Criminal Procedure (Texas)

This invaluable resource provides charging language for indictments and information for virtually all Penal Code crimes (as well as a few commonly charged non-Penal Code crimes). Prose and variables are all included in one handy notebook and/or disc, along with citations to important cases. The 2015 Charging Manual is written by Alan Curry, Chief of the Appellate Division at the Harris County DA’s Office.

The spiral-bound CCP (and PC) are the only criminal code books that feature underline/strikethrough format for 2015 legislative changes, commentary from ­prosecutors who spent their time at the capitol, and the ­spiral binding allows the book to lie open flat.

From Miranda warnings to suppression hearings, Confessions covers Texas and federal law on taking statements and their later admissibility in court. The book includes discussion on custody, interrogation, invocation of a defendant's rights, voluntariness, written and oral confessions in Texas, and juvenile confessions. Other chapters include discussions of courtroom procedures (with information on discovery, admission of statements, cross-examination, and jury instructions), interrogation techniques, and false confessions/recantations. Confessions also includes forms for taking a statement, sample pleadings, and jury instructions.

Case cites, practice tips, and charts based on years of questions from Texas ­prosecutors follow the statutes in this soft-bound book. This publication reflects all 2015 legislative changes and includes the Penal Code, Code of Criminal Procedure, Controlled Substances Act, juvenile and protective order portions of the Family Code, Rules of Evidence, and Appellate Procedure.

This book provides a quick reference to criminal offenses and defenses in Texas. The book is organized in alphabetical order by criminal offense. Each offense is explained in detail with the author first discussing the elements of the offense, then looking at possible defenses and punishments. Each criminal offense also has references to relevant parts of the penal code. Also case law is discussed to show how and why different parts of the code have developed the way they have.

Expunction and Nondisclosure guides you through the process of evaluating whether you or your client is entitled to an expunction and if so, the steps to follow when applying for the expunction. With respect to nondisclosures, the author sets forth the requirements to petition the court for an order of nondisclosure for offenses prior to September 1, 2015 and highlights the new laws applicable to offenses after September 1, 2015. In addition, Ms. Westerfeld also provides the nuts and bolts of the nondisclosure application process. Be sure to look at the appendices as they contain the necessary forms for both expunctions and nondisclosures. Written in understandable language, this book is useful for both attorneys and pro se litigants. Description from Harris County Law Library.

A powerful combination of well-written explanations, multiple-choice questions, analyses, and exam-taking tips, THE GLANNON GUIDE TO CRIMINAL PROCEDURE: Learning Criminal Procedure Through Multiple-Choice Questions and Analysis, prepares you to take any type of exam that might be offered in a Criminal Procedure course. Written by one of the nation’s leading Bar lecturers, it also provides an invaluable review of the core concepts tested in Criminal Procedure on both the multistate and essay sections of the Bar exam.

Nathaniel Burney sets out to explain the law of Criminal Procedure in comics. Where the first book on Criminal Law focused on what *you* are allowed to do, this volume begins the discussion of what the *police* are allowed to do. Starting with the absolute basics (what is criminal procedure?), the reader is soon immersed in the exclusionary rule, the tricks of the Fourth Amendment and the traps of the Fifth. Along the way, there are deep discussions of policy explaining why the law is this way, and legal history explaining how it got like that. Volume I contains the first three chapters: "So What?" "Meet the Players" and "Police vs. Privacy," and also includes a sixteen-foot-long Fourth Amendment Flowchart to cut out and stick on your wall

What’s the difference between all your evidence getting in and none of it being admitted? Sometimes it’s as simple as the questions you ask. The 2014 edition of Predicates is written collectively by the TDCAA Publications Committee. With this manual, the critical questions for admitting the most common pieces of evidence are right at your fingertips.

