Criminal Procedure (Federal)

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) hosts and facilitates the creation of CALI Lessons, a library of over 950 interactive legal tutorials written by law professors and geared towards law students. CALI is a 501(c)(3) non-profit consortium of law schools, law libraries and related organizations. Almost every United States law school is a member of CALI and they make up the bulk of our membership.

A comprehensive treatment of the rules and procedures that govern the pretrial processing of criminal suspects, and Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Amendment rights.

This Short and Happy Guide makes the law about police practices and criminal trial proceedings accessible and easy to remember. Learn the key points of search and seizure law, police interrogation, the right to counsel, the exclusionary rule, pretrial release, grand jury investigations, joinder, criminal discovery, plea bargaining, jury trials, pretrial publicity, double jeopardy, appeals, and post-conviction standards. Dominate your classes in Criminal Procedure and your skills courses in Trial Advocacy!

This product presents in checklist format the series of issues that must be understood in order to identify and resolve the range of legal issues presented in an examination question. Checklists are provided for all topics generally covered in the basic criminal procedure course.

Designed for use as supplemental reading in an advanced criminal procedure course on the post-investigation processing of a criminal case. Includes a clear, concise, and thorough narrative explanation of the issues involved in the prosecution and adjudication of a criminal case, from the decision to prosecute and pre-trial release through to sentencing, appeal and collateral attack. Ideal reference for students and practitioners.

Basic Criminal Procedure is a clear and comprehensive outline of the most important principles and issues taught in the basic Criminal Procedure law school course with emphasis on the 4th, 5th and 6th Amendment rules that govern federal and state law enforcement and courts. This Black Letter is comprehensive in its coverage. It examines a wide range of legal doctrines, including:
The Incorporation Doctrine
Exceptions to the Warrant requirement
Remedies for 4th Amendment violations
The Privilege Against Self-Incrimination
Confessions
Miranda
Massiah
Constitutional Limits on Identification Evidence
The Right to Counsel
Effective Assistance of Counsel
and the Right to Counsel.

Major Supreme Court cases are thoroughly analyzed, including an examination of separate opinions by Supreme Court Justices. Basic Criminal Procedure also provides sample examination questions and answers, which have been updated to conform to recent decisions by the Court.

Basic Criminal Procedure also provides a glossary of important terms that law students need to understand as they examine judicial decisions. It also contains a Capsule Summary which serves as a short outline of the major doctrines covered at length in the text.

This title analyzes the law governing all major steps in the criminal justice process, beginning with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks. All major themes are covered, with emphasis upon those basic issues deemed most significant in the case law and literature. Because of their special importance, leading Supreme Court opinions are given in-depth treatment. All Hornbook sections are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors’ 7-volume Criminal Procedure treatise (readily available on Westlaw database CRIMPROC) containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.

This Nutshell is intended for use by law students of constitutional criminal procedure. It is a succinct analysis of the constitutional standards of major current significance. It covers search and seizure (including wiretapping), interrogation, identification, right to counsel, self-incrimination, bail, trial rules, and appellate process. The book does not cover state or federal statutes or other non-constitutional standards. The text provides the scope and highlights you need to excel in understanding this field. This will enable you to answer exam questions more quickly and accurately, and enhance your skills as an attorney.

Unlike casebooks, this title provides rich narrative detail of the human stories — and the social, political, and legal contexts — of notable Supreme Court cases on criminal justice. It includes details not available elsewhere, and offers the insights of respected scholars who are experts on the particular cases and issues they address. This book will greatly enhance the teaching both of police practices (a.k.a "Cops and Robbers") and of criminal adjudication (a.k.a "Bail to Jail").

This readable book walks step-by-step through the criminal adjudication process, from the post-arrest bail decision and the right to counsel through the post-trial direct appeal. It analyzes the main cases and statutes in each area, showing how the doctrine has developed and its current state. The book also places great emphasis on the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, working through their text in a clear, understandable way, explaining not only the law but the strategic issues that a lawyer might face. This is the ideal book for the student who wants both a broad overview of how the parts of the process fit together and enough detail to understand the thorny problems that are most likely to arise on an exam and in practice. This book works equally well as a stand-alone text or as a supplement to a traditional casebook.

This study aid will enhance understanding of criminal procedure and sharpen exam skills. There are three comprehensive sample examinations, containing 40 questions each. It contains answers that explain why one choice is correct and why the alternatives are wrong.

