Administrative Law

From Amazon.com: "The most trusted name in law school outlines, Emanuel Law Outlines support your class preparation, provide reference for your outline creation, and supply a comprehensive breakdown of topic matter for your entire study process. Created by Steven Emanuel, these course outlines have been relied on by generations of law students. Each title includes both capsule and detailed versions of the critical issues and key topics you must know to master the course. Also included are exam questions with model answers, an alpha-list of cases, and a cross reference table of cases for all of the leading casebooks."

COURSE BOOK: This popular casebook has a unique approach to focusing on real problems and real administrative practice. The latest Supreme Court cases and the hottest issues are discussed. The new edition retains its distinctive characteristics of using problems as the primary pedagogical tool, including problems that do not involve courts; raising the ethical issues peculiar to government lawyers; and orienting the course around administrative law practice, rather than theory. While theory is not ignored, it arises out of the crucible of reality-based problems, providing a basis for students to appreciate the theory.

A Blackletter Statement of Federal Administrative Law, 2nd Edition has not only been updated, but also is better organized and more consistent in style and substance. This concise, up-to-date book articulates this important body of law with sufficient clarity and felicity that practitioners can effectively function within it.

Following established E&E format, Administrative Law is comprehensive study tool for all of the basic issues and topics of Administrative Law. Written in clear, accessible prose, with compelling, real-world examples, this study guide is well-organized and has a modular chapter design that complements any course structure.

The Fourth Edition has been updated to include recent Supreme Court decisions on The Freedom of Information Act, separation of powers and reviewability. Hallmark features of Administrative Law: Examples and Explanations:

• Examples and explanations focus on vivid, real-world examples and essential principles and practices
• Distinguished authors
• Emphasis on federal administrative law, consistent with the approach of most major casebooks
• Clear, accessible writing
• Modular chapter organization adapts to any course
• Big-picture overviews of essential topics
• Offers clarifying detail for understanding and applying principles
• Thorough coverage of the Administrative Procedure Act, as well as other key statutes and judicial opinions
• Covers standard major cases, including Chevron v. NRDC, United States v. Mead, Hearst v. NLRB, and Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Corp. v. NRDC

Revised and updated, this treatise includes important change and developments in the law, as well as extensive footnotes expanded to give more depth and understanding to issues that require more complex explanations. This handbook is perfect to assist government and private counsel engaged in administrative adjudication under the Administrative Procedure Act (APA).

As procedures governing the rulemaking process have proliferated since the Administrative Procedure Act was enacted, the potential procedural pitfalls have multiplied. This 5th edition brings the Guide up-to-date with respect to recent cases and changes introduced during the 2nd term of Bush II Administration and the first 3 years of the Obama Administration.

• Offers a full-length study of the structure and organization of federal independent regulatory agencies in the US
• Focuses on traditional multi-member independent agencies, such as the SEC, FCC, FTC, and many others
• Compares US with EU and certain UK independent agencies to offer a unique comparative perspective
• Describes the powers and procedures of the agencies, with each supplemented by a selective bibliography of pertinent materials

Texas Administrative Practice and Procedure offers valuable guidance on this complex, ever-changing subject. Since the adoption of the Texas Administrative Procedure Act in 1976, legal practitioners have a reliable reference using Texas Administrative Practice and Procedure on all aspects of administrative procedure. This work also presents excellent coverage of substantive and procedural challenges to agency action.

You'll find expert research on contested cases from any point in the process: prehearing to hearing, post-hearing to judicial review. A one-stop authoritative source offering a wealth of information on:

• Rulemaking procedures
• Procedural and constitutional challenges during judicial review
• Scope of agency adjudicative power
• Impact of constitutional procedure due process on agency decision-making
• Analysis of what should be considered when preparing a contested case proceeding, properly preserving error for appeal, or refining an appeal

This Understanding treatise is designed to help the reader grasp the fundamental concepts of administrative law. Understanding Administrative Law concentrates on the process of administrative decisionmaking but also deals with the substantive law of agencies when appropriate. As students progress through the course and later enter practice, they will find that substance and procedure become more and more intertwined and, in many instances, become almost inextricable. An awareness that there is no bright line between substance and procedure, particularly in the context of an administrative agency, is especially helpful to a thorough understanding of the subject.

A good deal of the material in this book consists of recommendations and processes to identify administrative problems and mechanisms for organizing a reader’s thinking when the problem is identified. Understanding Administrative Law highlights the manner in which a client’s problem moves through the typical agency and the manner in which a lawyer copes with the various problems and issues encountered in representing clients before administrative agencies. In addition, this book contains a significant amount of material on trends in administrative law such as deregulation and regulatory reform. The Fifth Edition includes comprehensive references to recent cases and law review articles for readers who wish additional depth in any of the topics covered.