Criminal Procedure (Texas)

Focusing on the pattern used by most states, the authors of Criminal Procedure provide step-by-step guidance through the typical state court criminal justice system. They explore every facet of criminal procedure from pre-arrest to pretrial, trial, postconviction, and appellate proceedings. Footnote documentation citing pivotal Supreme Court decisions is included. Topics covered include:

• Detection and investigation of crime
• Search and seizure and restrictions
• The scope and application of the Miranda rule
• The Sixth Amendment
• The adversary system and the determination of guilt and innocence
• Postconviction reviews
• Habeas corpus

Analyzes more than 3,700 decisions relating to criminal procedure. Includes all the noteworthy federal and state decisions of the past year. While emphasis is placed on Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Amendment law, also contains in-depth coverage of cases involving pretrial matters, guilty pleas, trials, evidence, sentencing, appeals, post-conviction proceedings, juries, and habeas corpus.

In the classic Search and Seizure: A Treatise on the Fourth Amendment, one of the nation's foremost authorities on the Fourth Amendment systematically interprets and applies the amendment to a variety of diverse fact patterns. Topics covered in this six-volume set include:

• The exclusionary rule and related remedies
• Protected areas and interests
• Probable cause
• Search warrants
• Stop and frisk
• Inspections
• Regulatory searches
• Administration of the exclusionary rule

Annotated Rules of Court for Texas State, Federal, and Local courts.

More than 650 charges covering everything from arson to murder. Each instruction is supported by the legal analysis and case citations needed to convince judges. Each also appears on Jamesforms.com to make drafting easier. In addition, the book includes relevant Penal Code provisions, indictments and information, a table of oaths, and a table of punishments.

The smartly organized Texas Criminal Practice Guide is the reference attorneys turn to for analysis of criminal law in Texas. First published in 1979, the guide's six volumes are arranged by section to correspond with the progression of the Texas criminal justice system, making their detailed information easy to access, whether you're a new attorney or an experienced practitioner. Each volume contains a number of chapters divided into four parts:

Legal Background - procedural and substantive law treating the constitutional, statutory, and case law considerations in each area.
Practice Guide - checklists and procedural steps outlined in chronological order.
Forms - for applying the law and procedure.
Research Guide - to direct you toward other sources of useful information.

Texas Evidentiary Foundations is the ideal one-volume guide for overcoming common, and not-so-common, evidentiary problems in the courtroom. This accessible and popular manual shows you how to frame predicate questions to gain admission or exclusion of specific types of evidence and includes a list of the foundational elements and examples of specific lines of questioning for establishing these elements. Each foundation is accompanied by a clear explanation of the supporting principles of Texas evidence law. Packed with proven trial techniques, Texas Evidentiary Foundations will help you prepare for every evidentiary challenge you may face at trial.

This work is a current, comprehensive A-to-Z statement of Texas criminal law. It includes an analytical treatment of criminal law and criminal procedure established in Texas state and federal courts, as well as by acts of the legislature. The elements of all offenses are examined as well as all aspects of pretrial, trial, and post-trial procedures.

How-to guide for Texas practitioners concerning criminal practice and procedure. Answers questions that regularly confront attorneys practicing criminal law — from arrest through postconviction proceedings and appeal. Includes step-by-step analysis of criminal procedure, as well as easy to use forms, checklists, and practice tips. Contains citations to leading and most recent caselaw to give you the latest information available. Designed to include the most current forms and checklists you need to expertly handle this area of law. Includes extensive library cross-referencing to forms, digest topics, caselaw, codes, statutes, and other analytical products.

Covers attempts by the Texas courts to apply federal constitutional case law developed by the U.S. Supreme Court. Authors examine developments in case law, such as State v. Studer (changing instruments), Batson v. Kentucky (jury selection and the constitutional limitations upon the use of preemptory challenges), plus the exclusionary remedy for improper law enforcement action and legislative developments expanding dispositional options.

Criminal Law discusses virtually every substantive criminal issue in Texas in a detailed, analytical manner and practice-oriented writing style. It includes caselaw discussion and citation to authority, and comprehensive coverage of:

Covers district and county courts rules, courts of appeals rules, Supreme Court rules, justice courts rules, and special proceedings. Annotated rules point to primary and secondary authority that discuss each rule.