Evidence

Thousands of lawyers refer to this popular resource for expert guidance on criminal evidence issues. Written by a team of four leading attorneys with years of combined expertise in evidence law, this book presents an analytical framework that simplifies evidence law and helps you understand the issues.
With a wealth of information packed into two volumes, this is one resource you can count on for quick reference and expert advice anytime. Learn about the latest developments in evidence law, including:

• evidentiary issues posed by fax, e-mail, caller ID, and computer generated animations;
• scientific evidence;
• polygraph evidence;
• evidence obtained from automobile stops and other searches and seizures;
• chain-of-custody issues; and
• the latest amendments to the Federal Rules of Evidence.

Publisher's description

Written by two nationally respected evidence scholars, Federal Evidence, 4th is among the most cited references in judicial opinion. It is a staple of the bench and finds a place in legal libraries in every state of the country.

Even as the Federal Rules of Evidence have been dramatically amended over the years since their adoption in 1975 and interpretive caselaw has exploded, the authors have stayed true to their original mission: to provide a practical tool, both comprehensive and manageable, for litigators and judges.

Organized rule by rule, the set provides:
• Citation to selected primary authority, organized by federal circuit
• Discussion of settled law, areas of court disagreement, and guidance to coming controversies
• Useful application in the courts of the 44 states that have adopted the federal rules model; state caselaw is cited where its interpretive authority is helpful
• The full text of each rule and Advisory Committee notes

Publisher's description

Comprehensive and authoritative coverage of all aspects of federal civil, criminal and appellate procedure, including rules of civil, criminal, and appellate procedure, rules of evidence, the federal judicial system, jurisdiction of all federal courts, venue, removal of cases, res judicata, relation of state and federal courts, multidistrict litigation, and more. Provides extensive analysis of each rule as interpreted and applied by the federal courts and affected by related statutes and rules. Includes official forms adopted with the rules. Contains numerous tables and couples key words, ideas, and legal concepts to index and cited decisions, statutes, and other relevant materials.

Publisher's description

Federal Rules of Evidence 3d sets out each rule with expert analysis and practice commentary by Georgetown law professor and trial lawyer Paul Rothstein, an acknowledged expert on the rules and their practical application in litigation and trial.

Revised to include the restyling of of the Federal Rules of Evidence that was effective December 1, 2011, this title includes:
• A side-by-side comparison of each restyled rule with its prior version
• Practice Comments broken down into clear, convenient, understandable headings and subheadings, making it easier to find solutions to your particular issue
• Essential facts and holdings of important cases that pinpoint the case's relevance to your issue
• Diversity of authority where there is more than one view, so you can find a view that favors your client and be prepared for your opponent's view

Publisher's description

Handbook of Federal Evidence consists of the federal rules of evidence and materials designed to aid in understanding, construing, and applying them. It strives to fulfill the principal objective of providing to the trial attorney and presiding judge–whether in court, in chambers, or in the office–a clear, precise, and, where possible, concise statement of what the law of evidence is, pursuant to the Federal Rules of Evidence. To better accomplish this objective, a softbound volume called Ready Access accompanies the convenient-to-use hardbound set.

Publisher's description

Jones on Evidence: Civil and Criminal offers detailed coverage of the Federal Rules of Evidence, state evidence codes, and applicable caselaw, and integrates coverage of relevant rules of civil and criminal procedure. In addition to analyzing and critiquing the rules and court decisions, it also explains how attorneys can operate effectively within the rules and avoid missteps that are likely to result in exclusion of evidence or potential reversal on appeal.

This publication also:
• Serves as a reliable source on all areas of civil and criminal evidence
• Provides highlights of significant recent decisions
• Contains cautions against presentation methods found to be inadmissible

Publisher's description

Recognized as the foremost authority on evidence law today, McCormick on Evidence offers comprehensive and authoritative analysis of the rules and theory of evidence, covering:

• The Federal Rules of Evidence, as well as state law in jurisdictions not conforming to the federal rules
• Accepted practice and theory, current issues, and leading caselaw
• An in-depth examination of character and similar-act evidence in civil and criminal cases
• The principles governing the admissibility of scientific evidence, along with a survey of major scientific tests or concepts encountered in physics, chemistry, psychology, and statistics
• A thorough examination of the hearsay rule as well as its relationship to the Confrontation Clause
• The evidentiary problems of authentication caused by rapid developments in technology
• Questions surrounding constitutional, common law, and statutory privileges

When there are specific questions of evidence for which a jurisdiction has no precedent, this treatise provides both general theories that may be argued to suggest the answer and varying views from other jurisdictions.

