Property

When it’s exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel® CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers – you will be prepared for your next big test.

Here's why you will need Emanuel® CrunchTime to help you ace your exams:

Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam.
Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester
Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns. Amazon Description

The most trusted name in law school outlines, Emanuel® Law Outlines support your class preparation, provide reference for your outline creation, and supply a comprehensive breakdown of topic matter for your entire study process. Created by Steve Emanuel while a law student at Harvard, these course outlines have been carefully revised and updated by Steve for over 30 years and have been relied on by generations of law students. Each book includes both capsule and detailed outline-format explanations and discussions of the critical issues, key topics, and cases you must know to master the course. Also included are exam questions with model answers, an alphabetical list of cases, and a table correlating the Emanuel®Law Outline to the leading casebooks.

Publisher's description

Estates in Land and Future Interests: Problems and Answers provides a clear and systematic presentation of the rules and classifications of estate law. Problem sets in each chapter let students practice applying the rules and assigning the classifications of estates and future interests, carefully leading students from one level of complexity to the next. It includes 550 hypothetical problems that thoroughly cover the rules and their application, explanations of the answers to every problem, and an up-to-date treatment of the Rules Against Perpetuities that ensures continued usefulness for bar exam preparation. It has an organization that reflects the authors' highly successful method for learning the classifications for estates and future interests, the rules governing those classifications, and the Rules Against Perpetuities, which build on a knowledge of both the classifications and the rules.
It's systematic coverage of common law, clear and concise explanations of classifications of interests and estates, Correlation Chart that links topics covered in this book to those in the leading first-year Property casebooks. It is updated throughout and with many new and updated problem. By applying the rules and classifications to hypothetical problems, students can successfully master this intricate and challenging area of Property and Wills, Trusts, and Estates courses. Clear textual explanations and comprehensive problem sets in each chapter cover all of the rules as they are applied in practice.

Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions.

Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application.

The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here’s why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom:

It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application.
Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work.
Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick. Amazon Description

This law school casebook presents a simple, concise text, providing information in outline form. An excellent introduction with many references to the historical development of this area of law. Chapters include background, freehold estates, nonfreehold estates, seisin and its significance, common law type of future interests, the rule in Shelley’s case and the doctrine of worthier title, common law methods of conveyancing, uses and the statute of uses, the effect of the statute of uses, and concurrent ownership.

Publisher's description

With a stronger emphasis on accessibility, the Second Edition of Introduction to Property gives students a much-needed overview of the law of property, addressing all the classic and contemporary topics covered in the typical first-year course. Equally useful with any casebook, this exceptional paperback text clearly explains property rules and doctrine through a textual treatment, describing the complicated and antiquated property laws in a lively, contemporary manner and including numerous examples to help students understand the law. It emphasizes disagreements among states about the applicable rules of property law, with explanations of why states adopt different rules and clarifies the norms and policy bases of property law through a balanced account of the various theoretical approaches to property, enabling students to understand the reasoning behind the law, including the reasons why states do not always agree on what rules to follow. It also teaches students to spot issues by explaining how courts interpret ambiguous elements in rules and identifying situations likely to give rise to exceptions and prepares students for class and for exams by modeling correct answers to hard cases in which the law is unclear. By giving short summaries of the strongest arguments on both sides, students learn real-world skills for analyzing problems, rather than just memorizing black letter law, draws on the expertise of Joseph Singer, a leading property scholar who has authored a very popular property casebook and maintains a balanced perspective. The Second Edition introduces much new material and the text is redesigned for easier access, with special features highlighted so they can be easily distinguished from the rest of the text. It includes new Supreme Court cases on regulatory takings, new court interpretations of the Fair Housing Act and the Americans with Disabilities Act, new state statutes, such as the New York statute prohibiting discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation in housing and public accommodations and footnotes, cases, and statutes updated with citations to recent cases and updated problems reflect recent court decisions.

Present and Future Estates in Land and Comparable Interests in Personality; Relations Between Owners of Present and Future Estates; Concurrent Ownership; Law of Waste; Landlord and Tenant; Traditional Duties With Respect to Condition of Premises; Landlord's New Duties to Maintain Premises; Landlord's Liability for Personal Injuries and Criminal Activity; Transfers and Termination of Leaseholds; Nuisance Law; Rights of Support; Riparian Rights; Underground and Surface Water; Easements and Profits; Real Covenants; Equitable Servitudes; Constitutional Limitations on Land-Use Regulations; Introduction to Zoning Law; Introduction to Other Land-Use Regulations; Contracts for the Sale of Land; Deeds; Land Descriptions; Adverse Possession; Recording Acts; Title Insurance.

Publisher's description

Cases and statutory law are updated and the material reorganized; conforms with modern law school course in real property. Chapters open with brief outlines of the law encompassed within, providing an overview of rules in that area. This is followed by a series of factually-based problems designed to generate thoughts about how these rules could be applied in real life situations. In turn followed by statement of applicable law and analysis of legal issues raised, plus likely outcomes and current citations of the various laws.

Publisher's description

Amazon Description: Jesse Dukeminier’s trademark wit, passion, and human interest perspective has made Property, now in its Eighth Edition, one of the best—and best loved—casebooks of all time. A unique blend of authority and good humor, you’ll find a moveable feast of visual interest, compelling cases, and timely coverage of contemporary issues. In the Eighth Edition, the authors—along with new co-author Lior Jacob Strahilevitz—have created a thoughtful and thorough revision, true to the spirit of the Late Jesse Dukeminier.

