Property

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) hosts and facilitates the creation of CALI Lessons, a library of over 950 interactive legal tutorials written by law professors and geared towards law students. CALI is a 501(c)(3) non-profit consortium of law schools, law libraries and related organizations. Almost every United States law school is a member of CALI and they make up the bulk of our membership.

This course covers the basic concepts and principles in the law of property. Topics include present and future interests in real property, restrictive covenants, the law of nuisance, concurrent ownership, easements, and the transfer of title to property.

This study aid uses outline-like checklists to lead students through the analytical steps necessary to evaluate and resolve property issues. Each chapter begins with a review and explanation of the important rules, concepts, and principles that govern a particular area of property law. The review material is then synthesized into a checklist. Each chapter concludes with practice problems and solutions that illustrate how students can use the checklist to analyze property issues when writing their exams. The systematic analytical approach represented by the checklists in this book is unique among study aids.

Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area.

Incorporating skills training into a traditional property course is challenging. This creative and original book provides ten independent exercises designed to develop student skills in legal drafting, client interviewing and counseling, negotiation, and advocacy. Each exercise is based on fundamental property rules and doctrines so that the book can supplement any doctrinal casebook. Students learn tasks such as:•Replying to a client e-mail•Writing a demand letter to an opposing party•Preparing an executive summary•Interviewing and counseling a client•Litigating nondisclosure claims•Negotiating a lease agreement and a condemnation award•Drafting a deed and an easement agreement
OTHE

This study aid presents eight examinations pertaining to property rules and their application. The book contains 200 objective questions; all are actual final exam questions being released for the first time. Each exam consists of 25 objective problems and includes tear-out answer sheets to simulate exam conditions. The accompanying answers and detailed analysis foster a better understanding of each rule and how to apply it.

Comprehensive outline on Property, including expert explanations of applicable law and practice exam questions.

This title is designed to introduce comparative law perspectives that help students understand domestic property law concepts, in areas including adverse possession, the right to exclude, estates in land, future interests, marital property, the landlord-tenant relationship, eviction of tenants, low-income housing, land sales transactions, title assurance, nuisance, and land use. It also introduces students to areas of international law that are beginning to affect domestic property law, including the human right to property, international regulatory takings, and global land sales transactions. Each chapter is designed to stand on its own, so they can be used in any order or combination.

This title contains briefs for each major case in Sprankling and Coletta’s casebook on Property. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases. Finally, to enhance your recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays a visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.

This classic monograph presents a simple, concise and readable text of the history of the English common law scheme of estates in land, including future interests, and the scheme’s importation to the United States. The text specially treats the types of interests a person can hold in land today and the associated legal rules that affect those interests. The text is peppered with many review problems to assist the reader in learning the material in the monograph.

The Law of Property provides an incisive and clear summary of the doctrine and theory animating the law of private property. The book is organized around three main themes: acquiring property, dividing property, and limiting rights in property. Specific topics include, the law of capture, creation, adverse possession, estates and future interests, concurrent ownership, marital property, leaseholds, land transfers, recordation, easements, covenants, land use controls, and the Takings Clause, among others. The book synthesizes these diverse topics by highlighting the overarching themes that join them together. It is essential reading for any property student, and can be used in conjunction with any leading property casebook. The Second Edition features new cutting-edge property topics including a recent Supreme Court case interpreting the Takings Clause, and disputes around hydrofracking and short-term rentals (like Airbnb). It has been edited to account for changes to marital property following new constitutional law on same-sex marriage. It now includes references to the Sprankling & Coletta casebook, as well as updated citations to the most recent editions of the leading casebooks.

Trustworthy and modern source on property laws surveys estates in land—present, future, and concurrent, comparable interests in personalty, landlord and tenant law, and rights against neighbors and other third persons. Also examines easements and profits, running covenants, governmental controls on land use, land contracts, conveyances, titles, and recording systems. Contains footnote citations to leading court decisions for easy location of primary authority.

This title is a comprehensive, one-volume introduction to the modern law of real property. Each chapter begins with an overview of rules and concepts, followed by a series of problems and exercises designed to demonstrate how the rules and concepts apply in real situations. Each problem is followed by a comprehensive analysis of the legal issues raised, including citations of the relevant cases and statutes. This edition has been fully updated to reflect current developments.

