Civil Procedure

Civil Procedure in Focus uses a combination of accessible explanatory text, cases, and other primary legal sources to teach civil procedure, and then provides opportunities to apply the law to multiple sets of facts in every chapter. Instead of using the “hide the ball” approach of traditional casebooks, selected cases illustrate key changes in the law and show how courts develop and apply doctrine. The approachable manner of this casebook provides a comfortable experiential environment that is essential to student success.
With this new text, students apply concepts to real-world scenarios. Simply knowing the facts of a benchmark case is not enough: knowing how to apply the doctrine in a case to a different set of facts enhances a student’s ability to succeed after law school. Amazon Description.

From the publisher's website: "Emanuel CrunchTime provides the right information, in the right format, at the right time to prepare for exams. Based on the trusted Emanuel Law Outlines developed by a Harvard law student (while he was in law school), Emanuel CrunchTime skillfully employs flow charts so you can walk step-by-step through the major principles and topics in the course in a pattern that can be used to analyze any exam question. Abundant tips and ample review features help you approach the final with confidence. The Capsule Summary allows you to quickly review key concepts, and you can test your knowledge by working through the many Short-Answer Q&A s. CrunchTime lets you practice your essay exam skills as well. Exams Tips based on hundreds of past law school and bar exam questions recap the legal issues commonly tested. CrunchTime study aids structure the maximum amount of information you can learn in the last week before exams."

Civil Procedure: Rules, Statutes, and Other Materials, 2020 Supplement

This edition of The Rules of Civil Procedure places the Rules in full text in Part 1, followed in Part 2 by selected Advisory Committee Notes. This arrangement makes the most frequently used material (the Rules themselves) readily available for classroom use and study. Also included in this volume are selected Rules of Appellate Procedure (Part 3), the U.S. Constitution (Part 4), selected federal statutes governing courts and matters of jurisdiction (Part 5), the Rules of Evidence (Part 6), and new notes and cases relating to Civil Procedure (Part 7). Publisher's Description

From the back of the book: "Complementing the authors’ innovative and accessible casebook, Civil Procedure: Rules, Statutes, and Other Materials is a valuable supplement for any Civil Procedure course, with everything you need to ensure that your teaching materials are well-rounded and current, including the amendments effective December 1, 2015.

Civil Procedure: Rules, Statutes, and Other Materials, 2016, features: The United States Constitution, The Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Selected Federal Statutes, Sample Local Rules, Local Rules of the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois, Sample Federal District Judge Standing Order, Standing Order of Judge Kimba Wood of the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York, Selected Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Selected Federal Rules of Evidence."

Complementing the authors’ innovative and accessible casebook, Civil Procedure: Rules, Statutes, and Other Materials is a valuable supplement for any Civil Procedure course, with everything you need to ensure that your teaching materials are well-rounded and current.

Civil Procedure: Rules, Statutes, and Other Materials, 2015, features: The United States Constitution, The Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Selected Federal Statutes, Sample Local Rules, Local Rules of the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois, Sample Federal District Judge Standing Order, Standing Order of Judge Kimba Wood of the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York, Selected Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Selected Federal Rules of Evidence, Proposed Amendments to Federal Rules of Civil Procedure (Effective December 1, 2015, unless otherwise provided by law)

Complementing the authors' innovative and accessible casebook, Civil Procedure: Rules, Statutes, and Other Materials is a valuable supplement for any Civil Procedure course, with everything you need to ensure that your teaching materials are well-rounded and current.

Civil Procedure: Rules, Statutes, and Other Materials, 2014, features:The United States Constitution; The Federal Rules of Civil Procedure; Selected Federal Statutes
Sample Local Rules; Local Rules of the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois; Sample Federal District Judge Standing Order
Standing Order of Judge Kimba Wood of the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York; Selected Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure
Selected Federal Rules of Evidence

his book is a collaborative effort by fourteen law-school professors to provide a deeper understanding of the great civil procedure cases. The professors each wrote a short chapter on one of the cases, retelling the cases in their own voice and by their own method. Each chapter has a fairly consistent structure, with separate sections on: social and legal background of the case; factual background of the case; lower court proceedings in the case; final appellate disposition, including issues, decisions, reasons, and separate opinions; factual postscript to the case; immediate impact of the case on the development of the law (why the case is famous and when it became so); and continuing importance of the case today (why it is still a leading case)

A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course.

