Environmental Law

Amazon Description: The first Earth Day in 1970 marked environmentalism’s coming-of-age in the United States. More than four decades later, does the green movement remain a transformative force in American life? Presenting a new account from a legal perspective, Environment in the Balance interprets a wide range of U.S. Supreme Court decisions, along with social science research and the literature of the movement, to gauge the practical and cultural impact of environmentalism and its future prospects.

Jonathan Z. Cannon demonstrates that from the 1960s onward, the Court’s rulings on such legal issues as federalism, landowners’ rights, standing, and the scope of regulatory authority have reflected deep-seated cultural differences brought out by the mass movement to protect the environment. In the early years, environmentalists won some important victories, such as the Supreme Court’s 1973 decision allowing them to sue against barriers to recycling. But over time the Court has become more skeptical of their claims and more solicitous of values embodied in private property rights, technological mastery and economic growth, and limited government.

Today, facing the looming threat of global warming, environmentalists struggle to break through a cultural stalemate that threatens their goals. Cannon describes the current ferment in the movement, and chronicles efforts to broaden its cultural appeal while staying connected to its historical roots, and to ideas of nature that have been the source of its distinctive energy and purpose.

Amazon Description: This survey of current issues and controversies in environmental policy and management is unique in its thematic mix, broad coverage of key debates and approaches, and in-depth analysis of concepts treated less thoroughly in other texts. The contributing authors, all distinguished scholars or practitioners, offer a comprehensive examination of key topics in environmental governance today, including perspectives from environmental economics, democratic theory, public policy, law, political science, and public administration. Environmental Governance Reconsidered is the first book to integrate these wide-ranging topics and perspectives thematically in one volume.

Many are calling for a change in the bureaucratic, adversarial, technology-based regulatory approach that is the basis for much environmental policy―a move from "rule-based" to "results-based" regulation. Each of the thirteen chapters in Environmental Governance Reconsidered critically examines one aspect of this "second generation" of environmental reform, assesses its promise-versus-performance to date, and points out future challenges and opportunities. The first section of the book, "Reconceptualizing Purpose," discusses the concepts of sustainability, global interdependence, the precautionary principle, and common pool resource theory. The second section, "Reconnecting with Stakeholders," examines deliberative democracy, civic environmentalism, environmental justice, property rights and regulatory takings, and environmental conflict resolution. The final section, "Redefining Administrative Rationality," analyzes devolution, regulatory flexibility, pollution prevention, and third-party environmental management systems auditing. This book will benefit students, scholars, managers, natural resource specialists, policymakers, and reformers and is ideal for class adoption.

With Environmental Law for Biologists, ecologist and lawyer Tristan Kimbrell bridges this gap in legal knowledge. Complete with a concise introduction to environmental law and an appendix describing the most important federal and international statutes and treaties discussed, the book is divided into four broad parts: laws that focus on individual species, like invasive species policies, the Endangered Species Act, and international treaties such as CITES; laws that focus on land, from federal public lands to agricultural regulations and urban planning; laws that focus on water, such as the Clean Water Act; and laws that focus on air, such as the Clean Air Act and international measures meant to mitigate global climate change. Written for working biologists and students alike, this book will be a catalyst for both more effective policy and enhanced research, offering hope for the manifold frictions between science and the law.

The environmental field and its regulations have evolved significantly since Congress passed the first environmental law in 1970, and the Environmental Law Handbook, published just three years later, has been indispensable to students and professionals ever since. The authors provide clear and accessible explanations, expert legal insight into new and evolving regulations, and reliable compliance and management guidance.

Gaba's Texas Environmental Laws Annotated provides environmental law practitioners with a comprehensive and authoritative presentation of Texas statutes relating to environmental matters, including selected provisions from:

Texas Constitution
Agriculture Code
Government Code
Health and Safety Code
Natural Resources Code
Parks and Wildlife Code
Utilities Code
Transportation Code
Water Code
Revised civil statutes
This title also contains:

Commentary and summary of leading cases prepared by Jeffrey Gaba, a recognized authority on state and federal environmental law
Provisions regarding disposal of industrial solid waste in solid waste landfill; oil filter storage, transportation, and processing
Coverage of the regulation of hospital or medical disinfectant emissions, de minimis air contaminants, and voluntary air contaminants emissions reduction permits
Material relating to coastal erosion, commercial surface oil and gas waste disposal facilities, and aquatic vegetation management
A discussion of environmental permitting procedures for water and certification procedures for underground storage tanks.
Publisher's Description

"[This book] identifies the major legal issues raised by hydraulic fracturing, including the transactional, regulatory, and litigation issues that are most relevant to the real estate and environmental law practitioner. In addition, the authors ... discuss the current state of the law relating to hydraulic fracturing while providing ... practical suggestions to lawyers representing clients in real property transactions."

A project of the Environmental & Natural Resources Law Section of the State Bar of Texas.
Includes bibliographical references and index.

This Understanding treatise provides a comprehensive overview of environmental and land use law in the United States. While a major focus of Understanding Environmental Law, Third Edition (2013) is the federal framework of U.S. environmental law, many chapters include coverage of state-specific laws as well. Topics addressed include: The role the United States Constitution plays in protecting the environment; Policy issues affecting environmental law, such as the need to balance economic factors against specific environmental costs; Common law causes of action in the environmental arena; Environmental quality review issues that arise under the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) and state equivalents to NEPA; Air and water pollution laws; Hazardous waste laws and regulations; Endangered species laws including international controls applicable to endangered species; and International laws applicable to environmental issues, including international treaties, global climate changes, and ozone layer protection.