Conflict of Laws

Legal disputes may touch multiple jurisdictions. Conflict of laws refers to the system of rules for dealing with cross-border issues, including personal jurisdiction, which jurisdiction's laws apply, and whether courts will enforce out-of-forum judgments.

Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Conflict of Laws deals with the resolution of interstate and foreign country private law cases. This outline covers: overview of litigational matters; domestic relations; problems of what law applies in particular types of cases; and issues of federalism.

This title provides an analytical overview of the field of conflicts and explains all major choice-of-law approaches in simple and straightforward text. Separate chapters explore discrete conflicts issues, including personal jurisdiction, recognition of judgments, family law, and state-federal conflicts, including Erie and preemption. It covers the most recent Supreme Court cases on personal jurisdiction and extraterritorial application of federal law, as well as the latest examples of state choice of law approaches. Extensive description and analysis of leading cases make this book an excellent companion to a casebook as well as a resource for practitioners.

This authoritative text covers jurisdiction and interstate and international private litigation in torts, contracts, business planning, family law (marriage, same-sex relationships, property rights, support, child custody), property, succession and estate administration, and the recognition of sister-state and foreign judgments. The text examines in depth the development and current state of approaches to choice of law. It also addresses issues of jurisdiction and applicable law in private litigation in federal court.

Develop perspective on the conflicts of law arena with Borchers’s broad vantage point. Topics covered include issues involving domicile; jurisdiction; adjudication; statute of limitations; foreign law; contract and business cases; torts; "renvoi"; Erie Doctrine; judgments; and family (marriage, dissolution of marriage, property incidents, and custody). Use Conflicts in a Nutshell as an introduction and review tool for students or as a quick refresher and reference tool for lawyers.

The topics covered in this Conflict of Laws outline include domicile, jurisdiction (including notice and opportunity to be heard, minimum contacts, and types of jurisdiction), choice of law (including vested rights approach, most significant relationship approach, and governmental interest analysis), and choice of law in specific substantive areas. Also included are traditional defenses against application of foreign law, constitutional limitations and overriding federal law (including Due Process Clause, Full Faith and Credit Clause, and conflict between state and federal law), and recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments.

This audio lecture on conflict of laws covers domicile; jurisdiction in personam, in rem, and quasi in rem; court competence; forum non conveniens; and choice of law. It also discusses foreign causes of action, territorial approach to choice/tort and contract, escape devices, most significant relationship, governmental interest analysis, recognition of judgments, foreign country judgments, and domestic judgments/full faith and credit. This lecture also explains review of judgments, modifiable judgments, defenses to recognition and enforcement, federal/state (Erie) problems, and constitutional limits on choice of law.

This Concise Hornbook guides students through the complex concepts and principles underlying the law of domestic and international conflicts. The book is an indispensable aid to students and practitioners seeking to better understand the basic principles of choice of law, recognition of judgments, and the law applied in federal courts, as well as more specific developments concerning conflicts in family law, cyberspace, and international transactions.

This convenient and effective audio lecture examines the conflict of laws in a clear, succinct, timesaving format. It includes informed exam tips to maximize your performance. Section titles discuss, amongst others: Definition, History and Sources of Law, Domicile, Jurisdiction, Incidental Issues/Jurisdiction, Notice, Transfer/Federal Courts, Choice of Law-In General, Escape Devices, Governmental Interest Analysis/Tort, Choice of Laws/Contract, Statutes of Fraud, Usury, Worker's Compensation Awards, Property, Trusts and Estates, Domestic Relations Law, Recognition of Judgments, Defenses, Enforcement, and Review of Judgments.

This product provides clear and concise explanations of the issues surrounding the conflict of laws. The text provides an analytical and exam approach accompanied by typical questions found on a conflict of laws exam. It includes multiple-choice questions and answers, practice essay questions and model answers, and Case Squibs.