Evidence

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) hosts and facilitates the creation of CALI Lessons, a library of over 950 interactive legal tutorials written by law professors and geared towards law students. CALI is a 501(c)(3) non-profit consortium of law schools, law libraries and related organizations. Almost every United States law school is a member of CALI and they make up the bulk of our membership.

This course covers the rules and limitations codified in the Federal Rules of Evidence that determine what information can be presented in a legal proceeding.

Acing Evidence offers a succinct, clear, and user-friendly review of federal evidence law. Providing many helpful examples and employing checklists at the end of every chapter, Acing Evidence presents an organized way to analyze evidence problems and spot hidden issues. This book is invaluable for reviewing evidence, preparing for the bar exam, and assessing evidence at trial. The second edition adds new examples, reflects rule changes, and expands the discussion of confrontation.

Broun and Blakey’s Black Letter Outline on Evidence summarizes the black letter rules of evidence, allowing students to understand how their course materials fit together. It can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination.

This outline summarizes the Federal Rules of Evidence with informative references and contrasts to common law tradition. Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area.

The newest (restyled) version of the Federal Rules of Evidence, reproduced in the appendix, are the anchor of this single-volume Nutshell, with some state variations noted where important. The text summarizes significant U.S. Supreme Court decisions, including the latest Confrontation Clause cases; additional leading cases; forefront expert and scientific evidence developments; and principal schools of evidentiary thought. It includes practical implementation as well as scholarly approaches, and pays attention to the litigation process as a whole and interdisciplinary cross-pollination where helpful.

This book offers a highly readable and engaging overview of the theory and principles of evidence. An opening chapter offers a broad conceptual framework for understanding evidence. This framework is then used throughout the text to help the reader achieve a firm grasp of the essentials: relevance, character, hearsay, impeachment, opinion, privileges, and non-conventional forms of evidence. The book also includes an appendix that explains the mechanics of finding, offering, and objecting to evidence. The author has drawn on his thirty years of experience as an evidence professor and a practicing litigator to provide the reader with a solid understanding of what the evidence rules are trying to achieve and how they are going about it. This book will be helpful to any law student taking an introductory evidence course, trial practice simulation course, or litigation clinic, as well as to new litigators.

In clear and engaging prose that makes concepts accessible without oversimplification, this Treatise explains the Federal Rules, selected state variations, major cases, essential doctrines, and important underlying policies. Frequent practical examples drawn from courtroom practice introduce students to courtroom procedure, provide a context in which evidence problems arise, and acquaint them with the language of the courtroom. This volume can serve as background for beginning students and as a one-stop refresher for those taking advanced courses. Professors can assign various sections to track the syllabus or simply recommend this book as useful background reading.

This volume is designed to enable the professor to incorporate in-class simulation exercises in a podium Evidence course. Its eleven chapters take the students through each major area of Evidence law and give the students an opportunity to engage in pretrial evidentiary planning, arguments on evidentiary issues, and trial segments. All the exercises are based on two straightforward case files, one civil and one criminal. In some exercises, the students play the attorney roles. In other cases, the students view videotaped trial segments, pose objections, and make arguments either in favor of or in opposition to the objection. Each chapter begins with a set of "points to remember" to help the students develop basic trial advocacy skills at the same time they are enhancing their understanding of Evidence law.

This publication contains essays by leading evidence scholars discussing the stories behind landmark cases and illuminating principles and materials across the evidence curriculum. The seldom-told stories behind cases in which evidence plays a significant role are told with important illustrations of the development, application, and importance of the rules of evidence.

