Family Law

This book's analytic approach will help practitioners develop arguments to support their cases when local state law is unsettled or appears unfair to the client. It summarizes the ways different states have handled important issues and makes recommendations for model provisions of law that legislatures might want to adopt in their own states. It also offers a legal framework that can accommodate the different choices people make and the expectations they bring to their family relationships.

he comprehensive coverage of Family Law: Examples & Explanations provides readers with an in-depth understanding of complex family law principles and how they are applied in practice. Its clear organization breaks family law into distinct topics. Examples based on challenging real-life situations are followed by practical solutions in the Explanations section. Citations and links to additional source material make the text a valuable research tool.

The Fourth Edition puts a greater emphasis on self-assessment and helping students prepare for a variety of testing approaches. There is a new focus on emerging national legislative trends, and the legal issues faced by same-sex partners are discussed across chapters. The Fourth Edition includes new alternative dispute resolution processes and professional responsibility issues arising from interdisciplinary roles.

From Amazon: "Family law has emerged as one of the most dynamic and controversial areas of modern law. Drawing increasingly from constitutional law, conflicts of laws, property, torts, criminal law, tax and welfare law, family law has also grown ever more complex. The fifth edition of this classic text, available in late August 2007, comprehensively surveys the traditional landscape of family law as well as important new legislation and case law relating to domestic partnerships, same-sex marriage, parentage, adoption, child custody and support."

• Discusses the evolution of same-sex marriage rights and the way these rights affect family law
• Considers definitions of formal and informal marriage, analyzing the extent to which relationships established before marriage are regulated
• Describes legislative and judicial responses to evolving family forms
• Examines fault and no-fault divorce procedures, alimony, assignment of property upon divorce
• Defines what is marital property and what is separate property
• Combines legal analysis with social science research

- Discusses the evolution of same-sex marriage rights and the way these rights affect family law
- Considers definitions of formal and informal marriage, analyzing the extent to which relationships established before marriage are regulated
- Describes legislative and judicial responses to evolving family forms
- Examines fault and no-fault divorce procedures, alimony, assignment of property upon divorce

New to this Edition:
- Includes a full discussion of same-sex marriage as well as an analysis of the U S Supreme Court case, Obergefell v. Hodges, which held that a ban on same-sex marriage was unconstitutional

Presenting analytical discussion of both relevant legislation and applicable caselaw, Handbook of Texas Family Law covers relevant provisions from the Government, Human Resources, and Penal Codes. It contains the full text of the Texas Family Code and includes topics such as events permitting the recovery of attorney fees, as well as the recovery of damages, expenses, and other costs in suits concerning children. The text covers:

• Getting married
• Ending the marriage
• Property
• Children
• Jurisdiction over the respondent
• Enforcement
• Attorney fees
• Court masters/associate judges

A quick reference index at the beginning of each chapter directs you to the appropriate code topic or section to save you valuable time, and step-by-step instructions enable you to find what you need quickly. a table of statutes, table of court rules, table of cases, handbook index and family code index facilitate efficient research.

The comprehensive code resource for family-law attorneys. O’Connor’s Texas Family Code Plus provides the entire Family Code, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, and Texas Rules of Evidence, all with up-to-date case annotations, as well as a host of other codes essential to your family-law practice.

Customizable forms. Our plain-English forms cover all the motions, pleadings, discovery, and other documents you need in your daily practice. Just fill in the blanks and file.
Drafting notes. Alerts about relevant rules and cases, advice about filing alternatives, and reminders about local practices and procedures all help with the drafting process.
Helpful extras. Prompts and examples that make it easy to tailor the forms to your case

Expert commentary. Written in plain English, each chapter provides expert analysis of the procedural and substantive requirements for handling almost all family-law matters. This includes the analysis of all relevant case law, statutes, procedural rules, and secondary sources. With over 8,000 case citations alone, the Family Law Handbook gives you the complete and up-to-date explanation of how family-law practice works.

Broad scope. Whether you’re filing a suit for conservatorship, modifying a possession order, or enforcing a child-support order, the Family Law Handbook will explain each unique family-law process and provide you with the critical analysis you need to practice family law. Check out our Table of Contents!

Despite the fact that becoming a parent is a pivotal event, the birth or adoption of a child has little significance for parents' legal relationship to each other. Instead, the law relies upon marriage, domestic partnerships, and contracts to set the parameters of parents' legal relationship. With over forty percent of American children born to unwed mothers and consistently high rates of divorce, this book argues that the law's current approach to regulating parental relationships is outdated. A new legal and social structure is needed to guide parents so they act as supportive partners and to deter uncommitted couples from having children. This book is the first of its kind to propose a new “parent-partner” status within family law. Included are a detailed discussion of the benefits of the status as well as specific recommendations for legal obligations.