Updated with the latest cases and statutes, the 2019-21 TDCAA Prosecutor’s Trial Notebook covers every topic from arrest through closing argument and more—all with handy laminated sheets. The most relevant cases, cites to significant statutes and rules, lists, charts, and tips-all are at your fingertips in a single three-ring binder: (1) arrest and detention; (2) search and seizure; (3) confessions; (4) grand jury; (5) indictments/motions to quash; (6) Brady; (7) victims’ rights; (8) pretrial hearings (9) bail bonds; (10) jury selection; (11) Batson challenges; (12) opening statements and continuances; (13) evidence: objections; (14) evidence: hearsay; (15) evidence: confrontation; (16) evidence: experts; (17) extraneous offenses; (18) closing argument; (19)-(20) jury charge I & II; (21) defenses; (22) punishment evidence; (23) enhancements; (24) motions for new trial; (25) jeopardy, estoppel and mistrial; (26) state’s appeals; (27) asset forfeiture; (28) juveniles; (29) DWI; (30) murder; (31) domestic violence; (32) protective orders; and (34) drug offenses.

The Trial Notebook is written by TDCAA Senior Staff Counsel Diane Burch Beckham.

The smartly organized Texas Criminal Practice Guide is the reference attorneys turn to for analysis of criminal law in Texas. First published in 1979, the guide's six volumes are arranged by section to correspond with the progression of the Texas criminal justice system, making their detailed information easy to access, whether you're a new attorney or an experienced practitioner. Each volume contains a number of chapters divided into four parts:

Legal Background - procedural and substantive law treating the constitutional, statutory, and case law considerations in each area.
Practice Guide - checklists and procedural steps outlined in chronological order.
Forms - for applying the law and procedure.
Research Guide - to direct you toward other sources of useful information.

Texas specific casebook that covers the major areas of criminal procedure including searches and arrests, evidentiary hearings, the charging process, discovery, juries, sentencing appeals, and proceeding to professional responsibility in the criminal trial context.

Texas Criminal Procedure comprehensively examines Texas statutory and common law criminal procedure topics. Each chapter includes practice questions, modeled after bar exam questions, to test the students understanding and application of the law. The book not only educates students on criminal procedure but also prepares them to take the Texas Criminal Procedure and Evidence portion of the Texas Bar Exam. This book includes:

Chapters that follow a criminal case procedurally from its inception to its conclusion;

Topics not covered by other textbooks, like Texas exceptions to the arrest and search warrant requirements, pretrial and trial procedures, postconviction remedies, and evidence;

Easy-to-read text and cases, written for an audience with no prior knowledge on the subject;

Notes and questions that facilitate class discussion and practical and ethical applications of the law; and

Practice bar exam questions at the end of every chapter that encompass every topic tested on the Texas Criminal Procedure and Evidence portion of the Texas Bar Exam since 2000.

Publisher's Description

Examines and discusses the laws relating to offenders suffering from mental illness. This in-depth analysis of the Texas criminal justice system will benefit consumers, family members, judges, prosecutors, lawyers, law enforcement officials, parole and probation officers, mental health professionals and others interested in offenders and alleged offenders with mental illness.

Covers attempts by the Texas courts to apply federal constitutional case law developed by the U.S. Supreme Court. Authors examine developments in case law, such as State v. Studer (changing instruments), Batson v. Kentucky (jury selection and the constitutional limitations upon the use of preemptory challenges), plus the exclusionary remedy for improper law enforcement action and legislative developments expanding dispositional options.

Searching people, places, and vehicles is the starting point for this comprehensive look at warrantless searches and seizures written for prosecutors and officers. Warrantless Search & Seizure, written by TDCAA Senior Staff Counsel Diane Beckham, sets out the basics of 4th Amendment law then moves to more specific situations, including searches in cars, homes, offices, and schools, and the exclusionary rule—complete with handy reference charts in each chapter. The 2015 edition includes the latest updates on searches of cell phones, use of anonymous tips (especially in DWI stops) and dog sniffs.

The 2014 edition of Warrants Manual for Arrest, Search & Seizure is the best basic "how-to" guide through the often-confusing world of search and seizure with a warrant. The 2014 edition includes all the helpful samples from previous editions, plus new discussion and samples of warrants for digital evidence, including cell phones and computers. Other topics:

* preparing warrant
* probable
* executing search & arrest
* suppression hearings; and
* specialty warrants.