Bankruptcy

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) hosts and facilitates the creation of CALI Lessons, a library of over 950 interactive legal tutorials written by law professors and geared towards law students. CALI is a 501(c)(3) non-profit consortium of law schools, law libraries and related organizations. Almost every United States law school is a member of CALI and they make up the bulk of our membership.

This course covers bankruptcy theory, policy, and terminology. It also treats basic creditors' rights, the creation of the estate, the automatic stay, claims, discharge, and much more.

This classic student text, used by tens of thousands of law students for almost 50 years, has been revised to reflect changes in the Bankruptcy Code, changes in case law, changes in bankruptcy practices, and changes in bankruptcy casebooks. For example, there is a Chapter on new Subdivision V which affects most small business cases and a new separate Chapter on Section 363 Sales which affects most large business cases. Today's bankruptcy courses are now much more than just the avoiding powers, and discharge. As bankruptcy classes have become more comprehensive, students have found this short book even more helpful in comprehending reading assignments, contributing to class discussions, and answering exam questions.

In this text leading scholars explore the landmark decisions that shape modern bankruptcy law and practice. Ten short and accessible chapters provide students with an understanding of the institutional, economic, and social forces that shape our bankruptcy system. The cases cover corporate, individual, and transnational bankruptcy and illustrate the role that the Solicitor General plays in shaping bankruptcy law. The book focuses on the ways lawyers have operated within the parameters set by the bankruptcy code, such as establishing the Manville Asbestos Trust.

The road map through the bankruptcy process charts a route with the following
landmarks: A bankruptcy case filed by a person is called the case or main case.
Lawsuits within the case are proceedings or adversary proceedings. The journey
commences with the filing of a petition by a person or, more rarely, against a person in
the event of an involuntary filing. This petition is an order for relief under the Code,
triggering a number of rights and obligations, including an automatic stay, which
prevents a wide range of actions against a debtor or its property. Also, with the filing
of a case, an estate is created that includes all assets of a debtor that can become
subject to the claims of creditors.

Nickles and Epstein’s Black Letter Outline on Bankruptcy and Related Law helps law students recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in law school courses. This Black Letter outline can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Coverage includes: Extrajudicial collection devices Judicial debt collection Fraudulent transfers Creditors with special rights Debtor's state law remedies and the Collective Creditor Act Commencement, conversion, and dismissal of a bankruptcy case Stay of collection actions Property of the estate Exemptions A Text Correlation Chart outline is cross-referenced to the leading casebooks on creditors’ rights and bankruptcy.

Regularly cited by the Supreme Court and others, Elements of Bankruptcy provides a comprehensive introduction to the basic principles of bankruptcy law. In addition to covering foundational questions such as the fresh start for individuals, property of the estate, executory contracts, adequate protection, preferences, and fraudulent conveyances, this book also covers cutting-edge issues such as restructuring support agreements, nonconsensual third-party releases, make-whole clauses, carve-outs, trap doors, and backstops. The seventh edition also takes stock of recent developments from the Supreme Court and elsewhere, including such cases as Mission Product Holdings, Jevic, Fulton, and Purdue Pharma.

This audio discussion is designed for students who are about to take their final exam in a bankruptcy course and need help in:
Understanding bankruptcy concepts;
Seeing the relationship between various bankruptcy concepts;
Organizing what they read for class and heard in class;
Anticipating what might be asked on their exam; and
Structuring possible exam answers
Because some professors emphasize business bankruptcy and some professors emphasize consumer bankruptcy, the audio and accompanying material are divided into (1) bankruptcy concepts that will be important in an exam question on business bankruptcy, (2) bankruptcy concepts that will be important in exam questions on consumer bankruptcy and (3) bankruptcy concepts that will be important in all exam questions. Student study time is limited and precious and this division enables them to focus on what their individual professor has focused on.

This third edition of Gilbert’s on Bankruptcy, an up-to-date overview of bankruptcy law that includes coverage of the new subchapter V, the 2022 amendments to the Code that changed the eligibility requirements for Chapter 13, and the Supreme Court’s recent decision in Bartenwerfer, will help you prepare for success in the classroom and on your exam. This study guide begins with a 94-page Capsule Summary, which covers the basics of this complicated subject in brief, and an Approach to Exams, which provides questions to guide your exam preparation for each major topic covered in the study guide. The Capsule Summary and Approach to Exams is followed by a detailed 478-page outline. The Outline contains useful tables comparing key aspects of various chapters of the Code, and several flowcharts designed to help you understand difficult Code requirements, such as the Code’s domicile requirement or its Chapter 7 financial eligibility test. More than 270 examples, many drawn from the bankruptcy case law, are used throughout the text to illustrate how to apply the Code’s complex language to real-world problems. The Capsule Summary, Approach to Exams, and Outline are augmented by over 130 yes/no and true/false short-answer questions, and five multi-part essay questions, which will help you reinforce and test your knowledge. Correct answers—along with insightful explanations—are included for both the short-answer and sample essay questions.

This comprehensive text provides an exhaustive analysis and discussion of every aspect of bankruptcy law, including an overview of bankruptcy; invoking bankruptcy relief (with a very detailed explanation of the means test); the automatic stay; jurisdiction and procedure; property of the estate; trustee's avoiding powers; payment of claims; executory contracts and unexpired leases; exemptions; discharge; reorganization under Chapter 11; debt adjustments under Chapter 13; debt adjustments under Chapter 12; and cross-border cases under chapter 15. The 2005 BAPCPA amendments and the extensive case law thereunder are explained and critiqued. All relevant Supreme Court cases through the 2015 Term are discussed in depth, including, for example, Stern, Wellness, Arkison, Caulkett, Schwab, Ransom, Lanning, Baker Botts, and many more.

This book focuses on the material covered in a typical law school course on Bankruptcy. It covers both business and consumer bankruptcy. The book explains basic bankruptcy concepts and then uses those concepts to make code provisions understandable

Bankruptcy is a complicated subject that covers a lot of ground. Bankruptcy lawyers can be found on Main Street and Wall Street. This efficient and effective guide to Bankruptcy will help you see the big picture. The authors focus on explaining the key concepts or building blocks that apply in any type of bankruptcy case, and then help you see those concepts in action in cases under the different chapters of the Bankruptcy Code, in proceedings ranging from individual consumer debtors in Chapter 7 or 13 to Fortune 500 Corporations in Chapter 11. To make the learning process more bearable, the authors have also infused the book with humor. Each of the authors is nationally-renowned law teacher who has practiced and taught Bankruptcy for many years. One of them is even a former bankruptcy judge. Based on that experience, in this book they have set forth understandable techniques for mastering the law governing bankruptcy law, procedure, and real-world practice (in an exceedingly attractive manner).

Sum & Substance Audio Series provide you with dynamic lectures from gifted law professors whose years of teaching experience enable them to express even the most complex ideas clearly and succinctly. Also provided are exam tips to maximize your performance. These audio lectures are time saving, convenient and effective.