Business Associations

The current version of this book has been authored by Professor Douglas K. Moll of the University of Houston Law Center. It is a new edition of a previous work authored by Professor Jeffrey Bauman. This product is a collection of statutes, rules, and forms which can be used with casebooks and other teaching materials in both introductory and advanced courses related to business organizations. Among other items, the collection includes the Restatements of Agency; partnership, corporation, and LLC statutes and forms (including both uniform, Delaware, and other state statutes); and federal securities statutes, rules, regulations, and forms. Amazon Description

This compilation contains statutes, rules, materials, and forms affecting conventional business corporations, benefit corporations, flexible purpose corporations, general partnerships, limited liability partnerships, limited partnerships, limited liability limited partnerships, and limited liability companies. In addition to the Delaware statutes for corporations and LLCs as well as the 2016 updated Model Business Corporations Act, select provisions from other states are included to provide a rich array of comparative approaches. The most recent ISS Guidelines that pertain to a wide range of corporate governance issues are included as well as disclosure and governance guidelines of the New York Stock Exchange. The materials provide recent interpretive guidance on important corporate issues from the SEC are included. The materials also include Illustrative documents such as an LLC operating agreement, forum selection bylaw, proxy form, governance agreement entered into with an activist investor, and poison pill rights plan. The materials are expertly arranged by leading scholars in the field and are intended for law school study.

Publisher's Description

Expanded with new entries and updated to reflect recent economic developments and the current business climate, this quick-reference dictionary defines more than 7,500 terms relating to accounting, taxation, advertising, business law, communications, transportation, computers and the Internet, economics, finance, insurance, international business, management, marketing, real estate, and statistics. Definitions come with examples, illustrations, and cross-references. An appendix defines hundreds of business-related abbreviations and acronyms. Here is a useful, easy-to-understand reference book with information that is helpful to everyone involved in business activities, whether novices or experienced business executives. Publisher Description

COURSE BOOK: This title covers the law of business associations for introductory courses. It discusses business organizations, including agency, general partnerships, closely held corporations, publicly held corporations, limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships, and limited liability companies. The material on the unincorporated business forms has been revised, updated, and expanded to reflect the centrality of these forms of business organization in modern law practice and in the economy generally. Among other state and model statutes, the Revised Uniform LLC Act (2006), the Revised Uniform Partnership Act (1997), the Uniform Limited Partnership Act (2001), and the Third Restatement of Agency (2006) are discussed and cited.

COURSE BOOK: This supplement brings the principal text current with recent statutory developments in the law.

his title covers the law of business associations for introductory courses, including agency, general partnerships, closely held corporations, publicly held corporations, limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships, and limited liability companies. The material on the unincorporated business forms has been revised, updated, and expanded to reflect the centrality of these forms of business organization in modern law practice and the economy generally. Among other state and model statutes, the Uniform LLC Act (2013), the Uniform Partnership Act (2013), the Uniform Limited Partnership Act (2013), the Third Restatement of Agency (2006), and the Model Business Corporation Act (2016) are discussed and cited. Amazon Description

This statutory supplement is designed for use in law school courses covering agency, partnerships, corporations, and other limited liability entities. In particular, the supplement compiles the statutes, regulations, and uniform or model acts needed for the use of the casebook, The Law of Business Organizations: Cases, Materials, and Problems (13th ed. 2017), by Professors Jonathan R. Macey, Douglas K. Moll, and Robert W. Hamilton. Amazon description.

Texas Annotated Business Organizations Code, replaced annually, contains the complete Business Organizations Code in an easy-to-read, portable book with on-point, relevant annotations. A handy one-volume book, it brings you information current through the latest legislative session along with expert analysis on this vital and constantly evolving area of practice in the State of Texas. The complete Code is fully annotated.

Texas Annotated Business Organizations Code also offers an annotated version of the Business Corporation Act, the full text of the former laws being replaced by the new Business Organizations Code, relevant portions of the Texas Administrative Code, and the Secretary of State Forms for BOC. Disposition and derivation tables offer valuable assistance in tracking the transition of the former "source" statutes to their new iterations in the Business Organizations Code.

The Texas Business Organizations Manual includes:

• Forms for forming, reorganizing, and terminating a corporation
• Company agreements for single-member, member-managed, and manager-managed LLCs
• Secretary of state forms for corporations and LLCs
• CLE articles with valuable tips for practitioners

The Texas Business Organizations Manual contains 84 forms carefully drafted in simple, concise language. The commentary, thoroughly supported by cited authorities, explains relevant law and procedures. Thorough indexes of authorities cited, forms, and subject matter provide ready access.

Business Organizations reflects the Texas Business Corporations Act, the various partnership acts, and other business-related state and federal statutes along with significant business decisions of the Texas and federal courts on matters involving business associations.

Coverage includes:
• Choice of the business form
• Partnerships, including adjusting or terminating the going partnership
• Formation of corporations, including the mechanics of forming a corporation and suits against domestic corporations
• Management and control of corporations, including duties of directors, officers, and controlling shareholders
• Organic changes in corporations
• Foreign corporations transacting business in Texas

Understanding Corporate Law, Fifth Edition, is designed to assist students by offering a clear and comprehensive treatment of key concepts in corporate law. It is a popular study guide for students and has been used by professors to supplement their casebook or as recommended reading.Significant business, economic, and policy issues are highlighted in connection with a thorough analysis of the important cases and statutory provisions used in the study of corporations. It includes the major theoretical approaches used in current corporate law literature.In each chapter, the authors identify important policies and discuss the relationship of the law as it has developed to those policies. Statutory issues are addressed under both the General Corporation Law of the State of Delaware and the Revised Model Business Corporation Act. In addition, significant sections from the Principles of Corporate Governance of the American Law Institute are covered. The corporate scandals of 2001 and 2002, the enactment of the federal Sarbanes-Oxley (2002), Dodd-Frank (2010), and JOBs (2012) Acts, and the financial crisis of 2008 are also covered. The rise of institutional shareholder ownership and its effect on legal developments is highlighted.
Publisher's Description

Understanding Corporate Law, Fourth Edition, is designed to assist students by offering a clear and comprehensive treatment of key concepts in corporate law. It is a popular study guide for students and has been used by professors to supplement their casebook or as recommended reading.

Significant business, economic, and policy issues are highlighted in connection with a thorough analysis of the important cases and statutory provisions used in the study of corporations. It includes the major theoretical approaches used in current corporate law literature.

In each chapter, the authors identify important policies and discuss the relationship of the law as it has developed to those policies. Statutory issues are addressed under both the General Corporation Law of the State of Delaware and the Revised Model Business Corporation Act. In addition, significant sections from the Principles of Corporate Governance of the American Law Institute are covered. The corporate scandals of 2001 and 2002, the enactment of the federal Sarbanes-Oxley (2002), Dodd-Frank (2010), and JOBs (2012) Acts, and the financial crisis of 2008 are also covered. Chapter 11 now incorporates significant new material on limited liability companies (LLCs).