Oil and Gas

Since it was first published in 1977, Texas Litigation Guide has become an indispensable resource for Texas litigators. Dorsaneo, Texas Litigation Guide gives you the value of superior content and coverage. The guide is cited frequently by Texas courts and updated four times per year, while the competing publication from West is updated only once per year. This step-by-step guide also offers a comprehensive collection of litigation forms--from letters and notices to discovery requests, motions, petitions and appellate forms--to save you hours of time preparing pleadings, motions, petitions, and other forms.
• Concise, yet authoritative, analysis of Texas law, cited regularly by Texas courts
• Step-by-step procedural and drafting guides
• Hundreds of forms covering virtually any document needed for litigation in Texas courts

For Oil and Gas Leases, see ch. 283.

Energy Law and Transactions covers the energy industry, all traditional energy sources, such as oil, gas, electricity, and coal, as well as nontraditional energy technologies and sources, such as hydroelectricity, solar, nuclear, biomass, and cogeneration. These energy sources and technologies are discussed from cradle to grave--that is, from exploration and production through transmission, distribution, and final consumption by the end-user.
Energy Law and Transactions is the perfect reference and transactional resource for anyone interested in knowing the legal and business-related aspects of energy transactions. Practically written with model forms, tariffs, checklists, illustrations, and tables, it is the ideal tool for the energy practitioner involved with the preparation of energy contracts (from leases to contracts for the buying and selling energy), mergers and acquisitions, antitrust, tax, commodities, accounting, business, consulting, public utilities, and international transactions.

Increasingly cited by courts in oil and gas producing states, this treatise provides an exhaustive survey of oil and gas conveyancing and operations, with citations to authorities that help attorneys find a quick answer or case on point. Included is a detailed examination of:

• Insurance in connection with use and storage of oil and gas.
• Implied covenants and duties created by the oil and gas lease.
• Lease transfers and interests commonly carved out of leases in modern business transactions.
• Governmental regulation (by municipalities, counties, states and the federal government) regarding the leasing and sale of public land; securities; and the production, sale and transportation of oil and gas.

In addition, special volumes contain helpful research material: Volume Six, grouped by subject, includes oil and gas related statutes from all oil producing states; and Volume Seven offers necessary forms for transactions such as leases, unitization and operating agreements, a Table of Cases, and General Index.

A primer for beginners and a reference manual and research source for more experienced practitioners, Law of Federal Oil and Gas Leases provides expert legal analysis and a practical approach to problems and questions concerning federal oil and gas leases. Coverage includes:

• leasing legislation
• outer continental shelf leases
• Indian leasing
• right-of-way leasing
• royalties
• surface management requirements and special stipulations
• exploration, drilling, producing, and operating regulations
• state and local regulation
• lessee and transferee qualifications
• assignments and transfers of interests
• options and rights to acquire
• administrative procedures and judicial review
• federal land records and title examination, and much more

Covers gas contract terms and clauses; arbitration, sales, transportation, storage, warranty, and project-financing situations; and short-term agreements. It also provides many sample contracts.

A basic reference for attorneys dealing with complex legal issues involving federal lands or resources. It covers federal land use planning and the latest legislative, regulatory, and case law developments affecting the law of federal management and allocation of our natural resources.

A work for gas industry officials, administrators, and attorneys, this treatise examines the evolution of the gas industry. It includes comprehensive discussion of:

• distributor and pipeline organizations;
• rates, tariffs, and schedules;
• rates and service obligations of municipally- owned gas distributors;
• administrative procedures and judicial review;
• oil and gas transmission and distribution in frontier countries; and
• the impact of the electric utility industry restructuring on the natural gas industry

With Summers Oil and Gas you'll have a dramatic shortcut for taking prompt, effective action on oil and gas legal matters. This work:

• Compares and distinguishes oil and gas cases from every jurisdiction
• Discusses the statutes and regulations governing development, production, and transportation of oil and gas, including FERC Order 636
• Includes model forms, including sample instruments used in oil and gas transactions, and official state forms
• Examines court decisions affecting the oil and gas field of law
• Covers leases, rents, liens, partnerships, and taxation

Also included:

• Environmental indemnity forms
• International operating agreement
• Natural gas purchase agreement

Oil and gas law in Texas rests on a solid legal tradition, but is also in a constant state of change. Texas Law of Oil and Gas provides critical background and analysis of well-settled legal principles and also alerts you to important and as-yet-unsettled issues, including claims of royalty owners to share in settlements of take-or-pay disputes. Annual updates ensure your library stays current and helps you stay ahead of the curve. Trust Texas Law of Oil and Gas every time you handle an oil and gas issue in Texas, from LexisNexis, the name you trust for all your legal research needs.

Environmental Law provides an analytical discussion of relevant state and federal legislation and applicable caselaw. Written by more than 40 Texas experts on environmental law, this source offers considerable depth of coverage. Its practice-oriented design enables you to find answers systematically and efficiently.

It contains an overview of the requirements, liabilities, participants and jurisdictional issues of specific activities, plus practice-oriented insights.

Several chapters discuss oil and gas law, e.g. Ch. 25: Oil & Gas.

From business and commercial dealings to personal and real estate transactions, Texas Transaction Guide: Legal Forms contains information you need to successfully represent your client through any transactional process. Depend on step-by-step guidance, practice notes, research guides, legal backgrounds, practice guides and insightful commentary in your transaction law practice. Inside you'll find 5 units, covering:

• Business Entities
• Wills and Trusts
• Commercial Transactions
• Real Estate Tranactions
• Personal Transactions

For information on Oil and Gas Leases, see ch. 77.

Williams & Meyers, Oil and Gas Law is an authoritative and comprehensive treatise on the law relating to oil and gas. Frequently cited by the courts and highly regarded by oil and gas attorneys, the treatise monitors changes to the law as well as new and developing areas.
Avoid costly mistakes and handle the legal problems of the industry with the expert guidance you'll find on:

• Conveyancing, oil and gas leases, implied convenants, pooling and unitization, division and transfer orders, gas purchase contracts
• Drafting instruments, making title examinations, administering estates, and preparing wills and trusts
Included as part of this set is the handy Manual of Oil and Gas Terms, which defines over 5,700 legal, engineering, industrial, and tax terms, and supplies references to relevant cases and law review articles construing the terms.