Criminal Procedure (Federal)

Focusing on the pattern used by most states, the authors of Criminal Procedure provide step-by-step guidance through the typical state court criminal justice system. They explore every facet of criminal procedure from pre-arrest to pretrial, trial, postconviction, and appellate proceedings. Footnote documentation citing pivotal Supreme Court decisions is included. Topics covered include:

• Detection and investigation of crime
• Search and seizure and restrictions
• The scope and application of the Miranda rule
• The Sixth Amendment
• The adversary system and the determination of guilt and innocence
• Postconviction reviews
• Habeas corpus

Analyzes more than 3,700 decisions relating to criminal procedure. Includes all the noteworthy federal and state decisions of the past year. While emphasis is placed on Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Amendment law, also contains in-depth coverage of cases involving pretrial matters, guilty pleas, trials, evidence, sentencing, appeals, post-conviction proceedings, juries, and habeas corpus.

Comprehensive and authoritative coverage of all aspects of federal civil, criminal and appellate procedure, including rules of civil, criminal, and appellate procedure, rules of evidence, the federal judicial system, jurisdiction of all federal courts, venue, removal of cases, res judicata, relation of state and federal courts, multidistrict litigation, and more. Provides extensive analysis of each rule as interpreted and applied by the federal courts and affected by related statutes and rules. Includes official forms adopted with the rules. Contains numerous tables and couples key words, ideas, and legal concepts to index and cited decisions, statutes, and other relevant materials.

The Nutshell, revised to reflect amendments to the Federal Rules of Evidence, including restyling effective December 1, 2011, contains a crisp, clear, concise, and complete explanation of each Federal Rule of Evidence designed to prepare every student for the course final and the multistate bar examination. The United States Supreme Court's interpretation of the Confrontation Clause in Crawford/Davis and progeny is thoroughly analyzed as well. With respect to the definition of hearsay, the not hearsay definition, the most commonly encountered hearsay exceptions, expert witnesses, and character evidence even more exhaustive treatment is provided. Concrete illustrations are presented throughout.

Federal Trial Handbook: Criminal is a practical, take-it-to-court guide to the preparation and conduct of trials in federal courts. For use by both plaintiff attorneys and defense counsel, it provides reliable, quick answers in criminal trials. You'll receive detailed guidance on all major procedural and evidentiary issues, including admission and exclusion of evidence, as well as help preparing posttrial motions and appeals. Additionally, this publication gives you:

Procedures
Checklists
Practice tips
Source of material for posttrial motions
Publisher's Description

Moore's Federal Practice: Rules of Criminal Procedure has a rule-based organization, with a chapter devoted to each Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure, and additional chapters encompassing related proceedings such as habeas corpus. The treatise provides full annotations with in-depth evaluations of the decisions, and carefully analyzes issues not yet litigated to make the most comprehensive, accessible and up-to-date research tool for federal criminal practitioners. Publisher's Description

In the classic Search and Seizure: A Treatise on the Fourth Amendment, one of the nation's foremost authorities on the Fourth Amendment systematically interprets and applies the amendment to a variety of diverse fact patterns. Topics covered in this six-volume set include:

• The exclusionary rule and related remedies
• Protected areas and interests
• Probable cause
• Search warrants
• Stop and frisk
• Inspections
• Regulatory searches
• Administration of the exclusionary rule

From publisher: Search Warrant Law Deskbook covers the law as it applies to the federal level, all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. The two-volume text provides specific details on the application procedure, execution, and return and records procedure. It includes broad coverage of exceptions, written affidavits, confidential information, and a review of probable cause determinations. Other subjects include particularity, extent of search, search warrant problems, seizure of evidence, and jurisdictional requirements. It features:

Time-saving references for handling search and seizure cases
How to obtain a valid search warrant