A criminal procedure outline that highlights all of the key criminal procedure decisions from the U.S. Supreme Court in an easy-to-read and easy-to-understand format that includes check lists, visual aids, and practice exam questions (and answers) — both essay and short answer.

Topics covered include: Fourth Amendment search and seizure — including arrests and other detentions; the exclusionary rule; confessions — including the rules established by Miranda v. Arizona and the Fifth Amendment privilege against compelled self-incrimination; and a discussion of trial rights — such as the right to a speedy trial, the right to trial by jury, and the right to counsel. The outline also discusses bail, the government’s “Brady” obligations to disclose exculpatory evidence, the burden of proof, guilty pleas, sentencing, the death penalty, ex post facto issues, appellate rights, habeas corpus, prisoners’ rights, double jeopardy, and juvenile offenders.

The outline is an effective supplement to all criminal procedure textbooks, and standing alone provides a sound overview of all major constitutional criminal procedure issues.

Here is an overview of constitutional issues that arise when searches, seizures, and interrogations occur outside the United States. Global Issues examines prosecutions in U.S. courts that involve evidence obtained abroad and the reach of the Fourth Amendment when the searches and seizures involve U.S. citizens abroad compared with non-U.S. citizens. Cases such as Verdugo-Urquidez and Alvarez-Machain are included, along with sections on electronic surveillance and the reach of the Fifth Amendment and Due Process Clause abroad, plus materials on torture and extraordinary renditions. There is also a short discussion of indefinite detention in places like Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, Afghanistan, and in other sites.

With Law School Legends, you’ll get a brilliant law school professor explaining an entire subject to you in one simple, dynamic lecture. The Law School Legends make even the most difficult concepts crystal clear. You’ll understand the big picture, and how all the concepts fit together. In this lecture, professor Mary Cheh of George Washington University Law School covers the basic Criminal Procedure course, which is primarily investigative criminal procedure in schools where they divide the course into two topics. One of investigative criminal procedure, and the other of criminal procedure adjudication.

Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.

Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.

This book gives you everything you need to know about basic criminal procedure principles, presented in a no-nonsense fashion. It includes references to recent, relevant decisions handed down by the United States Supreme Court. In addition, Principles of Criminal Procedure contains helpful study devices such as "focal points" at the beginning of each chapter, and "points to remember" at the end of each section. This is the only study aid you will need to help you understand basic criminal procedure principles in U.S. law.

This book, for use in connection with a course focused upon crime detection and investigation, examines various investigative procedures, including search and seizure, network surveillance, entrapment, interrogation, lineup and photo identification, and grand jury investigation; describes the scope and administration of exclusionary rules relating to those procedures; and also discusses the right to counsel. All sections in the book are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' seven-volume Criminal Procedure treatise containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.

This book, for use in connection with a course focused upon the formal part of the criminal process, covers counsel, bail, the charging decision, preliminary hearing and grand jury review, the prosecution's location and scope, speedy trial, pleading and discovery, guilty pleas, jury trial, pretrial publicity, the trial, double jeopardy, sentencing, appeal, and collateral attack. All sections in the book are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' seven-volume Criminal Procedure treatise containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.

For law students of constitutional criminal procedure, Principles of Investigative Criminal Procedure will assist them in learning about Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Amendment issues associated with criminal investigations. This volume is an effort to provide a comprehensive, though “Concise,” treatise for law students and attorneys. The materials discuss and analyze the criminal procedure jurisprudence of the United States Supreme Court, with extensive use of primary source material that affects judges, prosecutors, defense counsel, and criminal defendants. Discussions relate to breakthrough decisions like Miranda v. Arizona and United States v. Jones, as well as lower court cases adding a nuance to topics already well-developed in prior Court decisions. “The Court” is a phrase used hundreds of times as a shorthand reference to the work of the United States Supreme Court. Footnotes provide specific page citations in United States Reports for a quick reference to Westlaw. The coverage of this book extends to United States Supreme Court cases through the 2023-2024 Term.

This product is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of criminal procedure clear and convenient and to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main text is an outline of the substantive content. The concise format provides a comprehensive overview, allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.

This audio lecture introduces the Fourth Amendment and discusses retroactivity, harmless error, and incorporation. It includes an issue checklist and examines the Katz search doctrine. It analyzes various surveillance and search methods and covers the exclusionary rule, entrapment, interrogations, pretrial procedures, trial, and the right to counsel.