Written by prominent law school professors, Gilbert Law Summaries on Evidence uses an exam-oriented approach for different topic areas, emphasizing the issues most likely to be tested, and offers a time-saving study guide for class review and exam preparation. You can test yourself with multiple choice, true/false questions, and with answers referring back to the text, so you can learn from your mistakes. Fine-tune your understanding with real law school essay questions that are accompanied by explained answers. A text correlation chart helps match your reading assignment to relevant pages in the outline to cut search time. Coverage includes: Direct evidence Circumstantial evidence Rulings on admissibility Relevancy Materiality Character evidence Hearsay Hearsay exceptions Privileges Competency to testify Opinion evidence and expert witnesses

Exam Pro-Essay is a study aid that helps law students prepare to take their Evidence exam. Answering the sample essay exams and the specific subject matter essay questions, followed by review of the corresponding answers and analysis, provides students with a more thorough comprehension of the Federal Rules of Evidence and a better understanding of how to take exams.

Exam Pro-Objective on Evidence is a study aid that helps law students prepare to take their Evidence exam. Taking the sample objective exams and using the corresponding answers and analysis provides students with a more thorough understanding of Evidence and a better understanding of how to take exams.

The Nutshell, reflecting the Federal Rules of Evidence as restyled and amended up to and including December 1, 2017, contains a crisp, clear, concise, and complete explanation of each Federal Rule of Evidence designed to prepare every student for the course final, the multistate bar examination, and most significantly a successful litigation practice career. The United States Supreme Court’s controversial testimonial/nontestimonial interpretation of the Confrontation Clause developed in Crawford and progeny is thoroughly analyzed as well. With respect to the definition of hearsay, the not hearsay definition, the most commonly encountered hearsay exceptions, expert witnesses, and character evidence even more exhaustive treatment is provided. Concrete illustrations are presented throughout.

This lecture series on Evidence is designed for students who are about to take or are currently taking a course in Evidence and who want to use it for class review or exam preparation. But it is also useful for anyone, student or not, who would like to gain a better understanding of what evidence is admissible in court. You can listen or study at your convenience – in the library, at home, walking or jogging, or driving in your car. These audio lectures are each approximately twenty minutes long. Each one covers a discrete aspect of Evidence law, so you can easily access the topics you want to learn or review. Coverage includes the topics of relevance, impeaching witnesses, character evidence, rape shield law, expert testimony, and privileges. The topic of hearsay and its numerous exceptions gets special attention. Each lecture begins with a clear, concise statement of the relevant legal principles and then explores the scope and nuances of the applicable rule with a series of examples that apply the rule in different situations.

This single-volume treatise is largely free of citations to authority, but retains the most notable footnotes. Topics covered include preparing and presenting evidence, cross-examination, and the procedure for admitting and excluding evidence. Discusses privilege against self-incrimination, privilege concerning improperly obtained evidence, scientific evidence, and demonstrative evidence. Reviews authentication, the hearsay rule, burdens of proof, and presumptions. Text also identifies current issues.

This text examines all topics typically covered in a three- or four-hour course in evidence. Emphasis is on the Federal Rules of Evidence, now adopted in most states. Should the reader desire additional material, ample footnotes provide easy access to leading cases, articles, and standard reference works. This volume contains dozens of illustrations, with answers, designed to make the rules come to life. The eighth edition contains the restyled rules and all the new developments on the Confrontation clause, and covers recent amendments, including those going into effect in 2019. Dan Capra is the reporter, Judicial Conference Advisory Committee on the Federal Rules of Evidence, and Stephen Saltzburg served as a consultant.

Quick Review of Evidence is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of law clear and convenient, and to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main body is an outline of the substantive content that a student needs to prepare for a law school exam. The concise format provides a "big picture" overview, allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.

A Short & Happy Guide to Evidence takes a challenging subject and breaks it into manageable pieces that are easy to understand and digest. Using practical examples and humor, this book takes you through the most difficult, and most often tested, rules. After reading this book you will finally understand the Hearsay Rule. Flowcharts and graphics will assist the reader in a comprehensive understanding of the Federal Rules of Evidence and how they interact with each other.

This lecture simply and succinctly clarifies even the most difficult concepts in Evidence, such as hearsay and character evidence. It is time-saving, convenient, and effective.