Family Law

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) hosts and facilitates the creation of CALI Lessons, a library of over 950 interactive legal tutorials written by law professors and geared towards law students. CALI is a 501(c)(3) non-profit consortium of law schools, law libraries and related organizations. Almost every United States law school is a member of CALI and they make up the bulk of our membership.

This course covers the law governing the definition of family and the rights and obligations of family members to one another. It focuses on the restrictions, types, and dissolution of marriage, as well as child custody and support.

With the number of people waiting to adopt children, the need for a comprehensive yet succinct explanation of adoption laws and practices is met by Adoption Laws in a Nutshell. The book is an excellent resource for the legal and social work professions, providing an analysis of the latest developments regarding agency responsibilities toward adoptive parents and children, consents necessary to complete an adoption, father's rights, the new assisted reproductive technology and adoption including surrogacy, standards for placement, open adoption, access to adoption records, inheritance rights of all the parties and intercountry adoption.

This outline summarizes the black letter rules of family law, allowing students to understand how their course materials fit together.

Summarizes the marital property laws dealing with creation, management and termination of community property in nine states (Arizona, California, Idaho, Louisiana, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Washington and Wisconsin). Also includes coverage of community option states (Alaska and Tennessee). Each chapter presents a legal overview of the chapter topic followed by an analysis of the specific law of each of the nine community property states. Topics include a brief history of community property in the U.S., premarital contracts, transmutations, community property, separate property, characterization, management and control, liabilities, forms of intimate partnership, dissolution, and death.

Few areas of law practice cover as many issues as family law. The subject embraces marriage and divorce, annulment, custody of children, spousal and child support, complex property issues, paternity, domestic violence, adoption, and alternative means of reproduction. Each of these topics itself is complex. For example, within the broad subject of child custody lie the issues of interstate move away cases, international parental child abduction, and the impact of domestic violence on a parent’s right to custody or visitation. In addition to purely legal issues, family law has a large psychological component, touching on some of the most important and sensitive aspects of human nature and interaction, such as, what is a family, what are the rights and responsibilities of parents toward children, and how should society respond to child abuse and domestic violence? All of these issues, and more, are discussed in this Nutshell. The book provides a thorough introduction to this challenging field of practice.

As with the previous three editions, this book offers an interested reader insights into the ever-changing parameters of family law. Recent approaches to nonmarital cohabitations are discussed, premarital and marital agreements, surrogacy and assisted reproduction in the context of the 2017 Uniform Parentage Age, and the evolution of same-sex marriage after Obergefell v. Hodges. The division of marital property and the presumptive status of child support formulae are discussed, as is federal expansive control over collection procedures. Recent cases and federal and state statutes are provided as illustration and the best interests of the child are defined through cases illustrating custody, termination of parental rights, and the possibility of adoption. The book seeks to provide the reader with a grasp of what is currently the law and provide a glimpse into where the law may be going.

Sanger’s Family Law Stories presents the historical, procedural, personal, and political background of 11 significant family law cases. The essays, written by leading family law scholars, cover four main areas: Marriage Parenting and custody Separation and divorce The definition of family Other essays investigate well-known state and federal cases on such topics as child kidnapping, the intentional infliction of emotional distress, the Indian Child Welfare Act, and frozen embryos.

The subjects discussed in this Community Property outline include classifying property as community or separate, management and control of property, liability for debts, and division of property at divorce. Also covered are devolution of property at death, relationships short of valid marriage, conflict of laws problems, and constitutional law issues (including equal protection standards, and due process issues).

This book offers broad coverage of the international, comparative, and transnational legal questions that are increasingly important in the practice of family law. It considers global dimensions of the topics covered in an introductory course, including marriage, divorce, establishing parent-child relationships, parental rights and responsibilities, adoption, and domestic violence, and addresses broader questions of private international law, human rights, and immigration and asylum rights. The book is intended to be accessible to students with no background in family law or international law, and also to be challenging for those interested in exploring the fascinating intersection of these two fields.

This audio lecture overviews determination of separate and community property, quasi-marital property, and quasi-community property. Explores transmutation; general and special presumptions; commingling, apportionment, and reimbursement; management and control; and liability for debt. Also covers management on dissolution of marriage, disposition on death, and constitutional law principles.

Now you can assimilate the essentials of family law at your convenience: while working, commuting, exercising, or relaxing. This audio product simplifies difficult concepts and brings them to life, while offering helpful exam tips.

Sum and Substance Quick Review is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of law clear and convenient, and it is designed to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main body is an outline of the substantive content that a student needs to prepare for a law school exam. The concise format provides a "Big Picture" overview allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.