Commercial Law

Lexis Advance's Commercial Law page has cases, statutes and legislation, codes and regulations, and secondary sources and other materials.

List of Commercial Law secondary sources from Westlaw.

Now you can work under the continually evolving Uniform Commercial Code with a practice guide you can really count on for probing Article-by-Article analysis of today's U.C.C., as well as strategies for applying the Code in specific transactions. A unique combination of in-depth substantive analysis and practical guidance for handling commercial transactions.

Provides easy-to-use, step-by-step guidance through:

• sales transactions, including letters of credits and • bulk sales
• leasing transactions
• negotiable instrument transactions
• letters of credit
• secured transactions

Publisher's description

This title is designed to give you an in-depth look at the most important issues raised in commercial transactions. It reviews Article 1, Article 2 on Sales, Article 2A on Leases, Articles 3, 4, & 4A on checks and Electronic Funds Transfers, Article 5 regarding Letters of Credit, Article 6 on Bulk Sales, Article 7 on Documents of Title, Article 8, Investment Securities, and Article 9, Secured Transactions.

Publisher's description

Debtor-Creditor Law is a comprehensive multi-volume treatise, written by prominent experts in the field, which offers users complete coverage of all aspects of the debtor-creditor relationship, including current case law, practical guidance and numerous forms for the practitioner. In addition to comprehensive coverage of federal consumer credit legislation and the reprint of related statutes and regulations, Debtor-Creditor Law also features chapters covering several Uniform Commercial Code Articles, including Article 2 (Sales), Article 3 (Negotiable Instruments), Article 4A (Funds Transfers) and Revised Article 9 (Secured Transactions).

Publisher's description

Complete guidance and procedural analysis regarding both the mechanics of completing UCC related forms and the substantive law connected with those forms. It is an invaluable resource for the practitioner, containing forms consistent with the requirements and terminology of the Code, as well as commentary and primary source materials. Basic forms are featured by Article, and are varied by alternative and optional clauses. Commentary is structured around the forms, and explains when, how and why the form should be used as well as the substantive results of their use.

Publisher's description

This series provides the official code text, official comments, variations enacted by the states, and Permanent Editorial Board comments. It includes section-by-section analysis and commentary, other related legislation, and case references. It is organized by the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) numbers for quick access and contains a concordance with more than 7,000 entries by words, phrases, and UCC section numbers. Also included are analyses of the Uniform Computer Information Transaction Act, the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act, International Commercial Conventions within the scope of the Uniform Commercial Code, Model Tribal Secured Transactions Act, and Non-UCC payment methods and systems.

Publisher's description

The Law and Practice of Secured Transactions: Working with Article 9 deciphers the Uniform Commercial Code and shows you how to apply Article 9 to your clients' real-life situations. Through numerous practice pointers and hypothetical examples, the authors discuss: attachment and perfection of security interests; priority rules for competing claims to collateral; default, repossession of collateral; strict foreclosure and redemption; choice of law in multi-state transactions; fraudulent conveyance; and trustee avoidance powers under bankruptcy preference law.

Publisher's description

The Law of Secured Transactions Under the UCC contains commentary on legal problems that can plague secured transactions, such as scope of coverage, perfection, and priority rules.

Publisher's description

Lawrence's Anderson on the Uniform Commercial Code provides article-by-article analysis of the UCC. It also covers:

• The Uniform Computer Information Transactions Act
• The Uniform Electronic Transactions Act
• The Electronic Signatures in Global and National Commerce Act

Cited in court opinions, it offers:

• Assistance in supporting your arguments with contemporary, on-point cases and other authority
• Official UCC text and comments
• Discussion of commercial law practices, local code variations, and related noncode laws
• On-point case citations and cross-references to other relevant text and practice materials
• Organization by code section for quick, easy reference

Publisher's description

This solution-oriented, practical guide offers in-depth expert analysis, commentary, and thorough coverage of new Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) revisions and relevant changes in case law. Tackles both simple and complex code issues. Provides practical guidance to UCC litigation and interpretation. Includes authoritative commentary on the complete text of the UCC. Provides analysis of the fine points of code sections and the impact on specific areas of commercial litigation. Covers how the code affects business practice. Includes official code text, state variations, digests of cases interpreting individual sections, and code cross-references.