This five hour Property audio lecture on compact disc includes the rule of capture, the law of finds, adverse possession, gifts, estates in land (fee simple, fee tail, defeasible fees, life estate), future interests, the rule against perpetuities, the joint tenancy, tenancy in common, tenancy by the entirety, rights and duties of co-owners , the leasehold estates and the landlord-tenant relationship. Also explained are easements, licenses, profits, restrictive covenants, equitable servitudes, the purchase and sale of land, recording statutes, land finance, eminent domain and zoning. This lecture also includes a 62 page handout.

This reference guide provides an authoritative summary of personal property that will enhance your ability to distinguish between title and possession. Teaches by example, using a set of readily understandable situations. Also includes the origins of substantive rules of law and procedure.

Cases and statutory law are updated and the material reorganized; conforms with modern law school courses in real property. Chapters open with brief outlines of the law encompassed within, providing an overview of rules in that area. This is followed by a series of factually-based problems designed to generate thoughts about how these rules could be applied in real life situations. Chapters then discuss statements of applicable law and analysis of legal issues raised, plus likely outcomes and current citations of the various laws.

This book provides professors with 12 simulation exercises covering the topics most commonly taught in Property: adverse possession; gifts; estates and future interests; cotenancies; marital property; landlord-tenant law; real property sales; easements; covenants; nuisance law; eminent domain; and regulatory takings. Each exercise is based on a case file containing realistic legal documents which an attorney practicing property law would encounter. The book emphasizes the core skills of negotiation and advocacy. Seven exercises provide basic instruction in negotiation techniques, focusing on teaching students how to use substantive law to enhance their bargaining positions. In three of the advocacy exercises, students make closing arguments in a court trial; the other two advocacy exercises allow students to participate in a complete, one-hour jury trial.

This title provides the law student with an enriched understanding of 12 leading property cases. It focuses on how lawyers, judges, and policy factors shaped the litigation, and why the cases have attained noteworthy status. The volume is suitable for adoption as a supplement in a first-year property course, or as a text for an advanced seminar.

Use this book to allow students to explore online real property records or visit eviction court with the tools and tasks that will make property law come alive. Diving deeper, allow students to interview real clients (scripts provided) or review pleadings (simplified and redacted) to explore the Early Lawyering Literacy skills identified by the authors and recognized widely by the ABA and others. The sky is the limit with this new book, the first of its kind to bring meaningful experiential education opportunities into the 1L class in a way that amplifies traditional core concepts and doesn’t disrupt.

This concise work discusses most rules covered in real property casebooks. The text is divided into three sections. Part One provides an overview of property interests by covering lost v. mislaid v. abandoned property, adverse possession, gifts, common law estates, future interests, landlord-tenant law, concurrent ownership, marital property rights, easements, profits, licenses, real covenants, and equitable servitudes. Part Two covers conveyancing, including real estate brokers, contracts of sale, deeds, recording, title insurance, and mortgages. Part Three covers a variety of property rights and liabilities, including airspace, water rights, the right to support, agreed boundaries, fixtures, trespass, nuisance, and land use regulation.

The second edition of this efficient and effective guide takes difficult subject matter and makes it accessible and easy to remember. Professor Paula Franzese, a nationally renowned teacher and scholar, sets forth understandable techniques for mastering estates in land and future interests (including the dreaded rule against perpetuities), concurrent estates, landlord-tenant law, servitudes, land transactions, recording system, zoning, and eminent domain. This expanded edition also includes the top ten themes of property law, the rule of capture, and the law of finders. Learn from this nine-time recipient of the Professor of the Year Award and become a property connoisseur!

Convenient and effective, Sum and Substance Audio lectures on Real Property, 3rd presents the essentials of real property law in a clear, succinct, time-saving format. It includes exam tips to maximize performance. Among other topics, sections discuss: study techniques, ownership, tenure, seisin, estates in land, future interests, reversion, remainders, title, powers of appointment, tenancy, marital property estates, landlord and tenant, assignment and subletting, easements, profits, licenses, land sales contracts, financing, deeds, covenants of title, estoppel by deed, recording acts, lateral and subjacent support, and public land use control.

omprehensive analysis of property law, convenient for class or exam preparation. Provides clear and concise explanations of legal concepts and terms, along with exam hints, strategies, mnemonics, charts, tables, and study tips. Includes self-testing and diagnostic review questions, and Case Squibs, which are capsule summaries of significant cases identifying important facts, primary issues and relevant law. Provides a Casebook Table, which keys to relevant pages of leading texts, and numerous essay and multiple choice questions with model answers and detailed expalnations. The 10-5-2 Hour Study Guide offers study suggestions in the critical hours before an exam.