Civil Procedure

From the publisher's website: "Emanuel CrunchTime provides the right information, in the right format, at the right time to prepare for exams. Based on the trusted Emanuel Law Outlines developed by a Harvard law student (while he was in law school), Emanuel CrunchTime skillfully employs flow charts so you can walk step-by-step through the major principles and topics in the course in a pattern that can be used to analyze any exam question. Abundant tips and ample review features help you approach the final with confidence. The Capsule Summary allows you to quickly review key concepts, and you can test your knowledge by working through the many Short-Answer Q&A s. CrunchTime lets you practice your essay exam skills as well. Exams Tips based on hundreds of past law school and bar exam questions recap the legal issues commonly tested. CrunchTime study aids structure the maximum amount of information you can learn in the last week before exams."

From the publisher's website: "Emanuel Law Outlines were developed while Steve Emanuel was a student at Harvard Law and were the first to approach each course from the point of view of the student. Invaluable for use throughout your course and again at exam time, Emanuel Law Outlines are well-correlated to all major casebooks to help you to create your own outlines. Sophisticated yet easy to understand, each guide includes both capsule and detailed explanations of critical issues, topics, and black letter law you must know to master the course. Quiz Yourself Q&As, Essay Q&As, and Exam Tips give you ample opportunity to test your knowledge throughout the semester and leading up to the exam. Every title in the series is frequently updated and reviewed against new developments and recent cases covered in the leading casebooks. Emanuel Law Outlines provide a comprehensive breakdown of the law, more sweeping than most, for your entire study process."

• Each problem/test question is separated into components so students can easily identify the key concepts in Civil Procedure and learn how to apply those concepts in a sophisticated manner on law exams.
• A self-evaluation section identifies which issues are most often missed on exams, allowing students to master the answers to challenging test questions.
• Helps students identify the deficiencies in their own answers, allowing them to refine their writing and provide the answers law professors expect on Civil Procedure exams.
• Updates readers with recent changes to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure passed in 2011, including the Federal Courts Jurisdictions and Venue Clarification Act of 2011.
• Coaches students on how to incorporate new paradigm cases, including Wal-Mart, Goodyear, and MacIntyre.

Information from publisher's website: "This study guide uses over 300 multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your students' knowledge of the nature and operation of the rules that govern procedure in the federal courts in the United States. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer. Q & A: Civil Procedure also includes a comprehensive topical index."

From the publisher's website: "The Seventh Edition incorporates changes to the venue and removal statutes and addresses the Supreme Court’s recent personal jurisdiction decisions: Goodyear DunlopTires Operations, S.A. v. Brown and J. McIntyre Machinery Ltd. v. Nicastro. Other revisions reflect the Supreme Court’s decision in Hertz Corp. v. Friend on the meaning of “principal place of business” and summary judgment in light of amendments to FRCP 56.

Features:

Glannon’s excellent reputation as best-selling author
Civil Procedure E&E
Torts E&E
The Glannon Guide to Civil Procedure ― the first book in series
uniquely entertaining style teaches and engages students
covers all aspects of the first-year Civil Procedure course including the difficult areas of res judicata, collateral estoppel, and personal and subject matter jurisdiction
accessible introductions and explanations
offers a proven pedagogy in the popular, effective examples-and-explanations format
examples progress gradually from simple to challenging and build students' confidence
plenty of visual aids―diagrams, charts, and documents
Thoroughly updated, the revised Seventh Edition presents:

changes to the venue and removal statutes
Supreme Court’s recent personal jurisdiction decisions, Goodyear DunlopTires Operations, S.A. v. Brown and J. McIntyre Machinery Ltd. v. Nicastro
Supreme Court’s decision in Hertz Corp. v. Friend on the meaning of “principal place of business”
revisions to summary judgment in light of amendments to FRCP 56"

This full-color book of federal civil procedure logic maps, which supports any classroom text, is designed to provide visual aids, including graphic and color cues, in the understanding and application of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and related federal procedural concepts. Visual references show the interplay among rules and subparts of rules, the U.S. Constitution, and core provisions of the United States Code. In many maps, applicable caselaw is also highlighted and summarized. In addition to more than 120 full-color maps, the book also contains an appendix which includes the complete Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and selected sections of the United States Code (all current as of Summer 2012, including the integrated provisions of the Federal Courts Jurisdiction and Venue Clarification Act, which took effect in early 2012). The visual format provides a comprehensive overview, allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.