Publisher's description

Benefit from step-by-step guidance and a variety of practice-friendly features.
This indispensable practice tool provides substantive and procedural guidance to all the evidentiary issues you could encounter throughout the trial process in Texas. Includes five easy-to-update office books and a trial book. Simply copy relevant material from office books and place behind tabs in trial book for use in court.
Whether you're a new or experienced trial attorney, you'll also save time with helpful practice aids such as: how to object and how to respond to an objection on all grounds- relevancy, competency, "best evidence," and hearsay; scripts on what to say in court; direct quotes of relevant statutes and rules; master checklists of motions; and much more.

Coverage includes:
• Presenting and opposing motions in limine, using affidavits as foundations for documentary evidence
• Assertion of privileges, admission of testimony, expert opinions, and documentary evidence, and effective cross-examination
• Leading case authorities
• Procedural guidance concerning trial settings, continuances, special exceptions and pleadings, amendments, oral depositions, recusal motions, consolidation and severance, jury selction, motions for judgment, and closing argument.

Publisher's description

Successful Texas lawyers turn to Texas Courtroom Evidence for answers to evidence questions. It provides comprehensive coverage of Texas Evidence Law, including the latest decisions addressing specific areas of interest such as the following:

• Binding admissions made by attorney during oral argument
• Admissibility of DPS accident reports
• Testimony of expert witnesses
• Admissibility of statements to insurance companies
• Requirements of admissibility of similar accidents
• Authentication of "enhanced" audio tape
• Judicial notice of another state's laws versus choice of law questions

Publisher's description

Texas Evidentiary Foundations is the ideal one-volume guide for overcoming common, and not-so-common, evidentiary problems in the courtroom. This accessible and popular manual shows you how to frame predicate questions to gain admission or exclusion of specific types of evidence and includes a list of the foundational elements and examples of specific lines of questioning for establishing these elements. Each foundation is accompanied by a clear explanation of the supporting principles of Texas evidence law. Packed with proven trial techniques, Texas Evidentiary Foundations will help you prepare for every evidentiary challenge you may face at trial.

Publisher's description

Evidence guides Texas criminal and civil litigators step by step through the discovery process, providing analysis and easy-to-use forms, checklists, and practice tips. Written by top judges and attorneys from across the nation, it contains:

• Citations to leading and recent caselaw
• Cross-references to forms, digest topics, caselaw, codes, statutes, and other analytical products
• Proven strategies, tactics, and time-saving tips from judges and experienced practitioners
• Topics and procedures developed step by step, showing you when, where, and how to do it
• Illustrations based on actual case

Publisher's description

Guide to the Texas Rules of Evidence: Civil and Criminal offers practical and comprehensive exploration of the Texas Rules of Evidence. The authors incorporate all significant rules, statutes, and cases interpreting state evidence rules, such as:

• Texas Rules of Civil Evidence
• Texas Rules of Criminal Evidence
• Federal Rules of Evidence with notes by the Federal Judicial Center
• Advisory Committee Notes
• Relevant legislative history

Publisher's description

The authority on Federal Evidence Rules saves you valuable research time. Here's hands-on accessibility to expert guidance, in a convenient single volume.

• Useful on its own as a convenient quick reference guide, or as a companion to the six-volume masterwork, Weinstein's Federal Evidence.
• A practical desktop and courtroom answer guide
Includes incisive analysis by Judge Weinstein
• Judge Weinstein's valuable commentary covers each Rule. You'll find discussion of the reason behind the Rule, its philosophy and practice, and how to use it to your advantage
• Contains authoritative federal case citations

Publisher's description

Weinstein's Federal Evidence is the backbone of any proper federal litigator's library. Comprehensive and authoritative, Weinstein's is cited in an average of half a dozen federal opinions every month, and was cited by the United States Supreme Court in most of its leading evidence decisions over the past decade.

• Recently revised to reflect the style amendments to the Federal Rules of Evidence that took effect on December 1, 2011.
• Chapters are organized by rule number, and the discussion in each chapter is broken down into logical descriptive topical section headings to enable users to quickly find the specific information for which they are looking.
• The analytical text focuses on the current state of the law and includes footnotes organized by circuits (with brief descriptions of each case), while retaining information on the historical development of the law in historical appendices to each chapter.
• In addition to clearly setting forth the law, Weinstein's Federal Practice, 2d provides expert analysis and coverage of unsettled evidence issues.
• Also included is a chart listing each state that has adopted evidence rules based on the Federal Rules of Evidence and comparing the state version of each rule with the corresponding federal rule.

Publisher's description

A comprehensive, one-volume treatise on the Federal Rules of Evidence, which serves as a succinct yet scholarly analysis of the Evidence Rules for judges, practitioners, and students. The authors have focused on exploring the Rules with clarity and conciseness, integrating theory with a practical understanding of how these rules operate in the real world.
Updated annually, this work contains a careful examination of the continuing development of the Federal Rules of Evidence, and related case law.

Publisher's description