Texas Civil Procedure

Dorsaneo's Texas Pretrial Procedure contains the most extensive, authoritative, and up-to-date coverage of pretrial procedure available in Texas. In step-by-step fashion, Professor Dorsaneo guides the practitioner through the prelitigation process that provides the critical foundation for a successful case to a thorough discussion of strategies that can be used to secure a disposition before trial. In the process, he provides in-depth analysis of such issues as plaintiffs pleadings, service of citation, forum selection, and discovery, all updated to reflect recent changes in the Texas rules.

Since it was first published in 1977, Texas Litigation Guide has become an indispensable resource for Texas litigators. Dorsaneo, Texas Litigation Guide gives you the value of superior content and coverage. The guide is cited frequently by Texas courts and updated four times per year, while the competing publication from West is updated only once per year. This step-by-step guide also offers a comprehensive collection of litigation forms--from letters and notices to discovery requests, motions, petitions and appellate forms--to save you hours of time preparing pleadings, motions, petitions, and other forms.

McDonald & Carlson Texas Civil Practice is written in consultation with leading Texas civil procedure experts and is the Texas civil procedure text most often cited by appellate court judges. The text offers in-depth analysis of: Jurisdiction, Venue, Pleadings, Citation, Discovery, Pretrial motions, Jury charge, Postverdict motions, Judgment, Appeals, Mandamus, DWOPs, & Summary judgment appeals.

Expert commentary: Written and edited by experienced practitioners and backed by thousands of citations, the book’s ten commentary chapters explain the details of civil procedure step by step.
Annotated rules: The complete Texas Rules of Civil Procedure and Texas Rules of Evidence annotated with key quotations from leading opinions from the Supreme Court and intermediate appellate courts.
Helpful extras: Handy charts that summarize complex information. Timetables for computing important deadlines. And much more.

Texas Civil Trial and Appellate Procedure offers a solid foundation for understanding the law and succeeding in the courtroom. Whether engaged in civil trial or appellate practice, attorneys benefit from this set's unmatched attention to detail and encyclopedic scope covering everything from analyses of court rules, statutes and cases to the underlying laws governing civil and appellate procedur

With this single source reference designed specifically for civil practitioners, you will increase your effectiveness and productivity. Comprehensive, authoritative, and up-to-date, Texas Civil Trial Guide will help you admit the evidence you need, exclude your opponent's evidence, and avoid critical mistakes. Coverage includes:

• Presenting and opposing motions in limine, using affidavits as foundations for documentary evidence
• Assertion of privileges, admission of testimony, expert opinions, and documentary evidence, and effective cross-examination
• Leading case authorities
• Procedural guidance concerning trial settings, continuances, special exceptions and pleadings, amendments, oral depositions, recusal motions, consolidation and severance, jury selction, motions for judgment, and closing argument.