From the publisher's website: "The proven Glannon Guide is a user-friendly study aid to use throughout the semester as a great supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Topics are broken down into manageable pieces and are explained in a conversational tone. Chapters are interspersed with hypotheticals like those posed in the classroom that include analysis of answers to ensure thorough understanding. Additionally, The Closer questions pose sophisticated hypotheticals at the end of each chapter to present cumulative review of earlier topics. More like classroom experiences, the Glannon Guide provides you with straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes the material stick."

Study anytime, anywhere! Emanuel Law in a Flash comprehensive flash cards are ideal for reviewing legal topics point by point. Each card has a concise question on one side and an accurate answer on the reverse side. These cards are the only product of their kind.

Topics Include: Part I. Jurisdiction in General – Subject Matter Jurisdiction – Jurisdiction over the Parties/General – Jurisdiction over the Parties/ In Personam Jurisdiction – Jurisdiction over the Parties/ In Rem Jurisdiction – Jurisdiction over the Parties/Quasi In Rem Jurisdiction – Jurisdiction/Services of Process – Jurisdiction/Notice and Opportunity to be Heard – Jurisdiction/Venue – Jurisdiction/Removal – Ascertaining the Governing Law: The Erie Doctrine – Pleadings -- Part 2. Real Party in Interest – Joinder of Parties – Joinder of Claims – Supplemental Jurisdiction – Counterclaims – Cross-claims – Impleader – Class Actions – Intervention – Interpleader – Pretrial Conference – Scope of Discovery – Discovery Devices – Privileges & Immunities – Pretrial Motions – Dismissal – Jury Trials and Verdicts – Post-Trial Motions/ General Principles – Post-Trial Motions/ Directed Verdict Motions – Post Trial Motions / JNOV Motions – Pot-Trial Motions / New Trial Motions – Post-Trial Motions / Motions for Relief from Judgment – Former Adjudication / General Principle -- Former Adjudication/ Res Judicata -- Former Adjudication/ Collateral Estoppel -- Former Adjudication / Who’s Bound Appeals

Mastering Civil Procedure provides a thorough and practical guide to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure as well as related doctrines, including personal jurisdiction, subject matter jurisdiction, and claim and issue preclusion. Not only does the book provide a concise and clear road map to civil procedure, it is designed to complement leading civil procedure case books by discussing many of the principal cases from those books. The book benefits from having been written by a civil procedure professor who, prior to teaching, litigated civil lawsuits in federal courts for 14 years with both large and small law firms.

This updated edition not only addresses all of the latest amendments to the rules and updates to most major casebooks, but has also been expanded to include numerous flowcharts and other visual aids to help readers master civil procedure.

This multiple-choice exam practice book is designed for (a) bar exam takers, who are preparing to take the MBE multiple-choice bar exam (Civil Procedure is a new testing topic added to the MBE multiple-choice bar exam as of February 2015), and (b) 1L law students, who are preparing to take their course examinations. The book offers practical, easy-to-follow advice on multiple-choice exam-taking strategies, clear suggestions on effective multiple-choice practicing techniques, and a lengthy set of Civil Procedure multiple-choice practice questions with answers and explanations (designed to simulate MBE-style questions). Tables help users decode the tested-topic for each practice question.

From the publisher's website: "Of all the first-year subjects, Civil Procedure is the most foreign to students’ experience. This book will demystify Civil Procedure. It will explain the doctrine and make it easy to remember. It includes numerous tips for civil procedure exams (as well as regarding law school exams generally). Before you know it, you’ll be part of the hip crowd – the Civ Pro crowd."

Essays and multiple choice questions with answers.