Comprehensive and authoritative coverage of all aspects of federal civil, criminal and appellate procedure, including rules of civil, criminal, and appellate procedure, rules of evidence, the federal judicial system, jurisdiction of all federal courts, venue, removal of cases, res judicata, relation of state and federal courts, multidistrict litigation, and more. Provides extensive analysis of each rule as interpreted and applied by the federal courts and affected by related statutes and rules. Includes official forms adopted with the rules. Contains numerous tables and couples key words, ideas, and legal concepts to index and cited decisions, statutes, and other relevant materials.

From the publisher's website: "The proven Glannon Guide is a user-friendly study aid to use throughout the semester as a great supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Topics are broken down into manageable pieces and are explained in a conversational tone. Chapters are interspersed with hypotheticals like those posed in the classroom that include analysis of answers to ensure thorough understanding. Additionally, The Closer questions pose sophisticated hypotheticals at the end of each chapter to present cumulative review of earlier topics. More like classroom experiences, the Glannon Guide provides you with straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes the material stick."

This multiple-choice exam practice book is designed for (a) bar exam takers, who are preparing to take the MBE multiple-choice bar exam (Civil Procedure is a new testing topic added to the MBE multiple-choice bar exam as of February 2015), and (b) 1L law students, who are preparing to take their course examinations. The book offers practical, easy-to-follow advice on multiple-choice exam-taking strategies, clear suggestions on effective multiple-choice practicing techniques, and a lengthy set of Civil Procedure multiple-choice practice questions with answers and explanations (designed to simulate MBE-style questions). Tables help users decode the tested-topic for each practice question.

OConnors Texas Rules * Civil Trials provides clear, detailed explanations of procedure with strategies and practice tips for each phase of litigation. The commentary is written and edited by experienced practitioners and backed by thousands of citations.

Each new edition is fully revised to reflect all the latest changes in the law. This product also provides the complete text of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure and Texas Rules of Evidence with amendments underlined; hundreds of case annotations quotations from recent, relevant caselaw that help explain how the courts interpret the rules and charts and timetables that quickly summarize complicated rules and deadlines. Publisher Description

O'Connor's Federal Rules Civil Trials provides clear, detailed explanations of procedure with strategies and practice tips for each phase of litigation. The commentary is written and edited by experienced practitioners and backed by thousands of citations. Each new edition is fully revised to reflect all the latest changes in the law. The book also provides the complete text of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Evidence, and Appellate Procedure with amendments underlined; hundreds of case annotations quotations from recent, relevant caselaw that help explain how the courts interpret the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and Evidence; the complete Title 28 of the United States Code; Advisory Committee notes on all the key rule amendments; and charts and timetables that quickly summarize complicated rules and deadlines.
Publisher's Description

From Amazon: Expert commentary. Written and edited by experienced practitioners and backed by thousands of citations, the book's ten commentary chapters explain the details of federal civil procedure step by step. Annotated rules. The complete Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and Federal Rules of Evidence annotated with key quotations from leading opinions. Helpful extras. Handy charts that summarize complex information. Timetables for computing important deadlines. And much more. This fully updated edition includes new content on the December 1 amendments to the FRCPs and FRAPs. Besides the rule amendments, the new edition has been fully revised to reflect all the latest changes in the law.