The Texas Annotated Family Code contains the complete Family Code, along with other relevant Code sections, in an easy-to-read, portable book with on-point, relevant annotations.

Texas Family Law Practice and Procedure combines both substantive and procedural explanations of Texas family law with practical tips and forms from leading Texas family law practitioners. It is a more authoritative, in-depth publication than the competing West product. These volmes provide task-based pointers and leading legislative and case analysis. Texas family law attorneys and their research staffs will appreciate unmatched coverage of the issues and legal expert guidance for completing any transaction involving Texas family law.

Six loose-leaf volumes featuring 742 forms used in title 1, title 2, title 4, and title 5 proceedings provide marginal notes and precise instructions ensuring the production of documents tailored to each individual case. The forms volumes include a comprehensive and helpful subject index and forms indexes.

1,266 pages of practice notes provide synopses of the relevant law and helpful practical advice for the practitioner on a wide range of family law topics, all coming from a committee of judges and family law attorneys. The practice notes also features a subject index, as well as an index of statutes, rules, and cases cited.

From the publisher's website: "Understanding Family Law includes comprehensive coverage of topics such as traditional and nontraditional families, nonmarital and postmarital contracts, annulment, paternity and legitimacy, procreation rights, contraception, abortion, sterilization, artificially assisted conception, and adoption and termination of parental rights.

Like the prior edition published in 2005, this new Fourth Edition of Understanding Family Law explains specific family law issues, such as intrafamily tort immunity and liability, medical care for child and spouse, wrongful life and wrongful birth, domestic violence, PINS, CHINS, ethical issues for the lawyer, alternative dispute resolution, equitable distribution, community property, and child custody and visitation.This Fourth Edition is updated to reflect changes in the law since the last edition. The discussion of assisted conception in particular, has been substantially revised to address technological changes and new law, such as the post-death conception case. This Fourth Edition also includes references to 50 states surveys so the reader can find their local law quickly."

The newly updated Texas Guardianship Manual is a valuable resource for lawyers administering guardianships and is organized by the logical sequence of events occurring during the administration process. The uniform format of practice notes and forms is designed to enhance readability and ready reference and to accommodate easier word-processing use of the forms. Save time and money with the Texas Guardianship Manual in the format that suits you best: online subscription, digital download only, or hard copy plus digital download.

The Texas Guardianship Manual 2018 Supplement updates the practice notes and forms to conform to changes from the Eighty-fifth Texas legislative session and incorporates new relevant case law. All forms have been updated to reflect current statutory language or replaced to reflect current versions. Additionally, the Ward’s Bill of Rights has been added as a new form to chapter 4, and a VA Fiduciary’s Account and Advanced Directive have been added to chapter 5. The Statutory Durable Power of Attorney has been revised to reflect significant changes from the legislative session, and the Medical Power of Attorney has also been updated to reflect new statutory language and to incorporate the required disclosure language.

Also featured in the Texas Guardianship Manual:

Surrogate decision making (with subsection on end-of-life planning)
Interventional alternatives
Declaration for mental health treatment
Pooled trust subaccounts
Management of community property by spouse
Probate court jurisdiction
End-of-life planning
Forms include:

Authorization agreement for nonparent relative
Engagement letter
Application and order for no administration/family allowance
Petition for removal of disabilities of minority
Physician’s Certificate of Medical Examination

Publisher's Description

Amazon Description: The comprehensive code resource for family-law attorneys. O'Connor's Texas Family Code Plus provides the entire Family Code, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, and Texas Rules of Evidence, all with up-to-date case annotations, as well as a host of other codes essential to your family-law practice.

This text, GEORGE ON TEXAS FAMILY LAW, PRECEDENT & PROCEDURE, is intended to be used as a casebook for a 3 hour course in Texas Family Law. The Texas Family Code which governs almost every aspect of domestic relations practice in Texas serves as a base for this textbook. The cases have been selected to provide students with a sampling of the disputes which have arisen under numerous sections of the Texas Family Code, while alerting the students to the fact that any select statute could be subject to a variety of interpretations. The procedural aspects of a family law case can have as much effect upon the outcome of a matter as do the substantive aspects. For this reason, the cases have been edited with some restraint so that they will not be viewed within a vacuum, but rather within a realistic procedural context.
-Publishers description

Understand better what you're learning in Family Law class and prepare effectively for exams by applying concepts as you learn them. This study guide includes over 210 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 28 questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam."
For each multiple-choice question, Professor Strasser provides a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. For these questions, Professor Strasser provides a thoughtful, comprehensive, yet brief model answer.