Commercial Law

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) hosts and facilitates the creation of CALI Lessons, a library of over 950 interactive legal tutorials written by law professors and geared towards law students. CALI is a 501(c)(3) non-profit consortium of law schools, law libraries and related organizations. Almost every United States law school is a member of CALI and they make up the bulk of our membership.

This course surveys the law of secured transactions under Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code, in which a typically consensual security interest in personal property arises in a creditor's favor to secure payment or performance of an obligation.

This product presents in checklist format the series of issues that must be understood in order to identify and resolve the range of legal issues presented in an examination question. Checklists are provided for all topics generally covered in the basic negotiable instruments course.

Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area. The Payments Law Outline summarizes and explains the fundamental law applicable to a broad variety of current payment systems, including checks, drafts, credit cards, debit cards, prepaid cards, and digital currencies.

This text places the law of secured transactions within the context of debt collection, comprehensively explains the scope of UCC Article 9 including its exclusions, and provides an in-depth description of the Article 9 rules regarding attachment, perfection, and enforcement of security interests and agricultural liens with many examples.

Publisher's description

This creative and original book is designed for use in three ways. It can supplement a traditional Secured Transactions text with skills training exercises, be used as the text for a 1-credit drafting workshop added on to a doctrinal commercial law class, and also as the text for a 2 or 3 credit contract drafting course. The ten user-friendly exercises are modular so that professors can assign one or two exercises a semester to gradually make their classes comply with ABA requirements for transition to practice credits as well as formative and summative assessments. Students work in teams to negotiate and draft core documents that memorialize a secured transaction, starting with a promissory note, and continuing on to a financing statement and security agreement. In a 2 or 3-credit drafting course or workshop, students could also negotiate and draft a personal guaranty, perfect a security interest in a delivery truck and fixtures, balance ethical requirements of client confidentiality with truthfulness, and compile a portfolio of the documents with a cover letter to the client. Each exercise requires only fifteen to thirty minutes of class time and one to two hours on homework assignments that have students identify the anatomical parts of a contract (preamble, recitals, words of agreement, etc.), fill in a template promissory note with the parties’ names, principal amount, interest rate, and signature blocks, and edit a template security agreement to conform it to the terms of the students’ negotiated agreement. Each drafting exercise contains a template that students edit, and the text includes instructions for negotiation exercises.

This study aid includes eight comprehensive sample examinations, each containing 25 questions. Each exam covers both the basics and the intricacies of Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code. The detailed answer keys identify the best answer choice, explain why it is the best, and explain why the other answers are not better. This detailed analysis allows students to sharpen their skills and deepen their understanding of secured transactions.

The topics covered in this outline include types of commercial paper, negotiability, negotiation, holders in due course, and claims and defenses on negotiable instruments, including real defenses and personal defenses. Also discussed are liability of the parties (including merger rule, suits on the instrument, warranty suits, and conversion), bank deposits and collections, forgery or alteration of negotiable instruments, and electronic banking.

The topics discussed in the Sale and Lease of Goods outline are Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) Article 2, sales contract (including offer and acceptance, parol evidence rule, statute of frauds, assignment and delegation, and revision of contract terms). Also covered are types of sales, including cash sale transactions, auctions, "sale or return", and "sale on approval" transactions, express and implied warranties, and privity.

Publisher's description

The secured transactions outline discusses coverage of Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) Article 9 and the creation of a security interest, including attachment, security agreements, value, and the debtor's rights in the collateral. Also included are perfection, filing, priorities, bankruptcy proceedings and Article 9, default proceedings, and bulk transfers.

Publisher's description

This book is intended as a supplement to an existing commercial transactions survey course, but could also be used as a stand-alone text for a seminar or other specialized elective course. It seeks to provide an international perspective and also sufficient domestic context to facilitate a comparative-law discussion. The book includes staples of international commercial law, such as the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG) and international insolvency, but also items of particular contemporary concern, including clawbacks, microfinance, and religious objections to the payment of interest in commercial contracts.

This audio lecture includes information on the holder in due course rule; holder versus indorser; holder versus drawee; drawee versus drawee; bank recovery; accord and satisfaction; lost, destroyed, or stolen instruments; and sample questions.

This secured transactions audio lecture covers collateral, security interests between debtor and creditor, such as creation and attachment, between creditor and others, including perfection filing, possession, control, automatic, and temporary, and priorites of secured parties v. lien creditors. It also defines a perfected secured party, purchaser BIOCs, holder in due course rule, and secured party v. secured party purchase money security interests, fixtures, and accessions. Other subjects include rights upon default, including collection and enforcement by secured parties, possession and disposition by secured parties, noncompliance, acceptance of collateral in full or partial satisfaction, and application of proceeds of sale.

This text examines the law applicable to current payment systems—including checks, notes, drafts, credit cards, debit cards, prepaid cards and digital currencies.

Publisher's description

This text summarizes and explains the fundamental law applicable to a broad variety of current payment systems. Coverage includes issues of liability, transfer, holder in due course status, and check collection applicable to negotiable instruments (checks, notes, drafts) governed by UCC Articles 3 and 4, as well as letters of credit and documents of title governed by UCC Articles 5 and 7. The text further examines the rights, obligations, and federal protection applicable to credit and debit cards. Finally, this title addresses recent legal developments in regard to a variety of electronic fund transfers, prepaid cards and digital currencies.

