Oil and Gas

This book has several groups of potential readers. Students and professors at law schools, undergraduate institutions, and graduate programs such as public policy, business, urban planning, and environmental studies can use the book instead of a case book or as a supplement to a case book. The material is adequately detailed to provide substantive topics that will fill an entire course or provide a more succinct description of complex issues from case books or professor-prepared readings. Attorneys, policymakers and their staff, and other individuals who encounter energy issues in their work also should find this book to be a useful introduction to the field of energy law and policy as well as a reference point for specific energy issues. The book provides a broad yet detailed understanding of the major components of energy systems, energy infrastructure, and energy markets and the laws that guide their development. It covers all major energy policy sectors including oil and gas extraction, electricity regulation, renewable energy development, and regulation of vehicles and transportation fuels. The book is timely—describing rapidly changing policy in environmental regulation such as hydraulic fracturing, planning for electric transmission lines, state carbon reduction and clean energy mandates, and natural gas and oil exports. It also places these recent developments in the context of the many long-lasting policies that created current energy infrastructure and markets.

This title addresses the component parts of the energy fuel cycle, as well as the market and government policies that oversee it. This Nutshell describes in detail the country’s traditional energy policy and also discusses the current challenges that confront it. Chapters cover the individual natural resources used to produce energy and the book concludes with the development of a clean energy policy for the future.

With an increase in fishing, energy extraction, and shipping activity, U.S. ocean and coastal areas are under increasing pressures from even more intensive use and development. This Nutshell, now in its 5th Edition, provides short summaries of state, national, and international law and policy relevant to practitioners and academics interested in the field of ocean and coastal law. The most recent edition, updating legal developments from previous editions, also offers new material on renewable energy, current beach access controversies, the Deepwater Horizon oil spill litigation, coastline adaptation to sea-level rise, climate change, marine litter, international law of the sea negotiations, and policy changes under President Trump’s administration.

This Hornbook, a revision of the Hemingway Hornbook, is the most comprehensive one-volume work on oil and gas law and taxation available today. For over three decades, Professor Richard Hemingway’s prior editions of this seminal work provided guidance to courts, lawyers, commentators, and students. Six distinguished scholars, Professors Anderson, Dzienkowski, Lowe, Peroni, Pierce, and Smith, have joined together to co-author a new version of this classic treatise. As a one-volume treatise, this work covers the substantive law of oil and gas and federal income taxation of oil and gas transactions. The first two chapters examine the mineral interest/estate and related transactions. The third chapter covers trespass and related issues. The fourth chapter covers adverse possession and dormant minerals. Chapters five through eight examine in detail the oil and gas lease. Chapter nine addresses transfers by the lessor and the lessee. Chapters ten through twelve are devoted to oil and gas taxation.

This text provides authoritative coverage of the legal rules that govern the development of privately owned mineral rights in the United States, which often also apply to government-owned resources. It covers topics such as the nature, protection, and conveyance of oil and gas rights, leasing, and taxation. The 7th edition tracks recent developments in the law and expands Appalachian coverage.

This treatise is a thorough assessment of the important and growing field of natural resources law. It provides comprehensive coverage of the laws, policies, and decision-making processes pertinent to the “core” commodity natural resources – rangeland, timber, mineral resources, energy resources, and water. It also covers the management and protection of non-commodity resources, such as wildlife, wilderness, and other types of preservation and recreation lands. As an essential addition to any environmental, natural resources, or public lands library, the book puts natural resources law in context with a review of the National Environmental Policy Act, a history of natural resources use and regulation, as well as a user-friendly description of resource economics.

Natural Resources Law and Policy is a user-friendly, concise, inexpensive text on how we manage our valuable resources. Written to be an enjoyable and informative guide to natural resources, rather than used as a dry reference source, the authors provide a broad conceptual overview of natural resource management while also explaining the major statutes, cases, and doctrines. The book is intended for three audiences - students (both graduate and undergraduate) seeking a readable study guide for their natural-resource and environmental courses; professors who do not use casebooks (relying on their own materials or case studies) but want an integrating text or want to include conceptual materials on the major legal issues; and practicing lawyers and professionals who want a readable overview of the field. The first part of the book explains the major themes and issues that cross-cut natural resources law as well as the relevant legal doctrines from administrative law, constitutional law, and standing. The second part of the book explores the management of specific natural resources – from fisheries, forests and frogs to national parks, oil and water, and others. A series of problem exercises run throughout the book, describing a legal or policy conflict in detail and asking students to identify and assess solutions. Textual boxes out set out the details of important judicial opinions.

This Concise Hornbook is a comprehensive, user-friendly review of the full range of important natural resources law issues. It surveys cases, statutes, regulations, legal developments, and policies that have shaped, and will continue to influence, natural resources law throughout the 20th century and the early 21st century. Topics include resource economics, jurisdictional and litigation constraints, the National Environment Policy Act (NEPA), public lands, wildlife, preservation, recreation, rangeland, timber, mining, and energy.

This work introduces the study of toxic torts and identifies the theories of liability related to both toxic products and environmental pollution. It also covers special defendants, such as employers, governmental entities, and government contractors; workers’ compensation; insurance coverage issues; key defenses such as statutes of limitations and preemption; causation and scientific evidence; and new theories of injury and damages. A chapter examines regulation of hazardous releases into the environment under the federal Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA). The work also addresses mass toxic torts and the procedural issues that accompany them. Substantial updates include liability for “take-home” toxins; sovereign immunity under the Federal Tort Claims Act and the government contractor defense; preemption of generic drug claims; and the any-exposure theory of causation. In addition to the complete update, the Sixth Edition also contains new material on the following: •Bare metal defense in asbestos litigation•Talc litigation•Opioid litigation•Impact of U.S. Supreme Court’s 2017 decision in Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. v. Superior Court on personal jurisdiction over drug manufacturers in product liability cases•Impact of U.S. Supreme Court’s 2016 decision in Spokeo, Inc. v. Robins on standing•The 2018 proposed amendments to Fed. R. Civ. P. 23 covering class action notice and settlements•Flint, Michigan, contaminated water litigation•PFOA/PFOS litigation