Insurance Law

From Amazon: A contemporary, easy-to-teach text by high-profile authors, this casebook invites students and teachers to re-imagine the field of Insurance Law. The authors demonstrates the big-picture role of insurance law and policy in American business and society, exploring federal-state regulatory roles in depth as well as the traditional topics covered in casebooks. Insurance Law and Policy: Cases and Materials uses more statutory material than any other casebook, with statutes typically presented through problems. Manageable assignments contain one major case followed by informative notes, questions and a problem.

This Restatement covers the law of contracts in the liability insurance context, liability insurance coverage, and the management of insured liabilities. The text reveals the extent to which the field of liability insurance evolved from its conceptual building blocks, rooted in the contractual agreement between insurer and insured, to address knotty questions of risk allocation governing decisions such as under what circumstances an insurer’s duty to defend its insured is triggered; how to balance an insurer’s right to control the defense with the policyholder’s right to a confidential relationship with counsel; when an insurer must accept a settlement offer from a claimant suing a policyholder; and when a policyholder may settle without insurer approval.

The Texas Annotated Insurance Code contains the complete insurance laws of Texas both the Insurance Code, as revised with legislation from the latest Regular and Called Sessions of the Texas Legislature, and the extant portions of the Insurance Code of 1951.This set also includes case annotations, selected by attorney experts, explanatory commentary, and revisor's notes explaining the purpose of the revision of the insurance laws. Disposition and derivation tables offer valuable assistance in tracking the transition of the former "source" statutes to their new iterations in the Insurance Code.

exas Title Insurance contains analysis of regulatory issues, title insurance risk allocation, title policies, endorsements, and special coverages. Youll find articles, checklists, forms, discussions, and practical advice.

"This comprehensive Understanding treatise can be used as the primary course text or as a supplement to any insurance law casebook. Understanding Insurance Law is designed to make the substance of insurance law accessible to students and general practitioners who are unfamiliar with the subject. For nearly forty years, the previous editions have been widely quoted and cited as authoritative by both federal and state courts. The book organizes insurance law under four major headings. Part A, which considers the question, "What is insurance law?," examines the nature of insurance policies, the industry that sells them, and how legislatures, courts, and agencies regulate them. Part B examines the law relevant to the establishment of the contractual relationship between insurer and insured and the scope of the obligations created. Part C considers issues relevant to the performance of the various duties and obligations in insurance contracts, including issues related to claim presentation in all lines of coverage plus the special obligations and issues that arise in liability insurance. Finally, Part D collects and examines some remaining topics of importance, including group insurance, special issues in automobile insurance, reinsurance, and excess and umbrella coverage.