Family Law

From the publisher's website: "The most trusted name in law school outlines, Emanuel® Law Outlines support your class preparation, provide reference for your outline creation, and supply a comprehensive breakdown of topic matter for your entire study process. Created by Steve Emanuel while a law student at Harvard, these course outlines have been carefully revised and updated by Steve for over 30 years and have been relied on by generations of law students. Each book includes both capsule and detailed outline-format explanations and discussions of the critical issues, key topics, and cases you must know to master the course. Also included are exam questions with model answers, an alphabetical list of cases, and a table correlating the Emanuel®Law Outline to the leading casebooks."

From the publisher's website: "Examples & Explanations: Family Law, 5E provides readers with an in-depth understanding of complex family law principles and how they are applied in practice. Its clear organization breaks family law into distinct topics. Following the Examples and Explanations pedagogy, this book features examples based on challenging real-life situations followed by practical solutions in the explanations section. Citations and links to additional source material make the text a valuable research tool.

The Fifth Edition puts a greater emphasis on self-assessment and helping students prepare for a variety of testing approaches. There is a new focus on emerging national legislative trends, and the legal issues faced by same-sex partners are discussed across chapters. This edition includes new alternative dispute resolution (ADR) processes and professional responsibility issues arising from interdisciplinary roles.

Family law evolves quickly and the Fifth Edition captures recent developments while anticipating future policy challenges.

Features:

Updated chapters, including coverage of recent same-sex marriage decisions.
Updated and additional problems.
Sharper focus and detail in several chapters.
Text that is easily researched using the index and Table of Cases.
More identification and discussion of emerging policy issues."

Few areas of law practice cover as many issues as family law. The subject embraces marriage and divorce, annulment, custody of children, spousal and child support, complex property issues, paternity, domestic violence, adoption, and alternative means of reproduction. Each of these topics itself is complex. For example, within the broad subject of child custody lie the issues of interstate move away cases, international parental child abduction, and the impact of domestic violence on a parent’s right to custody or visitation. In addition to purely legal issues, family law has a large psychological component, touching on some of the most important and sensitive aspects of human nature and interaction, such as, what is a family, what are the rights and responsibilities of parents toward children, and how should society respond to child abuse and domestic violence? All of these issues, and more, are discussed in this Nutshell. The book provides a thorough introduction to this challenging field of practice.
Publisher's Description

Questions & Answers: Family Law, Third Edition, contains over 220 questions plus a practice final exam. These questions reflect the significant changes that have occurred since the last edition, such as the recognition of same-sex marriage nationwide, and some of the state practices that continue to diverge, including the role, if any, played by fault in divorce; which property is subject to distribution upon divorce; the protections, if any, that are afforded to individuals who have been in a cohabiting relationship; the conditions, if any, under which third parties are permitted to seek custody or visitation; and the kinds of prenuptial or postnuptial agreements that will be enforceable. For each multiple-choice question, Professor Strasser provides a detailed answer that indicates which of the four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. For these questions, Professor Strasser provides a thoughtful, comprehensive yet brief model answer.