Employment Law

Lexis Advance's Labor & Employment Law page has cases, statutes and legislation, codes and regulations, and secondary sources and other materials.

List of Labor & Employment Law secondary sources from Westlaw.

This work is a comprehensive, up-to-date, easy-to-use, and cost-effective reference on employment practices. This set, topically organized, offers information on key employment law, including benefits, compensation, employment practices, labor relations, personnel policy and administration, and workplace safety. It analyzes and describes each provision of a new or amended federal employment law in full detail and in context with related federal or state laws.

Publisher's description

Multivolume treatise on employment law, integrates materials on employment of undocumented aliens, drug testing, privacy, employment discrimination, minimum wage, ERISA, family and medical leave, health benefits, OSHA, workers' compensation, covenants not to compete, and wrongful discharge.

Integration is achieved by following the employment relation from its formation, through terms and conditions of employment, to termination. The text presents information within a framework of history, context, perspective, and analysis. In addition, the treatise points to other primary and secondary resources for greater research efficiency.

Publisher's description

Concise, readable guidebook for business owners, personnel directors, general managers, and human resources staff who manage Texas employees daily. You will want to keep it by the phone, take it to meetings or to the courtroom. It will assist in decision-making and offer solid guidance on key issues and potential areas of liability.

Publisher's description

Scrutinizing the significant aspects of substantive and procedural National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) doctrine, Federal Labor Law: NLRB Practice emphasizes current labor law issues. Key areas of coverage include:

• NLRB organization and process
• The judicial role
• NLRB jurisdiction and coverage
• Protection of organizational and representational rights
• Employer domination and assistance
• Discrimination in employment
• The representation process
• Collective bargaining
• Contract administration and enforcement
• Recognitional picketing
• Secondary boycotts
• Work assignment disputes
• Duty of fair representation
• Internal union affairs

Publisher's description

The concise, plain-English Guide to Employment Law and Regulation, 2d contains expert explanations and updates on age discrimination, drug testing, rights of the disabled, child labor laws, sexual harassment, downsizing, wrongful discharge, immigration reform, and affirmative action. It includes the full text of federal employment laws and regulations, as well as concise digests of employment laws in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

Publisher's description

Definitive and complete guide to Labor and Employment law - it is the only work of its kind, providing comprehensive coverage, both federal and state, from A to Z, in one 11-volume set. It includes quality analysis on all aspects of labor and employment law, from well-known topics such as union elections and sexual harassment, to lesser understood subjects like employment arbitration, wage and hour law, and employee privacy.

Publisher's description

Quick solutions to employee relations problems. Attorneys and HR professionals alike will find useful guidance and practical tips on the most common fact patterns, based on cases and actual experience.

Publisher's description

Covers major labor regulations such as the Labor Management Relations Act and the Norris-LaGuardia Act, as well as the legal prerequisites of a strike. It helps you quickly develop expertise you can bring to the bargaining table in labor/management confrontations. The authors provide details on:

• The distinction between unfair labor practice and economic strikes
• How to handle employer interference and discrimination
• Reinstatement rights of strikers
• Strike misconduct and violence
• Identifying the neutral employer
• New decisions of the NLRB
• Related issues that typically arise as a result of a strike

Publisher's description

This publication provides concise and clear rules and analysis on issues specific to the employment relationship, including contracts, termination, compensation, benefits, tort liability, wrongful discharge in violation of public policy, defamation, wrongful interference, misrepresentation, autonomy, privacy, employee obligations, restrictive covenants, and remedies.

Publisher's description

Employment Practice serves as a vital source of federal and Texas employment law and procedure. It includes practical tips that can help you streamline your practice, predict and prevent problems, and provide a winning edge. This softbound, two-volume publication provides the latest cases, statutes, and checklists, along with extensive research aids that are placed at the beginning of each chapter.

Provides effective guidance on solving wage and hour compliance problems under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA), and other acts. It offers plain-English analysis and practical advice on financial-, tax-, and benefits-related topics, and helps you determine worker status of independent contractors and employees. These easy-to-use volumes also cover:

• Avoiding unnecessary errors resulting in litigation, damage awards, and penalties
• Compliance examples, summaries, calculation methods, mathematical formulas, checklists, and forms
• Compensable time, overtime, child labor exemptions, and minimum wage

Publisher's description

In one volume, this source covers all aspects of federal and state laws governing minimum wage, overtime and child labor standards. The publication focuses on the federal wage-hour statutory scheme, including laws regulating work under government procurement contracts and federally assisted projects.

Publisher's description