book to comprehensively describe the history, theory, and application of prosecutorial discretion in immigration law. It provides a rich history of the role of prosecutorial discretion in the immigration system and unveils the powerful role it plays in protecting individuals from deportation and saving the government resources. Shoba Sivaprasad Wadhia draws on her years of experience as an immigration attorney, policy leader, and law professor to advocate for a bolder standard on prosecutorial discretion, greater mechanisms for accountability when such standards are ignored, improved transparency about the cases involving prosecutorial discretion, and recognition of “deferred action” in the law as a formal benefit.

A valuable resource for attorneys, the judiciary, policymakers, and the community to learn more about Special Immigrant Juvenile Status.

Although the United States is a nation founded by immigrants, Alberto Gonzales and David Strange believe that national immigration policy and enforcement over the past thirty years has been inadequate. This failure by federal leaders has resulted in a widespread introduction of state immigration laws across the country. Gonzales and Strange assert that the solution to current immigration challenges is reform of federal immigration laws, including common sense border control, tougher workplace enforcement, changes to the Immigration and Nationality Act, and a revised visa process.

Gonzales and Strange embrace many provisions of current pending legislation, but are sharply critical of others. Their proposals call for an expansion of the grounds of inadmissibility to foster greater respect of law and to address the problem of visa overstays, while also calling for a restriction on grounds of inadmissibility in other areas to address the large undocumented population and increasing humanitarian crisis. They explore nationality versus citizenship and introduce a pathway to nationality as an alternative to a pathway to citizenship.

This immigration policy blueprint examines the political landscape in Washington and makes the argument that progress will require compromise and the discipline to act with compassion and respect.

Immigration and Nationality Law: Problems and Strategies introduces the reader to the legal concepts and experience of practicing immigration law. This book is designed for both law students and attorneys as it covers not only statutory provisions and key immigration law cases, it also provides an understanding to the many government agencies involved in the immigration process and how to navigate the wide variety of adjudications that are central to the U.S. immigration system.
Immigration and Nationality Law: Problems and Strategies includes problems that ask the reader, from a variety of legal roles, to learn how to solve common immigration problems. By working through these problems the user will observe the immigration process from initial sponsorship to the United States, to seeking admission at the border, to finding and maintaining status and securing permanent resident status within the United States.

Immigration and Nationality Law: Problems and Strategies moves through the complex issues of determining whether a person is inadmissible or barred from securing status or entering the United States. It explores the removal process and which categories of people and what type of behavior can subject a noncitizen to expulsion. It then continues with an examination of the forms of relief from removal and asylum and other humanitarian protections. The text closes with the ultimate goal of many immigrants -- naturalization. Other ways to acquire or derive U.S. citizenship are also explored.

Publisher's Description

In the era of globalization, shifting political landscapes, and transnational criminal organizations, discourse around immigration is reaching unprecedented levels. Immigration and the Law is a timely and significant volume of essays that addresses the social, political, and economic contexts of migration in the United States. The contributors analyze the historical and contemporary landscapes of immigration laws, their enforcement, and the discourse surrounding these events, as well as the mechanisms, beliefs, and ideologies that govern them.

In today’s highly charged atmosphere, Immigration and the Law gives readers a grounded and broad overview of U.S. immigration law in a single book. Encompassing issues such as shifting demographics, a changing criminal justice system, and volatile political climate, the book is critically significant for academic, political, legal, and social arenas.

The contributors offer sound evidence to expose the historical legacy of violence, brutality, manipulation, oppression, marginalization, prejudice, discrimination, power, and control. Demystifying the ways that current ideas of ethnicity, race, gender, and class govern immigration and uphold the functioning and legitimacy of the criminal justice system, Immigration and the Law presents a variety of studies and perspectives that offer a pathway toward addressing long-neglected but vital topics in the discourse on immigration and the law.

Publisher's Description

This fully updated Immigration Law Handbook contains the complete and updated primary law that immigration and homeland security professionals need on a daily basis. Inside, you'll find the full text of the laws with cross-references, along with a table of sections affected by recent legislation, highlights of the most recent Congressional Session, and immigration classifications and charts. A comprehensive Index helps you find and apply the law quickly.

