Family Law

Lexis Advance's Family Law page has cases, statutes and legislation, codes and regulations, and secondary sources and other materials.

List of Family Law secondary sources from Westlaw.

This book's analytic approach will help practitioners develop arguments to support their cases when local state law is unsettled or appears unfair to the client. It summarizes the ways different states have handled important issues and makes recommendations for model provisions of law that legislatures might want to adopt in their own states. It also offers a legal framework that can accommodate the different choices people make and the expectations they bring to their family relationships.

Children and the Law: Rights & Obligations provides an in-depth analysis of children's legal rights as consumers, victims, and perpetrators. The multiple-volume set covers areas such as:

• Child welfare
• Termination of parental rights
• Child custody and support
• Guardianship
• Juvenile delinquency
• Dependency and severance
• Adoption, including international adoption
• Education
• Domestic relations
• Healthcare
• The limits on school officials to police the private lives of students
• Life imprisonment without parole as an unconstitutional sentence for a nonhomicide juvenile case
• Criminal consequences of “sexting”
• The rights of children with AIDS
• Searches of students' lockers, cars, purses, and persons

In Family Wealth Transition Planning, Bonnie Brown Hartley and Gwendolyn Griffith guide advisers to families with small businesses through the intricate process of preparing and transferring wealth to heirs. The authors take a holistic view of transition planning, focusing on the assets that fall under the umbrella of financial capital, as well as the other key sources of family wealth: human and social capital.

Advisers learn the essentials to achieving successful wealth continuity:
Healthy family relationships
Responsible stewardship of wealth, in all forms
Creation and preservation of the family legacy

Throughout the book, three fictionalized business families, based on Hartley's experience as an adviser, tell their personal stories as they navigate the estate planning process. In this way, Hartley and Griffith demonstrate how to develop wealth transition plans that are wide enough in scope to encompass all forms of wealth yet customized to manage each family's different needs.

Presenting analytical discussion of both relevant legislation and applicable caselaw, Handbook of Texas Family Law covers relevant provisions from the Government, Human Resources, and Penal Codes. It contains the full text of the Texas Family Code and includes topics such as events permitting the recovery of attorney fees, as well as the recovery of damages, expenses, and other costs in suits concerning children. The text covers:

• Getting married
• Ending the marriage
• Property
• Children
• Jurisdiction over the respondent
• Enforcement
• Attorney fees
• Court masters/associate judges

A quick reference index at the beginning of each chapter directs you to the appropriate code topic or section to save you valuable time, and step-by-step instructions enable you to find what you need quickly. a table of statutes, table of court rules, table of cases, handbook index and family code index facilitate efficient research.

Handling Child Custody, Abuse, and Adoption Cases combines coverage of the law with proven trial strategies and hands-on practice tools. A respected certified domestic relations specialist discusses a full range of crucial topics, such as:

• Means for establishing parentage
• Proving abuse
• Terminating parental rights
• Drafting mediation agreements
• Awarding joint custody
• Strategies for interviewing a child, including one who's been sexually molested
• Tips addressing the use of videotapes for interviews, evaluations, and testimony

This publication sets forth the various types and circumstances of adoption, the adoption process, and the state and federal laws governing adoption. Consent requirements and the rights of putative fathers are also examined, as are the pros and cons of open adoptions, i.e., where contact with the birth family is maintained. The title discusses the costs and tax benefits of adoption, and the availability of assistance for special-needs children. Post-adoption considerations, such as access to birth records and inheritance issues are also addressed, along with an overview of international adoption. With appendixes featuring applicable statutes, forms, resource directories, state summaries for comparison, and other pertinent information.

With this multiple-volume set, you’ll gain an up-to-date understanding of children’s rights: the profound changes that have occurred and the implementation of laws, regulations, and procedures, both at the state and federal levels, that apply to children and families. Among the important issues explained: child custody, discrimination against children and adolescents, child pornography, school district issues, rights of handicapped children, parental torts, and children as witnesses.

This book discusses the legal aspects of marriage, divorce, adoption, custody, parentage, surrogacy, visitation, assisted reproduction, and other family law topics from the perspective of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals. It contains analysis of issues related to post-heterosexual relationship custody and visitation; single party adoption and foster care; treatment of issues associated with assisted reproduction and surrogacy; two-party adoptions and judgments; custody disputes between former same-sex partners in cases in which both partners are legal parents; dissolution and separation issues where only one parent is a legal parent; marriage and other relationship protections; and transsexual marriage and parentage rights.

This third edition addresses the current laws governing marriage and divorce, including the related issues of child custody, visitation, and support. Each chapter has expanded discussion of topics, such as cohabitation, property rights, parental rights, and financial issues. This easy-to-use guide is written for people at all levels of experience and education who are seeking legal advice without having to immediately contact a legal representative. With this Legal Almanacs resource, you have the information and tools to make the experience of divorce less overwhelming, less expensive, and perhaps a little easier.

Investigating and litigating cases of interpersonal violence is difficult. With child maltreatment and elder abuse, the vulnerability of the victim makes the work emotionally as well as legally taxing. With intimate partner violence, the tendency of some victims to change their mind about holding the perpetrator accountable frustrates law enforcement and prosecutors.

Myers on Evidence of Interpersonal Violence: Child Maltreatment, Intimate Partner Violence, Rape, Stalking, and Elder Abuse is designed to help you successfully prepare and present evidence in such cases by providing reliable, practical insights by respected expert, John E.B. Myers.

This volume contains the full text of the Texas Family Code, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, and Texas Rules of Evidence, with related provisions from:

• The Texas Constitution
• The Civil Practice and Remedy Code
• The Code of Criminal Procedure
• The Government Code
• The Penal Code
• The Property Code
• Amendments of statutes

Related federal statutes are examined that cover various topics including crimes, criminal procedure, the Internal Revenue Code, and public health and welfare. Updated references to significant law review articles and CLE materials are included. Extensive cross-references direct you to related constitutional provisions, statutes, and rules. Detailed disposition and derivation tables help facilitate research.

Texas Family Law Practice and Procedure combines both substantive and procedural explanations of Texas family law with practical tips and forms from leading Texas family law practitioners. It is a more authoritative, in-depth publication than the competing West product. These volmes provide task-based pointers and leading legislative and case analysis. Texas family law attorneys and their research staffs will appreciate unmatched coverage of the issues and legal expert guidance for completing any transaction involving Texas family law.

Six loose-leaf volumes featuring 742 forms used in title 1, title 2, title 4, and title 5 proceedings provide marginal notes and precise instructions ensuring the production of documents tailored to each individual case. The forms volumes include a comprehensive and helpful subject index and forms indexes.

1,266 pages of practice notes provide synopses of the relevant law and helpful practical advice for the practitioner on a wide range of family law topics, all coming from a committee of judges and family law attorneys. The practice notes also features a subject index, as well as an index of statutes, rules, and cases cited.

How to guide for Texas practitioners concerning family law. Includes step-by-step analysis of family law, as well as easy to use forms, checklists and practice tips. Contains citations to leading and most recent case law to give you the latest information available. Topics include topics such as marriage, common law marriage, putative marriages, dissolution of marriage, community and separate property, property division, valuation of assets, custody, child support, paternity, maintenance, expert witnesses, torts, protective orders and enforcement, and appeal. Includes extensive library cross-referencing to forms, digest topics, case law, codes, statutes and other analytical products.

These materials provide a satisfactory starting point for any domestic-relations lawyer who needs a basic understanding of how bankruptcy intersects with family law. Appendices feature relevant sections of the Code, as well as a list of cases and articles on the issues discussed within the text.