The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) hosts and facilitates the creation of CALI Lessons, a library of over 950 interactive legal tutorials written by law professors and geared towards law students. CALI is a 501(c)(3) non-profit consortium of law schools, law libraries and related organizations. Almost every United States law school is a member of CALI and they make up the bulk of our membership.
This course explores the formation of a contract; the creation and interpretation of contract terms; the variety of defenses to a contract; the rights and obligations pertaining to the performance and breach of a contract; and the types of remedies.
This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but none offer the systematic approach to problem solving found in this book.
These outlines are designed to help law students recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. They can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject areas.
Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts
Recommended in more than 100 schools, the updated seventh edition of Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts is a readable primer that offers first-year law students a reliable overview of the major themes and leading cases in the field of the law of contracts. This contracts primer is straightforward and uncluttered, covering the main themes of the first-year contracts course, together with related cases.
This book brings contract law to life through contemporary problems to help students build a skill set they can use in practice. In the real world of practice, abstract contract principles are applied to specific factual settings. Facts don't arrive pre-digested and regurgitated for baby birds or law associates. This book pickpockets life for real-world documents and contemporary situations to help students learn how contract law works in practice. Concise discussion of the law accompanying each problem provides a base for students and enough material for traditional Socratic method teaching. Imperfect but real contracts will give students the chance to see how client counseling, fact gathering and careful crafting of contract language can help clients avoid disputes. Stories from art, sports and internet games make the contract concepts vivid and memorable to facilitate student engagement and productive classroom discussion.
The author provides a detailed treatment of the basic rules, principles, and issues in contracts. Topics covered include offer and acceptance, parol evidence and interpretation, consideration, promissory estoppel, contracts under seal, capacity of parties, conditions, performance, and breach. The author also discusses damages, avoidance and reformation, third-party beneficiaries, assignments, and the statute of frauds. The discharge of contracts and illegal bargains are also the subject of separate chapters.
This Nutshell provides a comprehensive guide to the law of contracts. It contains expert explanations of contract concepts under both the common law and Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code. It also includes the basics of the Law of Restitution and an introduction to digital contracting.
Contracts Stories- An In-Depth Look at The Leading Contract Cases (Stories Series)
In this offering, the editors are joined by other leading contracts scholars in placing the major cases in contract law in their historical and cultural context. Each of the 11 short and readily accessible chapters provides newly uncovered facts about and insights into the cases that lie at the core of the first-year contracts class. Long-standing puzzles are answered and these answers in turn are linked to the larger political and social forces at work, demonstrating how these forces have shaped the evolution of contract law.
This book seeks to aid the professor who wants to introduce skills training within the context of a traditional doctrinal course. Legal education is on the cusp of a new era. Law students and the profession are demanding that students leave law school better prepared for practice, with lawyering skills in place. Concurrently, learning science has shown that experiential learning (for example, a skills-based simulation) improves student outcomes with regard to mastery of a subject. Incorporating skills training into a traditional Contracts course is challenging, however, as professors feel constrained to cover the basics of doctrinal law and may not feel well-equipped to teach skills. The book provides ten independent exercises designed to introduce students to the skills of legal drafting, client interviewing and counseling, and negotiation and advocacy, but with a particular emphasis on contract drafting, as that skill is so closely tied in to Contracts. Each exercise is based on fundamental Contracts rules and doctrines so that the book can be used as a supplemental text with any doctrinal casebook. Students are required to spend a manageable one to two hours on such tasks as replying to a client e-mail, writing a demand letter to an opposing party, interviewing and counseling a client, litigating a breach of contract claim, negotiating a contract term and an amendment to a contract, and drafting specific parts of a contract, such as a representation or a condition, as well as negotiating and drafting a settlement agreement.
Brain's Exam Pro on Contracts, Objective Questions includes over 330 objective questions covering every substantive area of Contract Law. Each answer choice explains why each answer is either correct or incorrect. Elements and rules are explained in easy-to-understand language, with a step-by-step guide on how to analyze question-types. Liberal citation to applicable sections of the Restatement (Second) Contracts, the Uniform Commercial Code, and important contract law cases, allows the students to match a question to his or her outline and class discussion. Exam preparation tips include how to prepare for graded exams, how professors construct multiple choice questions, and how to avoid common “distracters.”
