Contracts

Revised and updated to 2015, the fifth edition of Contracting Law continues the clear explanations of contract doctrine, engaging cases, and thought-provoking cultural and historical materials that have made this casebook a favorite of students and professors. Students and faculty appreciate the fact that no separate statutory supplement is necessary. Selected provisions from the Restatement Second of Contracts and the Uniform Commercial Code are included in the casebook as appendices. The revised Student Workbook (purchased separately) is updated to complement the fifth edition with flow charts, vocabulary lists, problems and structured exercises to help students understand legal doctrines, case briefing, and synthesis. Students can use the workbook independently or exercises can be used in class discussions.

Every chapter in this innovative casebook places students in roles as practitioners handling simulated law practice problems; provides context in the form of an overview of the law, similar to that which an attorney would read before reading cases in a new subject area; includes questions designed to encourage students to find the applicable statutes and cases on point in the state where the student is planning to practice law; includes exercises, visual aids, and case reading scaffolds, designed to engage students with a wide range of learning styles; and ends with professionalism questions addressing ethical and professional identity questions suggested by the materials in the chapter.

This handsome 700 page paperback volume brings to you the full richness of these primary sources of the law of contracts. Unlike all other Contracts supplements, this text provides 100% of the Restatement 2d Comments and Illustrations. UCC Article 2 (1995) is also reprinted including all of the Official Comments - plus the relevant sections from UCC Articles 1 and 9.
Professor James Byrne, a contracts professor at George Mason University School of Law, compiled and edited this supplement to use when teaching Contracts. While other supplements contain redacted portions of the Restatement 2d, Professor Byrne found that the Comments and Illustrations clearly demonstrated the meanings of the Restatement rules and are absolutely necessary in the proper understanding and application of these rules. No other statutory supplement available for the study of Contracts contains in one volume the ENTIRE Restatement 2d - Text, Comments and Illustrations - along with the UCC Article 2 and relevant UCC Articles 1 and 9 sections as well as the CISG.

From Amazon: An eagerly anticipated second edition of this established and highly regarded text teaches the key practice skill of contract drafting, with emphasis on how to incorporate the business deal into the contract and add value to the client's deal.

From the publisher's website: "The Sixth Edition expands and refines the discussion of standard and electronic contracts. The text places greater emphasis on standard arbitration and forum selection clauses, which have been frequently challenged in recent cases. References to the failed 2003 revisions of Article 2 are brief and selective. The Sixth Edition presents updated text as well as new examples and explanations. Many new cases with interesting facts and discussion are used to illustrate text and form the basis of examples and explanations.

Features:

Blum is highly regarded for writing and teaching skills that help first-year students understand difficult concepts
diagrams provide useful visual aids for remembering key points
unique, time-tested E&E pedagogy
combines text with comprehensive examples, explanations, and questions
tests student comprehension
provides practice in applying information to fact patterns
carefully-written questions
include a variety of issues in one fact situation
replicate law school or bar exams
direct explanatory text specifically geared to first-year students
coverage of UCC Article 2 throughout the book
explores electronic contracting
Thoroughly updated, the revised Sixth Edition:

expands and refines the discussion of standard and electronic contracts
places greater emphasis on standard arbitration and forum selection clauses (frequently challenged in recent cases)
includes brief and selective references to the failed 2003 revisions of UCC Article 2
introduces new examples and explanations
explores many new cases with interesting facts and discussion
illustrate the text
form the basis of examples and explanations"

From the publisher's website: "The most trusted name in law school outlines, Emanuel® Law Outlines support your class preparation, provide reference for your outline creation, and supply a comprehensive breakdown of topic matter for your entire study process. Ever since Steve Emanuel wrote the first version while a law school student at Harvard, Emanuel® Law Outlines have been relied on by generations of law students. Each title includes both capsule and detailed outline-format explanations and discussions of the critical issues, key topics, and cases you must know to master the course. Also included are exam questions with model answers, an alphabetical list of cases, and a table correlating the Emanuel® Law Outline to the leading casebooks."

From the publisher's website:"This student-friendly study guide offers a clear, concise, and complete explanation of contract law through skillful use of multiple-choice questions. Addressing all topics covered in standard first-year contract courses—and more-- it provides an expository review of key points of law and illustrative scenarios, followed by probing multiple-choice questions. Systematically, step by step, all possible answers are deconstructed through careful explanation and analysis, leading students through the logic of why the correct answer was correct and, importantly, why the others were not. Important test-taking techniques and tactics receive thorough coverage throughout the text, making The Glannon Guide to Contracts an invaluable aid for first-year students trying to navigate the complexities of contract law.

Key New Features

This book leads you exhaustively through all issues covered in every first-year contracts course.
The questions are of the sort that students will encounter on tests in the typical Contracts course, and on the bar exam as well.
Detailed explanatory analyses help students answer their questions and resolve potential misunderstandings.
Well-written, with a light, readable tone and realistic examples.
A thorough, expository review of the key points of law precede all questions and prepares students to answer and learn from the multiple choice questions it incorporates.
All answers are deconstructed through clear, elaborate analyses showing why the right answer is right and the wrong answers are wrong.
Each chapter concludes with a “Closer,” a particularly challenging question that encourages students to push their mastery of the topic to a more sophisticated level.
“Closing Closers” appear in the book’s final chapter, cumulatively addressing all concepts covered in the text."

From the publisher's website: "The new Second Edition of Questions & Answers: Contracts contains entirely new questions. Understand better what you’re learning in Contracts class by applying concepts as you learn them. Prepare more effectively for exams and the bar exam. This study guide includes 168 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 40 questions comprising a comprehensive “practice exam.”

For each multiple-choice question, Professor Burnham provides a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. For these questions, Professor Burnham provides a thoughtful, comprehensive, yet brief model answer."

Often cited by the courts, Restatement of the Law of Contracts constitutes a thorough revision and updating of the original, out-of-print 1932 first edition. It embodies additions inspired by the Uniform Commercial Code and improves the blackletter formulations by altering the order or scope of topics to enhance clarity or reduce redundancy.
Many parts have been redrafted in the interests of simplification, precision, or refinement of analysis. Tables list citations of court cases, statutes, and other authorities included in the Restatement of the Law.

Selections from the Restatement (Second) and Uniform Commercial Code for First-Year Contracts: Statutory Supplement

Contract Law presents a broad overview of Texas contract law, from formation to remedies for breach, and examines: Formation; Problems Of Formation; Illegality; The Writing Requirement: The Statute Of Frauds; Parties Outside The Contract; Contorts; Excuses For Nonperformance; Interpretation; Breach; Remedies; Discharge; Table of Laws and Rules; Table of Cases; Index.

Understanding Contracts was written with the understanding that Contracts will be one of the most challenging courses first-year law students will take. It explains how key concepts apply in several recurring basic fact patterns. It then builds on those fact patterns to explain how the law is more difficult to apply in business transactions with more complex facts. A key feature of Understanding Contracts, that is not found in other similar books, is its conscious incorporation of basic explanations of the common business practices to which the law of contracts applies. The feature helps students, many of whom have not had any background in the business world, understand contract law in the business settings in which it frequently applies. The book also provides detailed topic headings that students can use to develop their own comprehensive course outline.