Texas Civil Trial and Appellate Procedure offers a solid foundation for understanding the law and succeeding in the courtroom. Whether engaged in civil trial or appellate practice, attorneys benefit from this set's unmatched attention to detail and encyclopedic scope covering everything from analyses of court rules, statutes and cases to the underlying laws governing civil and appellate procedure. - See more at: http://www.lexisnexis.com/store/catalog/booktemplate/productdetail.jsp?pageName=relatedProducts&prodId=6692#sthash.tgPjPmyt.dpuf

With this single source reference designed specifically for civil practitioners, you will increase your effectiveness and productivity. Comprehensive, authoritative, and up-to-date, Texas Civil Trial Guide will help you admit the evidence you need, exclude your opponent's evidence, and avoid critical mistakes. Coverage includes:

• Presenting and opposing motions in limine, using affidavits as foundations for documentary evidence
• Assertion of privileges, admission of testimony, expert opinions, and documentary evidence, and effective cross-examination
• Leading case authorities
• Procedural guidance concerning trial settings, continuances, special exceptions and pleadings, amendments, oral depositions, recusal motions, consolidation and severance, jury selction, motions for judgment, and closing argument.

Since it was first published in 1977, Texas Litigation Guide has become an indispensable resource for Texas litigators. Dorsaneo, Texas Litigation Guide gives you the value of superior content and coverage. The guide is cited frequently by Texas courts and updated four times per year, while the competing publication from West is updated only once per year. This step-by-step guide also offers a comprehensive collection of litigation forms--from letters and notices to discovery requests, motions, petitions and appellate forms--to save you hours of time preparing pleadings, motions, petitions, and other forms.

• Concise, yet authoritative, analysis of Texas law, cited regularly by Texas courts
• Step-by-step procedural and drafting guides
• Hundreds of forms covering virtually any document needed for litigation in Texas courts

The Texas Practice Series provides comprehensive coverage of 28 areas of Texas law in a single source. Some of the available titles in the series include Guide to the Texas Rules of Evidence, Texas Consumer Law Handbook, Handbook of Texas Family Law, Criminal Practice and Procedure, and Handbook on Texas Discovery Practice. Each title includes an analysis, explanation of the law, and practice information. Many of the volumes discuss the civil procedure involved in handling cases that fall in the subject of the volume.

This well-established treatise is premised on the assumption that the key to understanding the principles of civil procedure is to know why: why the principles were created and why they are invoked. The treatise is written to answer these questions as it lays out the basic principles of civil procedure. It also reflects the authors' belief that students of civil procedure can understand and appreciate complex principles when they are clearly presented; teaching civil procedure does not require dumbing it down. The authors use the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure as a model, but they also refer to different state rules and doctrines where appropriate in order to present a representative cross-section of state models. Although they discuss important civil procedure cases in the text, thus supporting the most widely used civil procedure casebooks using these same cases, they also provide useful references to secondary sources and illustrative cases for the reader who wants to explore further. Finally, they also treat thoroughly the most recent developments in personal jurisdiction and electronic discovery, with special attention to the latest rule changes affecting such discovery. The resulting treatise is sophisticated, clear, and current, equally accessible and useful to students and practitioners. Amazon Description

This well-established treatise is premised on the assumption that the key to understanding the principles of civil procedure is to know why: why the principles were created and why they are invoked. The treatise is written to answer these questions as it lays out the basic principles of civil procedure. It also reflects the authors' belief that students of civil procedure can understand and appreciate complex principles when they are clearly presented; teaching civil procedure does not require dumbing it down.
The authors use the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure as a model, but they also refer to different state rules and doctrines where appropriate in order to present a representative cross-section of state models. Although they discuss important civil procedure cases in the text, thus supporting the most widely used civil procedure casebooks using these same cases, they also provide useful references to secondary sources and illustrative cases for the reader who wants to explore further.

The California edition expands the latest edition of the well-established treatise Understanding Civil Procedure to explore California's unique approach. Each chapter begins with the federal doctrine, followed by a section on how California approaches the topic. The book is primarily intended as a reference for law school civil procedure students in California. However, its treatment of recent developments may make it useful to some practitioners as well.

The treatise is premised on the assumption that the key to understanding the principles of civil procedure is to know why: why the principles were created and why they are invoked. The treatise is written to answer these questions as it lays out the basic principles of civil procedure. It also reflects the authors' belief that students of civil procedure can understand and appreciate complex principles when they are clearly presented.