Publisher's Description

What are the myths and truths regarding immigration in the United States? This book provides readers with an impartial understanding of the true state of immigration and immigration policy in the United States by refuting falsehoods, misinformation, and exaggerations surrounding this topic―and confirming the validity of other assertions.


• Addresses contemporary rhetoric about immigration with factual information based on reliable, objective empirical data

• Presents immigration-related statistics in an easy-to-read format that allows readers to quickly find answers to specific questions

• Fosters a more accurate understanding of the immigration issue and provides readers with opportunities to apply critical thinking skills.

Publisher's Description

With theoretical sophistication and empirical rigor, Immigration Judges and U.S. Asylum Policy investigates more than 500,000 asylum cases that were decided by U.S. immigration judges between 1990 and 2010. The authors find that judges treat certain facts about an asylum applicant more objectively than others: facts determined to be legally relevant tend to be treated similarly by judges of different political ideologies, while facts considered extralegal are treated subjectively. Furthermore, the authors examine how local economic and political conditions as well as congressional reforms have affected outcomes in asylum cases, concluding with a series of policy recommendations aimed at improving the quality of immigration law decision making rather than trying to reduce disparities between decision makers.

This book reconceptualizes the history of U.S. immigration and citizenship law from the colonial period to the beginning of the twenty-first century by joining the histories of immigrants to those of Native Americans, African Americans, women, Asian Americans, Latino/a Americans, and the poor. Kunal Parker argues that during the earliest stages of American history, being legally constructed as a foreigner, along with being subjected to restrictions on presence and movement, was not confined to those who sought to enter the country from the outside, but was also used against those on the inside. Insiders thus shared important legal disabilities with outsiders. It is only over the course of four centuries, with the spread of formal and substantive citizenship among the domestic population, a hardening distinction between citizen and alien, and the rise of a powerful centralized state, that the uniquely disabled legal subject we recognize today as the immigrant has emerged. The book advances new ways of understanding the relationship between foreignness and subordination over the long span of American history.

Ben Herzog reveals America’s long history of making both naturalized immigrants and native-born citizens un-American after their citizenship was stripped away. Tracing this history from the early republic through the Cold War, Herzog locates the sociological, political, legal, and historic meanings of revoking citizenship. Why, when, and with what justification do states take away citizenship from their subjects? Should loyalty be judged according to birthplace or actions? Using the history and policies of revoking citizenship as a lens, Revoking Citizenship examines, describes, and analyzes the complex relationships between citizenship, immigration, and national identity.

The third edition of Understanding Immigration Law lays out the basics of U.S. immigration law in an accessible way to newcomers to the field. It offers background about the intellectual, historical, and constitutional foundations of U.S. immigration law. The book also identifies the factors that have historically fueled migration to the United States, including the economic "pull" of jobs and family in the United States and the "push" of economic hardship, political instability, and other facts of life in the sending country. Each chapter has been updated to analyze the unprecedented number of immigration enforcement measures and many simply unprecedented measures taken by the Trump administration, including but not limited to: - The various increased enforcement measures, including expanded detention (and the end of catch-and-release ), workplace raids, and restoration of Secure Communities (which the Obama administration had dismantled); - The zero tolerance policy directed at Central American asylum seekers, including the policy to separate minors from parents in immigration detention centers; - The Muslim or travel ban upheld by the U.S. Supreme Court; - The end of Temporary Protected Status for Salvadorans, Hondurans, Nicaraguans, Haitians, and nationals of several other countries; - The attempt to rescind the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) policy adopted by the Obama administration; and - The efforts to discourage state and local sanctuary policies that limit state and local cooperation with federal immigration enforcement efforts. The chapters further update the various chapters with Supreme Court immigration decisions, including the Court s decision invalidating a removal ground on due process grounds (Sessions v. Dimaya (2018)) and invalidating a derivative citizenship rule for violating Equal Protection (Sessions v. Morales-Santana (2017)). Amazon Description