Provides law students with an in-depth introduction to the UCC without burdening them with unnecessary detail. Citations have been used to enable the reader to understand the kinds of cases that might be presented under particular provisions of the Code. The materials cover payment systems under UCC Articles 3, 4, 4A, and 5, as well as related statutes, regulations, and operating rules governing negotiable instruments, the banking system, the Federal Reserve, clearinghouses, electronic payments, and letters of credit.

This book provides a comprehensive introduction to Articles 1 and 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC). It provides a useful resource for students and practitioners dealing with sales or contract issues. Students of contracts or sales and any practitioner dealing with sales or contracts issues will profit from this book's use.

Secured transactions in personal property are ubiquitous in modern business practice and make up a key part of modern commercial law. This volume, a streamlined version of the famous White & Summers Uniform Commercial Code practitioners text—the standard reference relied on by courts and business lawyers for nearly half a century—offers a succinct but in-depth introduction to Article 9 of the UCC. It is specifically designed to help students in the law school Secured Transactions course navigate through the Article 9 maze. This new edition incorporates the new amendments to Article 9 and related Code provisions, and updates the text in light of modern practice.

Expert authors present a primer on the law of sales and leases under Articles 2 and 2A of the UCC. This text also focuses on related subjects governed by Articles 5 and 7 of the UCC (letters of credit and documents of title). Introduces the formation of the contract and examines the statute of frauds, parol evidence, and modification. Covers terms of the contract, as well as performance; third-party title and rights; risk of loss; warranty obligations; repudiation, breach, and excuse; and remedies.

Authoritative coverage describes and analyzes the law of sales under Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code, as well as under the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods. Text provides the framework for sales and governing law, contract formation, implied terms, formal requirements, performance, and risk of loss. Also covers remedies, the rights to goods, and documentary sales.

Hagedorn’s Secured Transactions in a Nutshell provides extensive coverage of the 1999 version of UCC Article 9, now enacted by all states. Coverage of the 1972 version of Article 9 and pre-code law is included to provide historical perspective. The text covers: The scope of Article 9 The security agreement and attachment of the security interest Relationship of the debtor and secured party prior to default Perfection of the security interest by filing and other means Multistate choice of law and perfection issues Priority of the secured party and others in and out of bankruptcy Default and enforcement of the security interest

Learn the UCC from a master teacher. Professor Paula A. Franzese, featured in What the Best Law Teachers Do (Harvard University Press), is the ten-time recipient of the Professor of the Year Award and the creator and editor of the Short and Happy Guide series. This efficient and concise volume sets forth clear rules and techniques for mastering the elements of contract formation, content, performance, breach and remedies. Complex topics such as the battle of the forms, the statute of frauds, the parol evidence rule, excuse doctrine, warranties, buyer's remedies and seller's remedies are presented in straightforward, easy to understand terms. The examples are fun and engaging, and the checklists and summaries contained at the beginning and end of each chapter are priceless study tools. Read this book and become a Code connoisseur and legal ninja!

This new Short & Happy Guide to Secured Transactions has been created by Professor Barnes to make important concepts from Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code plain and understandable to students. The complex topics are explained in a plain-spoken, straightforward way, to make the concepts as simple and accessible as possible. The important provisions of the Code are excerpted and edited for readability, and all concepts are explained with simple, narrative text, and accompanied by easy-to-understand examples which help students understand the Secured Transactions concepts. Look, we’re not going to sugar-coat this – Secured Transactions is difficult. This guide makes it much easier to understand, and get a great grade on your Secured Transactions exam.

This audio lecture provides the essentials on commercial paper and payment law, including negotiable instrument types, holder-in-due-course, real and personal defenses, and jus tertii. It explores contracts, obligations, suretyship, agent signatures, and Article 4. Addresses banks and their customers, properly payable rule, wrongful dishonor, stopping payment, death of customer’s subrogation, bank statements, and contract of deposit. It also examines offset, check collection, final payment, Expedited Funds Availability Act, delays, forgery, alteration, impostor rule, negligence rule, wire transfers, and Electronic Fund Transfers Act.

This audio collection presents a concise and effective guide to the law of Sales, which governs contracts for the sale of goods. Beautifully organized, it begins with Article 2’s scope and provides the keys to effective statutory interpretation. It then examines the essentials of contact formation, content, performance, breach and remedies. It is an excellent companion to courses on Sales Law, Contracts and Commercial Law. Taught by nationally acclaimed professor Paula Franzese, it makes difficult subject matter understandable and enjoyable.

The book will give students a rigorous introduction to the UCC without burdening them with needless citations.

Publisher's description

This product provides a concise yet comprehensive introduction to the Uniform Commercial Code for students and practitioners alike. It covers each major topic of the Code, including the process of selling, payment, negotiation, shipping, storage, financing sales, and leasing of goods. In addition, the text makes it possible for readers to see how the various articles of the Code may interact in a single transaction. Wherever practicable, the actual language of the Code and its comments has been used. The comprehensive outline, references to relevant authority, and intuitive system of cross-referencing all contribute to its ease of use. This eighth edition contains the 2010 Amendments to Article 9, with an effective date of July 1, 2013.