Insurance Law

Lexis Advance's Insurance Law page has links to cases, statutes and legislation, codes and regulations, secondary sources and other materials.

List of Insurance Law secondary sources from Westlaw.

A comprehensive guide for both insurance companies and attorneys who advise businesses of all sizes. Complete with legal analysis based on case law and statutes, and helpful practice tips throughout, the work includes:

• Detailed treatment of many different types of insurance: liability, directors and officers liability, excess, property, financial guaranty, suretyship, fidelity bonds, title, ocean marine, employee benefits, life insurance in business, insurance for environmental claims, and reinsurance
• Risk management, including risk identification, management and control, and the purchase and administration of insurance; insolvency; and taxation issues
• Litigating with an insurance company
• Risk retention alternatives, such as self- insurance and captive insurance
• Numerous annotated insurance policies, keyed to various kinds of coverage and legal issues
• Includes appendices of relevant statutes

This new edition reflects law and practices governing insurance issues today. It offers definitive treatment on practically all types of insurance, including life, property, health and accident, liability and indemnity, automobile, fidelity guarantee, contract guarantee, group, reinsurance, annuities, governmental life and disability, ERISA, and COBRA. Timely topics in the insurance industry are addressed, as well as insurance contracts, risks covered, and representations and warranties. Being newly rewritten and reorganized by Steven Plitt, Daniel Maldonado, and Joshua D. Rogers, who maintain an insurance litigation practice with Kunz, Plitt, Hyland, Demlong and Kleifield in Phoenix, the successor authors are experienced trial attorneys and experts in the insurance field.
Publisher's Description

The authors and editorial staff of the Publisher have prepared and edited forms for Couch on Insurance 3D that will be helpful to the legal professional and insurance industry. These forms are organized into eight distinct Parts:

• Part I The Business of Insurance

• Part II Notice of Claims, Tenders, Demands, and Demands for Appraisals

• Part III Denials

• Part IV Complaints

• Part V Answers and Interrogatories

• Part VI Settlement Agreements, Releases and Judgments

• Part VII Bad Faith and Extra-Contractual Damages

• Part VIII Litigation by Insureds' Against Agents, Brokers and Insurers

n 500 Continues a loose-leaf publication with the same title.
n 520 Life and health insurance law is a treatise covering all aspects of this area of the law. This quick reference is designed for attorneys who handle life or health insurance matters for insurance carriers, policyholders, or claimants. It reviews obligations of each of those parties, as well as agents, at each stage, from application and enrollment through maintenance of coverage and exercise of policy rights to claims administration and review of denials of benefits. It analyzes the impact of contractual provisions, state and federal statutes and regulations, and state and federal court opinions on both common and unusual fact patterns. It also describes procedures for addressing those issues, including interpleader, rescission, and reformation. Publisher's Description

New Appleman Insurance Law Practice Guide is the indispensable research tool that provides step-by-step guidance on each phase of an insurance coverage dispute along with strategies written by expert practitioners that help you win.

Written from policyholder, insurer and judicial perspectives, this unique four-volume set combines savvy procedural guidance and authoritative analysis of the law. The task-based format is designed to fit comfortably into your work flow and guides you through how to analyze an insurance policy, determine the merits of a coverage dispute and then whether and how to successfully arbitrate, mediate, settle, sue, or defend. It helps you understand pertinent procedural rules and strategies as well as the substantive law applicable to all major insurance lines, including new analyses of intellectual property insurance, cyber insurance and personal and advertising injury coverage.

The Law of Liability Insurance focuses on crucial policy provisions that cases in the text were decided upon, including the latest case developments in all jurisdictions. Insurance issues are analyzed from both insurer's and insured's perspectives to give you that extra advantage when preparing your cases. Explains the terms and phrases essential for a general understanding of liability insurance, and discusses injuries to both persons and property.

Includes comprehensive treatment of:

• The principles of liability insurance, including the formation of policies, interpretation of policy language, and the duties imposed by the policy on both insurer and insured
• Specific types of liability insurance policies, including homeowners' policies, general commercial liability policies, and pollution/environmental risk policies (and other types of policies as well)
• The insurer's duty to defend and settle cases in good faith
• Environmental liability, products liability and professional malpractice insurance
• Intellectual property and cybersecurity
• Contribution, subrogation, uninsured motorist coverage, and no-fault insurance

Coverage of insurance law in Texas.

The Insurance Litigation unit of the Texas Practice Guide interprets the requirements of both state and federal law regulating the business of insurance and affecting insurance litigation. It also includes Practice Tips, Examples, Checklists, and Forms to aid the practitioner. Topics covered include insurance contracts, agency, liability, unfair practices, negligence, fraud and subrogation, unfair competition, deceptive trade practices, and warranties. The general principles presented in this text are subject to statutory and court revisions. This book does not constitute specific legal advice and should be relied upon only as a starting point and practice guide.

itle Insurance Law examines transactions, language, clauses, liability, and regulations and provides detailed advice on a complete range of transactions, clauses, liabilities, and administrative regulations. Topics include:


Banks as title insurers
Insured interests
Risks transferred to the insurer
Policy coverage
Exclusions from coverage
Conditions and limitations
Endorsements
Recovery under the title insurance policy
Title insurer's duties
Foreclosures
Bankruptcies
Workouts
Application of antitrust law to title insurers
Environmental liens and title insurance
Issues resulting from FIRREA, the Federal Superfund Act, CERCLA, and state administrative regulations .
Publisher's Description