Civil Procedure

Lexis+ links to treatises, guides and jurisprudence on Civil Procedure

Comprehensive and authoritative coverage of all aspects of federal civil, criminal and appellate procedure, including rules of civil, criminal, and appellate procedure, rules of evidence, the federal judicial system, jurisdiction of all federal courts, venue, removal of cases, res judicata, relation of state and federal courts, multidistrict litigation, and more. Provides extensive analysis of each rule as interpreted and applied by the federal courts and affected by related statutes and rules. Includes official forms adopted with the rules. Contains numerous tables and couples key words, ideas, and legal concepts to index and cited decisions, statutes, and other relevant materials.

In this encyclopedic treatment of federal procedure in traditional courts, specialized courts, and administrative agencies, the chapters fall under two categories, core coverage chapters and topical chapters. Core coverage chapters deal with the general principles of procedure in the Federal District Courts, the Courts of Appeals, and the Supreme Court. Topical chapters show the application of general and specific procedural rules to a particular kind of action or proceeding, such as a Civil Rights action.

McDonald & Carlson Texas Civil Practice is written in consultation with leading Texas civil procedure experts and is the Texas civil procedure text most often cited by appellate court judges. The text offers in-depth analysis of:

• Jurisdiction
• Venue
• Pleadings
• Citation
• Discovery
• Pretrial motions
• Jury charge
• Postverdict motions
• Judgment
• Appeals
• Mandamus
• DWOPs
• Summary judgment appeals
• Writ of error appeals

Moore's Federal Practice is the backbone of any federal litigator's library. Comprehensive and authoritative, Moore's is written by the judges, lawyers, and professors who write and amend the Federal Rules, and is LexisNexis Matthew Bender's flagship treatise on federal civil, criminal, appellate, and admiralty procedure.

The first edition of this venerable work was written by the late Professor James William Moore, one of the original drafters of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, in 1938. From its initial publication, Moore's instantly became, and remains today, the standard reference work on federal court procedure and has been cited thousands of times in federal court decisions.

This latest edition represents a complete overhaul of the classic work, authored by over 50 distinguished federal judges, law professors, and practitioners, including many who, like Professor Moore, have been directly involved in the federal rulemaking process. Moore's 34 volumes include the full text of the federal rules along with extensive commentary and analysis of the rules and cases interpreting the rules.

O’Connor’s Federal Rules Civil Trials provides clear, detailed explanations of procedure with strategies and practice tips for each phase of litigation. The commentary is written and edited by experienced practitioners and backed by thousands of citations. Each new edition is fully revised to reflect all the latest changes in the law.

The book also provides the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Evidence, and Appellate Procedure; hundreds of case annotations — quotations from recent, relevant caselaw — that help explain how the courts interpret the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and Evidence; the most relevant provisions from title 28 of the United States Code; Advisory Committee notes on all the key rule amendments; and charts and timetables that quickly summarize complicated rules and deadlines.

O’Connor’s Texas Rules Civil Trials provides clear, detailed explanations of procedure with strategies and practice tips for each phase of litigation. The commentary is written and edited by experienced practitioners and backed by thousands of citations.

Each new edition is fully revised to reflect all the latest changes in the law.

Texas Civil Trial and Appellate Procedure offers a solid foundation for understanding the law and succeeding in the courtroom. Whether engaged in civil trial or appellate practice, attorneys benefit from this set's unmatched attention to detail and encyclopedic scope covering everything from analyses of court rules, statutes and cases to the underlying laws governing civil and appellate procedure.

With this single source reference designed specifically for civil practitioners, you will increase your effectiveness and productivity. Comprehensive, authoritative, and up-to-date, Texas Civil Trial Guide will help you admit the evidence you need, exclude your opponent's evidence, and avoid critical mistakes. Coverage includes:

• Presenting and opposing motions in limine, using affidavits as foundations for documentary evidence
• Assertion of privileges, admission of testimony, expert opinions, and documentary evidence, and effective cross-examination
• Leading case authorities
• Procedural guidance concerning trial settings, continuances, special exceptions and pleadings, amendments, oral depositions, recusal motions, consolidation and severance, jury selction, motions for judgment, and closing argument.

Since it was first published in 1977, Texas Litigation Guide has become an indispensable resource for Texas litigators. Dorsaneo, Texas Litigation Guide gives you the value of superior content and coverage. The guide is cited frequently by Texas courts and updated four times per year, while the competing publication from West is updated only once per year. This step-by-step guide also offers a comprehensive collection of litigation forms--from letters and notices to discovery requests, motions, petitions and appellate forms--to save you hours of time preparing pleadings, motions, petitions, and other forms.

• Concise, yet authoritative, analysis of Texas law, cited regularly by Texas courts
• Step-by-step procedural and drafting guides
• Hundreds of forms covering virtually any document needed for litigation in Texas courts

How to guide for Texas practitioners. There are several volumes within the Texas Practice Guide that touch upon civil procedure. Some examples include: Civil Pretrial, Civil Trial, Civil Appeals, and Discovery.

The Texas Practice Series provides comprehensive coverage of 28 areas of Texas law in a single source. Some of the available titles in the series include Guide to the Texas Rules of Evidence, Texas Consumer Law Handbook, Handbook of Texas Family Law, Criminal Practice and Procedure, and Handbook on Texas Discovery Practice. Each title includes an analysis, explanation of the law, and practice information. Many of the volumes discuss the procedure involved in handling cases that fall in the subject of the volume.