This Exam Pro consists of essay questions actually given by Contracts professors throughout the United States. Every question contains a detailed explanation, along with analytical steps explained in easy-to-understand, basic language, and a step-by-step guide on how to analyze each major issue. Both Professor “model” answers and student “actual” answers are provided to allow students to get a feel for all the issues that could have been discussed on some questions, and what is realistic for a student to actually answer under timed conditions. The Preface includes tips on how to take essay exams. A general “List of Issues” covered on each question is provided, so the student can decide whether or not to use a particular question given the course coverage in the student’s Contracts class. Similarly, an “Index of Issues” is provided so the student can easily find all the questions that deal with a particular substantive issue which allows for repetitive testing on a troublesome issue. Each answer includes cross-references to the applicable sections of the Restatement (Second) Contracts and the Uniform Commercial Code, and citations to the more important cases in Contracts law, allowing the student to easily match the subject matter of the question to his or her outline and class discussion. Cross-references are included in every answer to relevant portions of Sum & Substance: Quick Review of Contracts, allowing for easy reference if more substantive knowledge is either needed or desired.
These electronic flashcards present objective questions on legal topics covered in your law school courses. Helpful explanations accompany correct answers, providing a great way to test your knowledge in black letter law for class and exam preparation.
This Contracts outline discusses consideration (including promissory estoppel and moral or past consideration), mutual assent, defenses (including mistake, fraud, duress, unconscionability, statute of frauds, and illegality), third-party beneficiaries, and assignment of rights and delgation of duties. It also covers conditions, substantial performance, material v. minor breach, anticipatory breach, impossibility, discharge, and remedies (including damages, specific performance, and liquidated damages).
This supplementary text facilitates the introduction of international, comparative, and transnational legal issues into the basic contracts course. It covers status and scope of the U.N. Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG), contract formation issues, formal requirements, ambiguity of contract terms, parol evidence under domestic law and under the CISG, irrevocable offers, performance and breach, and comparative and CISG approaches to remedies. It is designed to inform but not overburden the basic contracts course. It also contains carefully drafted problems and notes.
With Law School Legends, students get a brilliant law school professor explaining an entire subject in one simple, dynamic lecture. In these audio CDs, Professor David Epstein explains the important contract law concepts, the relationship among those concepts, and how a student can use the concepts to answer any question a professor might ask in class or on the exam.
Principles of Contract Law (Concise Hornbook Series)
This overview of contract law explains concepts clearly and concisely, in an informal, often humorous style that has made it popular with students over the years. For ease of reading and understanding, the book refrains from including complex textual footnotes. Instead, the footnotes cite cases, with most including short quotations to substantiate assertions made in the text. The book also contains numerous examples and illustrations. Cross references enable readers to review concepts that constitute building blocks for the current material.
Quick Review of Contracts is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of law clear and convenient, and it is designed to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main body is an outline of the substantive content that a stuent needs to prepare for a law school exam. The concise format provides a "Big Picture" overview allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.
This efficient and exceedingly effective guide to Contracts will help you see the big picture. The authors focus on making the key concepts of contract law, and the relationship among those concepts, easier to understand and retain. The authors have also infused the book with humor, believing there is nothing inconsistent between a rigorous academic experience and having a little fun. Each of the authors is nationally-renowned law teacher who has taught Contracts for decades. Based on that experience, in this book they have set forth understandable techniques for mastering the law governing each critical aspect of the contract relationship, including, contract formation (offer and acceptance), enforcement (consideration and defenses), interpretation, performance, breach, and remedies.
Convenient and effective Sum and Substance tape presents the essentials of contract law in a clear, succinct, time-saving format. Includes quick reference indexing, allowing you to quickly locate all topics in the recording, and informed exam tips to maximize your performance. Sections discuss: offer and acceptance, consideration, definition, sufficiency, adequacy, forbearance, past consideration, preexisting-duty rule, payment-in-full checks, promissory estoppel, statute of frauds, parole evidence rule, mistake, fraud, duress, undue influence, illegality, incapacity, unconscionability, impossibility, conditions and promises, anticipatory repudiation, third-party beneficiaries, assignment and delegation, and remedies.