Publisher's description

A widely respected analytical treatise providing complete coverage of sales and bulk sales transactions, including complete analysis of reported decisions in this area of the law.

• Complete coverage of issues arising under the Uniform Commercial Code.
• Alternative drafting and litigation strategies for both buyers and sellers.
• Analysis of the changes to the law on sales transactions in light of the 2003 Amendments to Article 2.
• Extensive coverage of electronic contracting including discussion and analysis of the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act (UETA) and the Electronic Signatures in Global and National Commerce Act (E-Sign).
• Discussion of the overlap of Article 2 with revisions to Article 1 (General Provisions) and Article 9 (Secured Transactions).
• Analysis of computer information transactions and the interplay between Article 2 and the Uniform Computer Information Transactions Act (UCITA).

Publisher's description

Secured Transactions Under the UCC examines every facet of secured lending, analyzing in detail difficult issues which are either glossed over or overlooked entirely in other more abbreviated treatments. Areas covered include U.C.C. Revised Article 9, fixture financing, documentation of secured transactions, choice of laws and multistate transactions, impact of the Federal Tax Lien on secured creditors, fraudulent transfer risks in leveraged buyout lending, the impact of bank failure on the secured creditor, law of lender liability, secured lending and environmental regulation, and the impact of ERISA on secured lending.

Publisher's description

Concerns transactions intended to create security interests in personal property that come within the terms of Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code (U.C.C.) as set forth in the Texas Business and Commerce Code, Title 1, Chapter 9. The discussion includes, generally speaking, security interests in tangible or intangible personal property or fixtures that secure payment or performance of an obligation and that are created by contract rather than law. Sales of accounts or chattel paper, whether intended for security or not, are treated except for those transfers that are not commercial-financing transactions. Covers the scope of, and exclusions from, Article 9 of the Code and discusses the types of collateral to which the Code applies. It also treats the security agreement, the attachment and perfection of the security interest, including filing of the financing statement and supplemental documents such as continuation statements, amendments, and statements of assignment. Discussion is included of the transfer of security interests and of collateral that is subject to such interests. Covers priorities among security interests and discharge of such interests and of their underlying obligations. Also discussed are default on security agreements and enforcement of security interests and the liabilities of the parties to such transactions.

Publisher's description

How to guide for Texas practitioners concerning business and commercial litigation. Includes step-by-step analysis of business and commercial litigation matters, as well as easy to use forms, checklists and practice tips. Contains citations to leading and most recent case law to give you the latest information available. Designed to include the most current forms and checklists you need to expertly handle this area of law. Includes extensive library cross-referencing to forms, digest topics, case law, codes, statutes and other analytical products.

Publisher's description

From business and commercial dealings to personal and real estate transactions, Texas Transaction Guide: Legal Forms contains all the information you need to successfully represent your client through any transactional process. Depend on step-by-step guidance, practice notes, research guides, legal backgrounds, practice guides and insightful commentary in your transaction law practice. Inside you'll find several subjects covered including Commercial Transactions.

Publisher's description

Uniform Commercial Code contains the complete official Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) – all of the 13 Articles' text with official comments. This volume is intended for use as a quick reference. Information is arranged in one softbound volume and is arranged by Article for fast and easy access. Features include:

• Appendixes that include Permanent Editorial Board commentaries, past amendments, and pre-revision articles
• A foreword by the chair of the permanent editorial board of the UCC
• Commentaries and reports of the permanent editorial board

Publisher's description

Contains General Comments explaining the form and its application. Includes coverage of all the recent major revisions of the Texas Business and Commerce Code including leases, commercial paper, bank deposits and collections, bulk sales, investment securities, and secured transactions.

Publisher's description

White and Summers' Uniform Commercial Code, 5th and 6th provides practice-oriented insight and benefits both specialists and general practitioners. You'll find accurate and reliable analysis of the Uniform Commercial Code, practical understanding to apply the Code appropriately, thoughtful resolution of issues of Code interpretation, skillful deployment of the various non-textual Code resources relevant to such issues (including the Official Comments and prior Code drafts), informed policy analysis, systematic discussion of each topic, and a careful integration of the developing caselaw into text as well as footnotes.

Publisher's description