Features:

Thoroughly updated throughout with the expansion of many topics and the introduction of new topics.
Extended material on intellectual property with new cases on patents, copyright, and trademarks.
New material on exclusion, abandonment, and destruction, with new cases and discussion.
Introduction of a comprehensive treatment of the mortgage crisis with new cases and notes on foreclosure, proposals to reform the legal system and proposals to revamp housing finance.

This overview of property law addresses both classic and contemporary topics covered in the first-year property course in a clear, accessible format. The book offers clear explanations of property law through textual treatment, with numerous examples, analytical discussion of key cases, and issues followed by hypotheticals. Emphasis is placed on disagreements among states about the applicable rules of property law, with explanations of the conflicting issues.

Publisher's description

This casebook is designed to introduce property law to 21st century law students. It covers the standard property topics with a blend of familiar and modern cases selected to appeal to today’s students. It also includes sections on intellectual property and environmental law.
-Amazon description

This work, widely relied upon and often cited by the courts, offers comprehensive and concise coverage of the law of torts, with scholarly and analytical discussion of particular rules. The appendices contain Reporter's Notes, citations to court decisions, as well as cross references to key numbers and ALR annotations.

Note that there are several volumes that fall into the broader subject of Property - these include: Mortgages; Servitudes; Wills and Other Donative Transfers; Landlord and Tenant.

Publisher's description

This Annotated Promissory Note is intended to provide the practitioner with a comprehensive form of promissory note evidencing a permanent loan in a commercial context that is secured by a first lien on improved real property located in Texas.

The broad purposes of this volume are to provide the practitioner with a series of detailed annotations drawing on statutory law, case law, practical observations, and drafting concepts for use by practitioners and their clients in a commercial real estate practice. This volume contains significant commentary from numerous commercial lending lawyers, contributing insights not normally available to real estate practitioners.

Texas Annotated Real Estate Forms, Volume 1: Promissory Note provides the following:

Assistance in the preparation of promissory notes, deeds of trust, and other loan documents
A valuable tool for counsel, whether representing the borrower or the lender, in negotiating a promissory note
A resource for the preparation and negotiation of legal opinions in commercial lending transactions
A valuable tool for the training of lawyers

Publisher's Description

West's Texas Practice Series is a set of volumes that provides comprehensive coverage of many areas of Texas law, and is written by a variety of different practitioners. While there is no single volume exclusively devoted to property, the subject matter is touched upon in several volumes such as Foreclosure, Land Titles and Title Examination, Law of Wills, and Probate and Decedents Estates.

Publisher's description

Texas Real Estate Guide puts at your fingertips more than 540 Texas real estate transaction and litigation forms drawn from the most trusted sources -- Texas Transaction Guide and Dorsaneo, Texas Litigation Guide. Plus, there are step-by-step checklists on virtually all real estate matters to help you master important key issues and avoid costly errors.

Included are detailed bibliographies on every covered topic, along with comprehensive finding tools such as: topical indices, a separate forms index, topical statute bibliographies, and cross references between the transaction chapters and litigation chapters.

Whether your clients are landlords or tenants, architects or contactors, buyers or sellers, you'll have quick access to the legal background and comprehensive analysis you need to provide the best possible representation. Plus, our two experts contribute valuable commentary and practice tips. Links to referenced cases and codified statutes are sure to speed up your research.

Publisher's description

The newly updated Texas Real Estate Forms Manual provides guidance in preparing documents for a wide range of transactions and features practical commentary to aid the lawyer in adapting the forms to clients’ needs. This four-volume manual will enhance your practice, enabling you to assemble its 387 forms quickly and accurately. Save time and money with the Texas Real Estate Forms Manual, in the format that suits you best: online subscription, digital download only, or hard copy plus digital download.

Practice notes in this valuable resource provide synopses of the relevant law and helpful practical advice for the practitioner on a wide range of real estate topics, all coming from a committee of real estate attorneys. Topics include:

Foreclosure
Leasing
Water law
Insurance
Property owners associations & condominiums
Risk allocation
Federal lending regulations
The new 2018 Supplement updates the manual to reflect 2017 legislative changes.

This unique self-teaching Guide facilitates the understanding of complex materials from Property courses. Chronologically organized material familiarizes students with basic concepts and necessary technical vocabulary. The authors graphically explain complex concepts, and provide extensive problem and answer sets. Topics include basic possessory estates, remainders and executory interests in response to the statute of uses, modifications of the common law scheme, and interesting complexities and modern changes.

Publisher's description

This comprehensive and authoritative Understanding treatise is suitable for use in conjunction with any Property casebook. Features include:
• Complete coverage of all standard property topics, including landlord-tenant law, adverse possession, rights in personal property, estates and future interests, marital property, land sale transactions, servitudes, nuisance, zoning, takings, and other land use issues;
• Analysis of cutting-edge topics, such as property rights in human bodies, current takings issues, the new Restatement (Third) of Property (Servitudes), rights and duties of homeowners' associations, and property rights in personal names and likenesses;
• Discussion of the policy and historical underpinnings of property law doctrines; and
• Clear writing and detailed organization to facilitate student understanding of both basic concepts and controversial topics.

Publisher's description

This title provides a basic introduction to estates and future interests law. Designed to offer solid knowledge of the area’s central concepts, it guides readers through a series of increasingly complex conveyances. The workbook begins with an analysis of the fee simple estate and builds sequentially toward more complicated interests and conveyances. The information proceeds from the simple to more complex, later problems building on the successful command of earlier material. Each problem is followed not only by that problem’s answer but also by a complete analysis of how the answer was derived. The workbook also contains an extensive glossary, summary charts, and a set of review problems that test the reader’s developing mastery of the material.