Property

Lexis+ links to Real Property guides, treatises and jurisprudence.

List of Real Property secondary sources from Westlaw.

The Authority on Eminent Domain Since 1909!
Answers Practically Every Question on Eminent Domain
Comprehensive and current, this definitive treatise on the law of eminent domain discusses:

• The origin, characteristics, nature, and extent of the power of eminent domain;
• Valuation and damages;
• Preparation of claims and negotiations; and
• The passing of ownership and the nature of the title acquired.

Powell’s authoritative, national coverage includes unmatched in-depth analysis of the pertinent case law, statutes, and regulations. Over 130 chapters and several practice guides cover the gamut of real estate issues with clear explanations of the current law. Critical topical analysis from experts in the field includes:

• Americans with Disabilities Act: public accommodations and commercial facilities
• Effect of bankruptcy law on real property transactions and interests
• Condominiums, cooperatives, homeowner associations, and timesharing
• Conveyancing
• Deeds, recording acts, and title insurance
• Easements, licenses and restrictive covenants
• Eminent domain
• Landlord and tenant law
• Land use planning and regulation
• Mortgages, liens and foreclosures
• Tax aspects of real estate transactions and investments
• Effect of telecommunications laws on real property interests
• Property disputes related to conversion of railroad corridors to recreational trails and other public uses (rails-to-trails)

Provides detailed coverage of zoning and planning with case law, including constitutional and statutory limitations on government zoning and planning powers, remedies for wrongful land use regulation, rezoning issues, and subdivision restrictions. Discusses tort actions and governmental immunities, especially beneficial in litigation, and provides extensive footnoting for state-specific referencing. Examines evolving issues such as: floodplain and wetlands regulation, growth management, regulation of hazardous wastes, historic preservation laws, variances, building permits, housing laws, restrictions on manufactured housing, private covenants, regulation of adult entertainment businesses, and regulation of religious land use. Provides procedural information, detailed index, and Table of Cases.

This work, widely relied upon and often cited by the courts, offers comprehensive and concise coverage of the law of torts, with scholarly and analytical discussion of particular rules. The appendices contain Reporter's Notes, citations to court decisions, as well as cross references to key numbers and ALR annotations.

Note that there are several volumes that fall into the broader subject of Property - these include: Mortgages; Servitudes; Wills and Other Donative Transfers; Landlord and Tenant.

Publisher's description

Texas Practice Guide: Real Estate Litigation answers questions that regularly confront attorneys practicing in the area of real estate litigation. It includes step-by-step analysis, forms, checklists, and practice tips, as well as citations to the leading and most recent case law.

This product contains cites to leading and most recent case law to give you the latest information available. Provides step-by-step analysis of civil trial, civil appeals, discovery, evidence, alternate dispute resolution, civil pretrial, and creditors rights. The Texas Practice Guide has several volumes dedicated to Property Law such as Probate, Real Estate Litigation, Real Estate Transactions, and Wills, Trusts, & Estate Planning. Designed to include the forms and checklists you need to handle unfamiliar areas of law. Includes extensive library cross-referencing to forms, digest topics, case law, codes, statutes and other analytical products.

Texas Foreclosure: Law and Practice addresses the legal avenues available to both lender and borrower, as well as the most frequently encountered issues in Texas foreclosure proceedings. This comprehensive resource covers issues of:

Bankruptcy
Sequestration
Receivership
Federal tax considerations
Setoff
Garnishment
Sheriff's sales
Landlord's liens
Injunctions
Homestead exemptions
Caselaw references, practice forms, expert advice, protective measures, and suggested courses of action are included.

Land Titles and Title Examination addresses virtually every potential pitfall awaiting a title examiner in Texas to ensure the most effective method of searching land titles. It examines complex topics such as:

Alteration of Texas conveyances
After-acquired title
Land patents
Restrictive covenants
Transfer of Texas land rights
Title from the sovereignty
Land records
Recording acts
Title examination
Passage of title
Instruments of conveyance
Much more
Court decisions concerning bona fide purchasers, suits to clear title, fraudulent transfers, inverse condemnation, littoral boundaries, and other real property topics are included.

A comprehensive treatment of the law of marital property and homestead exemption as practiced in Texas, Marital Property and Homesteads emphasizes problems of liability of marital property, separate/community property, interspousal and premarital agreements, and division on divorce.

Topics covered include:

Development of marital property law
Personal injury
Title to minerals in a marital estate
Trust property
Partnership and marital property
Real estate
Life and other insurance
Disability and retirement
Interspousal agreements
Reimbursement rights
Management of marital property
Recovery under the death statute
Types of homesteads, acquisition and abandonment of homesteads
Transfer and mortgage of homestead
Much more

The Texas Real Estate Forms Manual provides guidance in preparing documents for a wide range of transactions and features practical commentary to aid the lawyer in adapting the forms to clients’ needs. This three-volume manual will enhance your practice, enabling you to assemble 371 forms quickly and accurately.

Practice notes provide synopses of the relevant law and helpful practical advice for the practitioner on a wide range of real estate topics, all coming from a committee of real estate attorneys. Topics include:

• Foreclosure
• Leasing
• Water law
• Insurance
• Property owners associations & condominiums
• Risk allocation
• Federal lending regulations

Texas Real Estate Guide puts at your fingertips more than 540 Texas real estate transaction and litigation forms drawn from the most trusted sources -- Texas Transaction Guide and Dorsaneo, Texas Litigation Guide. Plus, there are step-by-step checklists on virtually all real estate matters to help you master important key issues and avoid costly errors.

Included are detailed bibliographies on every covered topic, along with comprehensive finding tools such as: topical indices, a separate forms index, topical statute bibliographies, and cross references between the transaction chapters and litigation chapters.

Whether your clients are landlords or tenants, architects or contactors, buyers or sellers, you'll have quick access to the legal background and comprehensive analysis you need to provide the best possible representation. Plus, our two experts contribute valuable commentary and practice tips. Links to referenced cases and codified statutes are sure to speed up your research.

An important national treatise on real property law, Thompson on Real Property, Thomas Editions, was completely revised and modernized in the 1990s by editor-in-chief David A. Thomas and more than 30 other noted legal scholars. Together, they contributed over 100 chapters of up-to-date, comprehensive, and in-depth coverage of real property law, including analysis of such topics as:

• adverse possession
• agricultural and farm law
• constitutional impacts on real property
• construction and construction financing
• conveyancing procedures
• landlord and tenant
• inns and innkeepers
• international real property issues
• property issues in space law
• public and private nuisances
• real property issues in weather control
• waste

Tiffany Law of Real Property has been an authority in the area of real estate property law for sixty years. It has proven itself to be a valuable resource to both the judiciary and practitioners in determining the law. Decisions from all jurisdictions have been included so as to provide a complete picture of the current legal developments in the law of real property across the country. Every chapter contains new cases and other authorities that reflect expanding areas of law.