Administrative Law

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) hosts and facilitates the creation of CALI Lessons, a library of over 950 interactive legal tutorials written by law professors and geared towards law students. CALI is a 501(c)(3) non-profit consortium of law schools, law libraries and related organizations. Almost every United States law school is a member of CALI and they make up the bulk of our membership.

This course deals with the exercise of power by government agencies. Particular attention is paid to statutory and constitutional limitations on agency action.

cing Administrative Law will be useful to students preparing for exams in both Administrative Law and Leg/Reg courses. The book uses flowchart-style checklists to show students how to analyze administrative law exam questions―in ways that are both efficient and effective (and which do not generally match the sequencing of topics in most admin law courses). For example, students should always begin with a single baseline query when answering an admin law exam question: “Does this agency action involve rulemaking or adjudication?” As with all the Acing books, each chapter begins with a brief review of the important rules and concepts that govern a particular area of administrative law. The review material is followed by a flowchart that provides students with a clear roadmap for answering exam questions. Each chapter includes practice problems with solutions illustrating how to use the flowchart to analyze specific issues. The book concludes with a comprehensive flowchart and a practice problem, so that students can see how all the parts fit together.

This treatise sets forth a comprehensive analysis of administrative law in the United States.

This book offers a concise, knowledgeable guide to the laws governing administrative agencies. In straightforward, readable prose, the authors not only summarize the dominant statutes and case law in the area, but also discuss informal administrative processes and the background realities of the regulatory state. Students can use the book as a complement to any major casebook, and practitioners will also find it an excellent brief introduction to this often confusing subject.

This product is a comprehensive outline for law school study of Administrative Law, including capsule summary, tips for exam-taking, and review questions. Topics covered include separation of powers and controls over agencies, constitutional right to hearing, and adjudication under the Administrative Procedure Act. It also covers formal adjudication, adjudicatory decision makers, bias, improper influences, ex parte communications, familiarity with the record, res judicata, rulemaking procedures, obtaining information, scope of judicial review, reviewability of agency decisions, standing to seek judicial review, and timing.

Funk's High Court Case Summaries on Administrative Law, 5th contains well-prepared briefs for each major case in Funk's casebook on Administrative Law. High Court briefs are written to present the essential facts, issue, decision and rationale for each case in a clear, concise manner. While prepared briefs can never substitute for the insight gained by actually reading a case, these briefs will help readers to identify, understand, and absorb the core "take away" knowledge from each case. Moreover, these briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis, which provides extra tips and contextual background about each case, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed throughout the casebook. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases. Finally, to enhance the reader's recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays an entertaining visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.

This title contains briefs for each major case in Lawson's casebook on Administrative Law. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases. Finally, to enhance your recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays a visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.

This audio lecture features Professor Patrick J. Borchers condensing administrative law into one lecture that includes law, hypotheticals, and exam tips. It includes classification of agencies, adjudicative and investigative action, rule making power, delegation doctrine, control by the executive, appointment and removal, and the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Also discussed are rule making procedure, adjudicative procedure, trial type hearings, the powers of administrative law judges, constitutional limits on agency action, and judicial review issues. This lecture clearly explains statutory limitations on judicial review, standing, exhaustion of administrative remedies, and the scope of judicial review.

Pierce's Administrative Law discusses and analyzes principal concepts of administrative law and process, including: The political and legal nature of administrative law Legislative control of administrative discretion Executive control of administrative discretion Judicial control of agency discretion (threshold issues, procedural issues, substantive issues) Access to private and public information

his efficient and concise Guide explains complex Administrative Law concepts in accessible language without sacrificing the nuance that distinguishes a superior exam performance from an average one. It follows a logical sequence of topics used by many professors in their classes, starting with the constitutional foundations of the administrative state, continuing through the procedural requirements for agency rulemaking and adjudication, then the rules governing judicial review of agency action, and concluding with agency control over information.

The Guide’s treatment of each major topic concludes with “The Takeaway”: a set of bullet points that succinctly summarizes the main issues that topic addresses. In turn, each topic is broken down into chapters, each of which concluding with “The Short Version”: a very short statement of the basic lessons that chapter teaches. These summaries provide quick and easy access to the main points of administrative law, to assist the student preparing both for each class session and for the final exam. This Guide thus can help students at all stages of their encounter with Administrative Law, from the very first day of the class to the night before the final exam.

Essay after essay in this fascinating book explores the statutory and historical setting of the cases discussed, rather than mere doctrine, examining in detail lawyers' judgments and tactics. Many use recently revealed papers of Supreme Court Justices to discuss often surprising elements of the decision by the Court. Students can learn a good deal about the handling of these disputes at the administrative level, before they ever get to court -- a perspective essential to understanding the field, but hard to pick up from the reported cases. Attention is paid to the ways in which many of these decisions affected future developments, with primary focus on context and on understanding the ways in which administrative disputes develop, and the roles that lawyers play in developing them.

Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. This outline covers: Rulemaking, Adjudications, Choice of Procedures and Nonlegislative Rules, The Availability of Judicial Review, Inspections, Reports & Subpoenas, Agency Structure, Public Access to Agency Processes, and Attorney's Fees.

This book provides an accessible, yet sophisticated treatment of the essential principles of administrative law. Topics covered include a history of the American administrative state; theories of agency behavior; separation of powers and procedural due process, as they are implicated by the administrative process; the procedural framework of the Administrative Procedure Act; formal adjudicatory procedure; informal rulemaking procedure; and the availability, timing, and scope of judicial review. The book includes charts and diagrams that assist the reader in visualizing the major elements of the administrative process.